We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable, in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Czech Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Czech Inn
Ranked #12 of 662 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I can't complain anything about it.
Very comfortable, provides a good bed and wifi.
Location is good with a very convenient tram very close to it.
Staff is very helpful.
Price is great.
I'd recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreChaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S, Owner at Czech Inn, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear AndreChaves,

Thank you for staying with us at Czech Inn! We're happy you enjoyed your stay, and appreciate your kind feedback. Please come back and visit us again!

Regards,

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    224
    51
    10
    8
See reviews for
18
142
159
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

The staff are awesome; there was a new person at reception pretty much every day but that didn't affect the service. The staff helped me with planning day trip and to book the next destination. I stayed there for 6 nights in total. I explored Prague, especially New Town (where the hostel is based) after one of the receptionist at Czech Inn advised me on where to go in the area. New Town has so much more to offer in terms of delicious and very cheap food and alcohol. Don't stick to Old Town (tourist infected), venture into new town and benefit from great customer service in bars and restaurants. I made new friends in the basement bar and in the dorm, which was a bonus.
The dorms were clean enough, I was staying in a 10-bed female dorm and it was cleaned regularly but of course not everyone was tidy.
I can't recommend Czech Inn enough! I wish all hostels were like Czech Inn

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cakesandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

6 of us travelled to Prague for a 4 day break. We had booked the sister hostel closer to the centre however due to changes within the chain we were moved. Intially we were considering changing hostels however after one of our party made some enquiries we were assured that we would be as happy here and we were given an appartment rather than a dorm for our exclusive use. Our fears were unfounded. This hostel - or as others have commented - hotel! - is excellent. Our apartment (Room 303) slept 5 in one room and the couch in the lounge/dinner/kitchen was made up as the 6th bed. We opted to use a bed we found in the 'wardrobe' (if you get this apartment you'll understand!) and keep the main area free so we could all use it. Worked really well for us. A couple of supermarkets outside provide all the basic needs if you are planning a few drinks and maybe breakfast in the room as we did. However we also tried the breakfast offered by the hostel - really good value and lots of options.

We asked the reception team a steady stream of questions over the 4 days - everyone we dealt with were friendly and helpful. If there is an absolute MUST - it's the free walking tour that is offered. Our guide was Veronica - she was absolutely fantastic and we ended up spending over 3 hours with her. The guides earn their money by the tips you leave at the end of the tour. We asked an independent person how much we should tip if the tour was good and were advised that 50 to 100 chk is usual. We tipped 100 each (about £3) and you'd be hard pressed to find better value for money. The reception team also offered recommendations for restaurants, view points, travel options and entertainment. They were great, nothing seemed to be too much trouble.

There is a tram stop just outside the hostel. The no 22 covers most areas you'll want to get to but Prague isn't a huge city (for the tourist bits) and we often walked too as there is so much architecture. Although not in the centre, the transport links are great - in less than 15 mins you'll be in the old town or Wenceslas Square or to Vltava River (for a few minutes walk to Charles Bridge).

There was a club in the basement and one night the music was really loud, however it didn't worry us too much and we all managed to sleep. We did mean to use the bar for a drink but never made it back in time! All in all, great hostel, great staff, great location - I would definitely stop there again :)

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors will be quieter - there is a tram that runs most of the night and a club...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kizzie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

I cannot rate this place enough. for the price: the location, service, cleanliness and general experience was second to non. one of the best (by far) hostels I have ever stayed in. highly recommend to anyone wanting to visit Prague. The visit was 2 20-somethings looking for a nice experience of the city. Made so much better by the accommodation,

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

My last stop and hostel in Europe and it was by far the best.
I have absolutely no complaints about this hostel, which was really more of a hotel..
My friend and I stayed in a twin/double room with a bathroom and it was gorgeous.
Staff were friendly, the location is brilliant, good security and nice vibe.
The organised walking tours and pub crawl are such good fun.
Also, the showers are glorious.
Thanks very much!! :)

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ljgee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Staff was friendly, attentive and offered great suggestions for what to do in the city. Cleaning service kept everything clean and the basement bar was busy, even in off season. I didn't have to go far for a morning cup of coffee and everyone answered ALL of my questions with a smile.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mackie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

This is the strangest review and rating I've ever had to give.

Everything about this hostel, except one thing, screams Excellent but that one thing brings it down to a Terrible. Which has never happened to me before anywhere in the world.

As many other reviewers have said this hostel is a hotel in everything but name. The location, price, customer service and room amenities and comfort are top notch. My first night was glorious. I was like the cat that got the cream. Well, the cat that got the £25/night private en-suite room.

Then I came home at 11pm on my second night, a Friday, and the place had turned into a rave. I mean literally there was a rave in the basement and the lobby had turned into a cloakroom and chill out area.

I didn't think this would be a problem as I'd got back to my (top floor) room and not be able to hear the music. But I could. And it was loud. Make-out-some-of-the-songs kind of volume. (God alone knows what it was like for people on lower floors.) And it got louder as the night went on keeping me awake until I don't know when but late enough to leave me feeling awful the next morning.

Now you could say I'm being prudish. That I shouldn't stay in a youth hostel. I even told myself to stop being such as old man. (And, by the way, I'm not an old man and on plenty of other occasions would have joined the party!) But then I thought, no, a hostel is first and foremost a facility providing a room and bed for a night's sleep. The least one can expect is the opportunity to not be kept awake by a nightclub.

If it was next door to a nightclub, fine. But this is in the building run by the hostel. And that is simply not good enough.

I would advise anyone wanting to stay here who doesn't want to be kept awake by a rave that you look into which nights the club runs and avoid those. Do that and the Czech Inn is an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LDN_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#64 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
Praha 4
Occidental Praha
Occidental Praha
#231 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Miss Sophie's Hotel
Miss Sophie's Hotel
#99 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
#186 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Praha 5
Occidental Praha Five
Occidental Praha Five
#119 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hilton Prague
Hilton Prague
#131 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Czech Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Czech Inn

Property: Czech Inn
Address: Francouzska 240/76, Prague 101 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Vinohrady & Vrsovice , Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 662 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Czech Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yes, you can afford to sleep in style and comfort! Czech Inn is a pioneer of modern design, hybrid hotel, hostel and apartment accommodation - truly offering something for everyone - and blending the comfort of a hotel and the social vibe of a hostel. The modern design and ultra-comfortable furnishings have created quite a stir in many publications such as The New York Times, The Guardian, The Washington Post, Hotel Design, Lonely Planet, Let's Go, Elle Magazine... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Czech Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Czech Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing