We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine only if you really need a cheap place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostel Chili Prague
Ranked #462 of 672 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Positive aspects: it was really cheap and close to the city centre. Plus, they give you towels and sheets, which is always a good thing when you have a maximum weight for your luggage.
Negative aspects: they made us sleep in the basement which was wet and smelled a little. One evening we decided to cook in their kitchen but it was orribly dirty, especially because the three sinks were filled with water that couldn't go down.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 895serenaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chili452, Guest Relations Manager at Hostel Chili Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We wish to thank you for your comment. I also personally want to express my regret that you did not like the basement room.

However, as sanitary is a main priority we value in our hostel we educate our guest to always clean the shared community area after use.

We completely understand the inconvenient this must have cost you and we present our sincere apologies.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
There are newer reviews for Hostel Chili Prague
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

i have to say that maybe its not one of the cleanest hostels in the world, but its enough to sleep but restrooms are not so good enough, Unfortunately we couldn't get space in Mandala , so Chili was our last option. Basically we spent most of the time outside so...consider if you wanna stay there

Room Tip: try to get one room in the last stage...its better if there is nobody in the stairs making noise
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexMKMoreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chili452, Sales at Hostel Chili Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your kind review . We are happy that you had a pleasant stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your trip to Prague

Regards
Chili Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

I had the worse moment in my trip after staying at this hostel. They have a huge bed bugs problem. I stay in 2 differents rooms and I've been bitten everywhere. Don't go there cause you will regret it.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Pierre-Luc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chili452, Sales at Hostel Chili Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Pierre Luc ,

We sincerly appologize for this unfortunate incident you encountered during your stay with us. We always try to satisfy our visitors and we try to improve daily on our customer relationship services and securities.

However, as you may know our hostel is visited by thousands of visitors so we do not take our sanitary for granted. Our rooms are cleaned on a daily basis and we work closely with a professional pest control unit to eradicate any bed bug issues.

Once again our honest apologies.

Regards

Van
Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

There was no hot water on our floor the whole.time but was quickly resolved when they realised
There is nkt enough facilities in the kitchen e.g. Forks etc
The location is very good
Not as bad as some reviews
make oht nut not great.
Beds are so creaky cannot sleep!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chili452, Sales at Hostel Chili Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Megan,

We wish to thank you for your comment and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Regards

Van
Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed in a private room and we had an ok stay. They take a 200cz bond on arrival which we got back on departure. They provide free internet in the kitchen/dining room which was pretty slow. Staff weren't very friendly and more interested in talking to each other than assisting guests. We found it to be in a great location close to trams and lots of bars. The kitchen had everything we needed except a toaster.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Pat198112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chili452, Sales at Hostel Chili Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comment with us and fellow travelers. We highly regard your opinion. As we can only get better by knowing your experiences.

We always look to improve our standards in order to assure your stay a pleasant one.

Warm regards
Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Do not stay here! Worst experience I have ever had in a hostel and I have stayed in my fair share of strange and seedy places.

Second night there I realized I was getting eaten alive by bed bugs as some of the bites take a while to show. But after two days I was pretty much covered in them.

Told the man at reception that I must change rooms and that they should do my laundry for free. Then I kept coming back to see if they'd done it and it took, not exaggerating about 12 hours for them to do it and in the end my clothes were still extremely damp. By this point I had just given up and wanted to get the hell out of there.

Never seen such bad service, after everything it just seemed like I was the inconvenience.

Also even if you label your stuff in the fridge, I doubt it will be there by morning. Someone literally ripped open my bag and took a bite out of my bread haha yeah... Crazy. Did not feel safe there at all either so I lugged my pack around with me everywhere with all my valuables. Didn't trust the lockers or anything and from what I've read many a people have had things stolen.

Pay a bit more money for a better experience of Prague, this place ruined it a fair bit for me.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

It had everything we needed was very comfortable and the rooms were clean. Plus it was very good value. Staff weren't friendly though which is always off-putting. 15 minute walk to Charles Bridge and heart of Prague.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hostel Mango
Hostel Mango
#41 of 672 in Prague
307 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hostel Downtown
Hostel Downtown
#5 of 672 in Prague
1,225 reviews
Praha 6
Hostel Fontana
Hostel Fontana
#436 of 672 in Prague
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Travellers'Hostel
Travellers'Hostel
#131 of 672 in Prague
145 reviews
Praha 3
Hostel Marabou
Hostel Marabou
#340 of 672 in Prague
82 reviews
Praha 3
Clown and Bard
Clown and Bard
#83 of 672 in Prague
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Chili Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Chili Prague

Address: Pstrossova 7/205, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Hotel Style:
Ranked #462 of 672 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range: £11 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Chili Prague 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hostel Chili Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing