We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value if you are willing to travel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
A&O Prag Metro Strizkov
Ranked #301 of 655 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Aberystwyth, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value if you are willing to travel”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Having stayed at this hotel for nights in early September 2013, here are my pros and cons:

Pros:
Good value
Happy to help staff
Free internet in lobby
Cheap snacks and drinks

Cons:
Mattresses on beds were akin to those mats found in a school gym
A small distance from the center, (a metro ticket costs no more than £3 for the whole day so no complaints as the service was good)
Building work to the hotel (did not affect us but our other party were woken at around 8am and could not sleep through it)

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the building work
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    61
    69
    27
    31
See reviews for
33
59
27
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Painswick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The rooms were lovely and the hostel very big so for one of our nights we had a room to ourselves. Were woken up to the sounds of building work right outside our window at 8am but it got us up so i suppose not too bad. Rubbish location and impossible to find. People in Prague don't know street names so none of the locals we asked recognised the address even though we were one street away! Found it after about an hour and a half of wandering the suburbs of Prague. You have to pay for bedding when you get there but it's very cheap.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Was good value. Room was nice and clean, had some free towels provided, free luggage storage, great breakfast spread when you pay for it. Expect to pay for most if not all extras - sheets and towels were only provided for some beds in the room and some of us had to pay to hire them, table tennis and fussball was expensive, in room wifi expensive. Service was pretty average, had to argue and with receptionist to get our breakfast included (as advertised!) - ended up talking to someone else to get it included. Reeeeeeally slow service. We got locked out of our room at 11pm and had to wait for about over half an hour at the reception desk to get someone to let us in. No aircon or fan in room!!! This was a massive problem as it was over 30 degrees at night and we sweated our way through the night without being able to sleep. There were apparently fans to hire but were none left when we asked.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I've stayed at this place for two nights with a friend. We needed just a place for sleep, so we didn't want to pay much money. The first impression was just awful - we spent about one hour and a half in a queue for check-in. And after that we couldn't make a check-in because we must pay and do it local currency. So I was very disappointed. But after all in the late evening we finally got our room. And I was very surprised to find clean and nice room, with enough space for two of us. Everything worked ok in the room and bathroom. The breakfast wasn't really big. But it was quite ok. In my opinion if you are going to visit Prague and want to spend most of the time in the city, not in the room - so this hotel could be a place for short and cheap stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anastasiia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I read a couple of reviews of this hotel and sometimes I can't belive it. If you are searching for a cheap accomodation outside the city, you read about the location and amenities, you google up all the information you need - you decide to book it - just don't complain about the fact, that you found all those things on place. Do you expect that somehow it will be closer to the city center than it was written or that they will dig out the pool just before your arrival? Come on, don't expect such things and don't write the negative opinions.
I can tell that my stay in Fortuna Luna was decent and I got everything that I expected. Late night I picked up a friend from the Prague airport and I knew, that I will be tired to get back home so I booked it and we arrived late at night - no problem for the reception desk, they were kind and calm. The room was normal, decent, sheets were clean, toilette was clean so I will not complain about the wall paintings.
I would only advice the hotel to change the check out hours - 10 a.m. was too early for me and I felt weak after a few drinks the previous evening..
Greetings for the staff of Fortuna Luna, who was really nice.
One more thing - I was looking for a cheap lodging and it was so cheap!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sendmeasmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

I was very disappointed during my journey in this hostel one week ago. Most of all employees at the counter could not help me at all and I could barely understand them. I asked to clean the room I was sleeping, because it was smelling REALLY BAD and nothing happened during the 4 days I stayed. Then, since I'm member of the ADAC Club I was suposed to get 12% discount plus a welcome drink. When I arrived I only got 10% and nobody offered me anything. After I read again the profits of my membership, which I wasn't 100% sure but remember somehow, I wanted to talk to the manager, who never showed up, like almost during the weekend. At the end I asked an employee at the counter about my free "welcome drink" altough I was leaving and had a soft drink.
I've stayed in an other A&O Hostel in Nurnberg and everything was better. Another negative point is how to get to the hostel. When I arrived to Stizkov Station, I saw some guidesignes to get to the hostel: don't trust the last sign because it makes you get confused. If I would go to Prag I would better stay near the Old Square, paying a little more, but saving the train ticket, which actually, added to what I payed at the hostel, would cost almost the same.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AO_Support, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A&O Prag Metro Strizkov, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear Juan,

thank you very much for your feedback!

Your comments are highly appreciated, as we are constantly striving to improve our services and meet our guests’ expectations.

We are very sorry that you encountered problems during your stay at the A&O Prague.

We apologize for the unsatisfactory cleaning you experienced in your room during your stay.
At A&O, we place a great emphasis on cleanliness, so the rooms are cleaned on a daily basis.
The irregular cleaning was reported to our external cleaning company and we will continue to monitor this issue, to ensure that it will not occur again.

I have also forwarded your complaint to the hotel manager, she will inform her employees again how the ADAC discount works.

As you have written a feedback ticket to our central customer support as well, we have also responded to you in both ways.

We hope you appreciate our efforts and look forward to welcoming you again at A&O HOTELS and HOSTELS.

Kind regards,

Your A&O Customer Support
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

In my experience this was the absolute worst stay I have ever had in a hostel period. I was not expecting a 5 star hotel for the price of a hostel, however it was very expensive to stay at this place. The beer was more expensive at the hostel bar then any restaurant we visited in the city center and the breakfast was not worth the price paid. Not mention the hostel is very far away from the city center and it is not easy to get back to the hostel at night time. We did not feel safe in this area where the hostel is located and there is absolutely nothing to doing in the area. My recommendation is... do not waste your money on this ugly money hungry hostel. Find a place that is closer to the city of Prague.

Room Tip: Find another Hostel closer to the city of Prague.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyS412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AO_Support, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A&O Prag Metro Strizkov, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Andy,

thank you for your honest feedback. We're sorry to hear that you didn't seem to like your stay with us. Our prices depend on the category you've booked. Naturally, the hostel standard is very low-priced and our 3*** hotel standard is comparable with any 3*** hotel in Prague.

You are, of course, right noting that our beer at the bar costs a bit more than in Czech restaurants/clubs. Prague is known to offer beer even cheaper than water. It is therefore difficult to stay competitive in the hotel industry. You may ask other hoteliers and they would tell you the same.

Nevertheless, we appreciate your comments and take it to heart.

Our location is very handy for business people and groups as they prefer the proximity to the fair and congress centre and the space within the building for larger groups.

We have put a lot of effort into renovating the whole complex; the rooms and service are outstanding, also the beergarden with entertainment facilities in summer. The outside look of the building is not yet A&O standard but will be in 2014. To us, it is the comfort within the hotel that matters first.

In February, we have had a special deal where we've sold each room for only 5€. No matter if single, family or multi-bed room. We would like to dissociate ourselves from your argument of being 'money hungry'. Our accommodation is as fair-priced as most other Prague hotels and hostels.

We'd love to have you as our guest again in one of our other hotels and hostels in Germany and Austria. You will see that we offer a very central location (almost always next to the central train station) and super prices.

Thanks again for your feedback!

Kind regards,
Your A&O support team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 6
Discounts Prague Hotel
Discounts Prague Hotel
#594 of 649 in Prague
114 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Stary Pivovar
Hotel Stary Pivovar
#487 of 649 in Prague
139 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
#527 of 649 in Prague
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 7
Leon Hotel
Leon Hotel
#446 of 649 in Prague
66 reviews
Hotel Mars
#522 of 649 in Prague
128 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#63 of 649 in Prague
2,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A&O Prag Metro Strizkov? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&O Prag Metro Strizkov

Property: A&O Prag Metro Strizkov
Address: Decinska 1, Prague 180 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Hotel Fortuna Luna)
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #301 of 655 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — A&O Prag Metro Strizkov 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The A&O Prague Metro Strizkov offers budget-priced room categories with room safes. Enjoy a great sleep in the hotel area when you book a single, double or family room. The modern and particularly low-priced shared rooms have 4 or 6 beds with private shower and WC (bed linen / towels extra). There is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The A&O Prague Metro Strizkov is situated in the district Strizkov and is only 5 minutes away from the metro station Strizkov. It takes merely 15 minutes from the hotel to the city centre. With its central location you can easily get to the hostel by car, coach, train or other public means of transport which makes it a perfect base for trips to the „golden city“. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Jet2Holidays , Nozio Netplan srl, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your A&O Prag Metro Strizkov reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortuna Luna Hotel
Fortuna Luna Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing