We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unhelpfull,poor facilities,not 4 star as listed on my booking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Winston Churchill Hotel
Ranked #506 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed 18 February 2011

no one to meet you at reception you had to ring for assistance, no bar or other facilities available, refused to call a taxi we requested only wanted their own expensive taxi service, breakfast stale bread, two tea bags and coffee per day, no internet, curtains missing, heating not working, not cleaned properly everyday, not happy would not reccommend

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tune-rite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Winston Churchill Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2010

We stayed here in April 2009 for 2 nights. We found it relatively easy to find. The guy on reception, who I think ran the hotel, was great. He spoke excellent English and gave us all sorts of tips of the bus, where to eat, drink, what to see etc. In exchange, we gave him some nice tips for his trip to Oz later that year with his wife!
The room was on the top floor and it was lovely. It was almost like an attic room with the slanted ceiling, windows the open out and you can see down along the street. The bathroom was good, we even had a little kitchenette sort of with a fridge, wine fridge, bench etc.
The only downfall with the room was that there was a drip every so often from the window above my side of the bed so that woke me up a few times during the night. Other than that, it was fine.
Breakfast was fine, you could cook toast which I loved, so I could take my vegemite with me. You don't often get toast (only bread rolls) in Europe so it was a real luxury!
The bus stop is almost right out the front of the hotel, and there is also a little kwik-e-mart type thing on the corner where you can stock up on some supplies.
Strolling around the Old Town is a must and go up the side streets, venture into one of the many pubs and have a nice hot meal. Perfect when it's cold outside.
This place was excellent value for money. It worked out to be about $30 AUD per night.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fawky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

Hotel is about 10-15min walk frm the center but you can get a bus from right outside. Staff on reception are really helpful telling you everything you need to know about the area and the hotel.

We had a room with a fridge, tv and nice bathroom. Very clean although the towels aint the best so bring your own. Did have a problem with no hot water one morning. Breakfast room is small but always got a seat straight away. It is very basic though but sets you up for lunch.

We found some of the bars around the hotel quite intimidating and uncomfortable to drink in so stuck around to the main tourist area around the square. But if you walk around the back lanes off the square you will find a beer for around 80p/£1.

Would prefer a hotel a bit closer to the center but its ideal for the price and for how long we stayed in the room.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pazaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

We were happy to find a value for money kinda place in Prague. Nice breakfast, no frills. Special mention on the guys at the reception desk... very helpful and matter -of - fact kinda of guys who gave us helpful information on Prague, sightseeing. Hotel is located about 7 - 8 minutes taxi ride from the Prague Railway Station. Taxi fare would be around 10 - 12 Euros. We paid much more even after bargaining with the taxi driver... we realized this on day 2 of our stay. Local transport by bus is very good to go around Prague.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
Thank rajooj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

The Winston Churchill was nicely situated away from the crowds but still close enough to the tourist attractions just a few stops away by tram. The room we had was small but cozy and the beds were comfortable - and very affordable. The free breakfast was a nice touch but after the 2nd day we decided to splurge and find places with a little more variety. The staff at the front desk were exceptionally helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WingKing33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

My friend and I went to Prague and pick this hotel partly due to budget and partly due to the comments we saw on the trip advisor website. We were pick up at the airport by the Prague airport transfer company [highly recommended] and arrived at the hotel without any delay. I have already goggled the area so has been expecting to see the slightly run down residential area and the large number of recyling bins at the corner of the road. We rang the bell and the door buzzed. I automatically push the door open and heard someone saying something over the intercom. Apparently, we are not supposed to touch the door as it is all automatic. We were told that if we have waited another 2 seconds, the door would have opened itself! After this false start, I asked the guy whether he is David and he said yes. Apart from this 'do not touch the door' incident, David has been very helpful, giving us lots of helpful tips. The room was clean and large. However, there weren't any hot water in the morning and this lasted for the whole duration of our stay. We were told that one of the boiler has broken down and so there is only hot water in the evening. The breakfast is ok for the price range. It is quite easy to walk into the old town, downhill all the way but we got the bus back in the evening. No.133. Make sure that you buy your tickets beforehand, in the underground station as a single 20mins journey will cost 18 kc but if you buy it on the bus, it will be 30kc!! Also make sure you validate the ticket but putting it in the yellow gadget on the bus. On the whole, we are quite please with this hotel as it was our choice to go for a budget hotel so we knew that it will be further from the centre. One other thing is that the reception is closed between 8pm to 8am and if you arrive late, you will have to go to the hotel across the road to get the keys. We had to leave early [7pm] and we had to wait outside the hotel for the airport transport pick up as there is no one in reception to let the driver in. It would have been nice if we could wait inside the hotel but the only way for the driver to pick us up was to wait outside in the cold and rain!. But a good and comfortable stay for the 4 days.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

It was my 3rd time at Churchill's. One of the main reasons for choosing again the hotel was the staff. David and Jozef at the reception can not be more helpful , efficient, nice and professional . They are always looking for what you may need, keeping at the same time your privacy. I am a frequent traveller and I can assure that this quality of professional are very rear.
The other person who helped me to feel very comfortable was Marina, the fantastic houskeeper. I had minor problems with some items of the bathroom that she solved inmeditely. Some days I left the room quite late, but she was really kind to anyway clean and prepare everything.
The location of the Churchill is not right into the center of the town, but just a 10 to 15 minutes walk of the main monuments of Prague, also with good communications by tram and a little further by Metro. This area ,that should have been a good residential neighborhood, is slowly recovering his past splendor. Every time I goes I found more buildings restored with its beautiful original pastel-colored facades.
There is no luxury at the hotel but absolutely clean spacious rooms. And as I said ,really excellent employees.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andalucian_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 3
Ostas
Ostas
#353 of 648 in Prague
172 reviews
Praha 3
Hostel Elf
Hostel Elf
#23 of 672 in Prague
322 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Czech Inn
Czech Inn
#9 of 672 in Prague
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 7
PLUS Prague
PLUS Prague
#18 of 672 in Prague
880 reviews
Praha 4
Occidental Praha
Occidental Praha
#192 of 648 in Prague
401 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
#519 of 648 in Prague
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winston Churchill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winston Churchill Hotel

Address: Orebitska 66/6, Prague 130 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Hotel Barfo)
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 3
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #506 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Hotel Class:3 star — Winston Churchill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly reopened Winston Churchill Hotel is nestled in a convenient corner of Prague, right on the threshold of Prague's historical centre of Prague, and a pleasant walk from Namesti Republiky (Republic Square) and Wenceslas Square. Each of the classy rooms is outfitted with a multimedia PC setup, Satellite TV, DVD, CD player and many other facilities, including a direct IP telephone line. High-speed Internet access is available. Naturally, all rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Winston Churchill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winston Churchill Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing