We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old & New Fusion”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Eurostars David

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eurostars David
Ranked #151 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Old & New Fusion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2009

We chose this hotel partly for its location and partly for the price. The hotel is easily accessible from Karlova Namesti Metro Station. (Exit the station onto Resslova Street, go past the Cathedral of St Cyril and St Methodius and turn right onto Dittrichova. Follow this street which then becomes Naplavni and the hotel is on the right).

The hotel has recently been refurbished in a modern style. The outside of the building has retained its neo renaissance architecture.

Check in was very efficient and we collected our key. We arrived after 11pm but had advised the hotel in advance that we would be checking in late. Our room was on the second floor and looked onto Zahoranskheo Street. Both the bedroom and bathroom had temperature controls that you could alter to your personal specifications. The instructions for doing this were located in the guest services directory.

We had a room safe which was located in the wardrobe. There was more than enough space for our clothing for our 5 day stay. The bathroom was quite spacious and had a wonderful in-bath power shower. There was underfloor heating in the bathroom which was a nice touch. The hairdryer was also in the bathroom. We had a flat screen TV with a choice of several channels. There was a mini bar in the room although we didn't use it so I can't give any indication of what it stocked or prices.

Breakfast was served in the restaurant. There was quite a good selection of cold meats, cheese and cereals as well as fresh fruit. Several sorts of bread were also available and there was a grill/heater for doing toast and warming croissants. There was a selection of hot food each morning; usually scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage and a selection of mushrooms and peppers etc. My husband's only complaint was that the hot water for making tea was kept in a thermal jug and wasn't boiling. After the first day he just asked for some freshly boiled water.

The staff were pleasant and helpful. We would stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — Good location, comfortable room and underfloor heating in bathroom
  • Disliked — No boiling water for tea in the morning
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChampagnePaulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    447
    105
    19
    16
See reviews for
114
651
64
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2009

I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. We recently stayed here for a weekend visit to Prague, and left with a sour taste of the city due to this hotel.
Don't stay here because you will not be able to evacuate the building if there's an emergency and you will be trapped.

During our stay on a Sunday morning we were woken by a loud fire alarm telling us to evacuate the building due to an emergency. As we were preparing to leave our rooms the alarm stopped, so we called reception who informed us it wasn't necessary to leave the hotel.
The electricity was cut to the entire hotel by an "incident" in the hotel kitchen so we were unable to use the power in our room or have showers as there was no hot water.
We decided to go down to reception to have our buffet breakfast. However as the lifts weren't working we had to try the stairs. The stairs closest to our room, which you would use in an emergency, were locked and we were unable to access the stairs.
We then had to walk to the other end of the floor of the hotel and walk down the stairs. When we got to the bottom of the stairs, the door to let us out of the stairwell, was locked.
If there had actually been an emergency, we would have been trapped in the building. I am horrified that any hotel would lock emergency escape routes and would advise anyone NOT to stay at this hotel if they value their safety.
We were staying on the third floor, and would have been trapped if there had been a fire, or any other emergency.

We then had to eat our buffet breakfast in the dark hotel restaurant as wait staff slammed cutlery on the table and were incredibly surly. There was no coffee, toaster or hot food facilities due to the lack of power.

After 1-2 hours power was restored and we were able to have showers. Mind you, this was in the middle of winter and temperatures were below zero degrees.

As we checked out, I asked the hotel front desk manager if it was possible to receive a discount on our room due to the inconveniences. He basically laughed in my face and told me the request was absurd.
Their lack of customer service floored me as I would have thought a reduction on the room price would have been the least they could have done.
When I pointed out that the emergency exits were locked he told me one man had the key to the doors - not much help if he isn't going to unlock them if there's an emergency.

What ever you do, don't stay here. The service is non-existent and your safety is severely compromised.

  • Liked — Checking out
  • Disliked — The lack of service and safety
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank Jetsetting_gal25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, Brasil
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2009

This is a beautiful hotel, modern, with a stylish decor, in a renovated old building. The location is also excellent, close to all tourist atractions. You can go practically anywhere just walking.
The staff is a bit unfriendly (I'm not sure if I simply was unlucky during the whole three days we stayed at the hotel or if this was their normal behavior), but they give reliable directions, even if they act like they're reluctant to do it.
And it's a mistake to ask for room service (it took about two hours to bring a sandwich to the bedroom).
We also had a little problem with the heating: it was winter and the room never got quite warm.

  • Liked — Location and decor
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rachel_m29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, MI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2008

The Eurostars David Hotel was better than we expected it to be! We booked it during the off-season (December) and got a great price for two nights, which included a full breakfast. The staff was moderately nice, but the service was good. The only thing we asked for was extra towels and we received them within 5 minutes. The style of the hotel is hip and modern, with alot of marble and contemporary furnishings.

Our room was located on the top floor, so it had a vaulted ceiling with exposed beams and skylights instead of regular windows. I read in other reviews that this bothered some people, but not us. We sleep heavy and were usually up early anyway, so the lack of curtains didn't bother us. The bed wasn't the most comfortable, but it wasn't the worst we have slept in. It was a king bed, and very roomy. The bathroom was well appointed, but watch out for the marble tub...its slippery and high off the floor!


The location was great, a 10 minute walk from the Charles bridge, just a block off the river.

We had a full breakfast bar included in the price of our room. It was very good and had cereals, juices, breads, eggs, sausages, etc.

Overall we really liked the hotel and would go back to this beautiful city in a heartbeat!

  • Liked — The Room
  • Disliked — They allowed smoking in the lobby
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelliwashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2008

I am not going to duplicate what a lot of people have already said about this hotel.

What I will do is agree with all of the positives that have been listed (good rooms, great service etc.). We stayed in room 410 and it had underfloor heating in the bathroom - a nice touch!!

This hotel far out did mine and my girlfriends expectations. From the airport we used http://www.prague-airport-shuttle.com/ which I would definatley also recommend.

Near the hotel there are a few local bars and restaurants namely the Lemon Leaf which is a Thai & Cointinental restaurant. For drinks after going into town, we spent both Sat and Sun nights in the Czech Kitchen which is about 20 meters from the hotel enterence (turn right then left and you can't miss it). This is a friendly bar, with beer around the £1 mark or less.

  • Liked — Location - away from the hustle and bustle, but not to far to make it remote!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelson1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ISTANBUL
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2008

I stayed David hotel last September . It was lovely , great location , friendly staff and excellent breakfast. I recommended Sgl , Couple ,Young traveller etc.

From Turkey Istanbul VIP TOURISM
Emine

Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank KIBELEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2008

The hotel was very nice. I travel quite a lot - private or business - and the hotel quality can easily compete with western european standard. In comparison with other Prague hotels which are pretending to be 4*, this hotel is really 4* (clean, luxury, great service). Location is convenient, 20min walking to the historical centre along the river - with nice views on Charles Bridge and Prague Castle, or 1 station with metro. Clubs and restaurants in walking distance. Although the location is in the centre, hotel is in very quite street. Breakfast is excellent! Great salami, cheese, pastery, sweets (some of them home made), fruit and good coffee! We booked the hotel as last minute in high season for 70 EUR/night. I tried different 4* hotel last weekend and I really regret my decision (see my review on Verona House). Will go only to Eurostars David in the future! No more experiments!

  • Liked — Room and breakfast
  • Disliked — I liked everything
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Eurostars Thalia Hotel
Eurostars Thalia Hotel
#145 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#26 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Praha 9
Carol
Carol
#224 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#64 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
Botel Matylda
#56 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
K+K Hotel Fenix
K+K Hotel Fenix
#137 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars David

Property: Eurostars David
Address: Naplavni 1618/6, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#119 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#120 Family Hotel in Prague
#128 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars David 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Eurostars, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eurostars David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars David Prague
Eurostars David Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing