We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious and clean hotel with delicious food but bad receptionist”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence U Cerneho Orla
Ranked #9 of 358 Prague B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
“Luxurious and clean hotel with delicious food but bad receptionist”
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Great luxurious hotel in centre of Prague. Literaly few steps from Charles bridge. Apartment was clean and cozy with great king size bad with LCD television with all czech TV chanels and HBO, CNN and others. Bath room was luxurious with bath robes and soft towels. Dinner was delicious and waiters very polite and attentive.
One huge crticism is about receptionist which we have 26.-27.2.2011 she was very confused from beginning (she has not even known that they have king size bed and assert that have only double bed in my room) and morning had personal calls and even have not reacted on our greating when we went around her twice.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevex22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    45
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
152
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Poland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

We spent only one night in this hotel but i really enjoyed it. Location is great, just minutes away from Carls Bridgge and close to Old Town. Rooms are specious, clean and quite. Our room was situated on the second floor and we had a view on the street. Steps dod not bother us but maybe if you have a room on third/fourth floor you may "feel your legs". Staff was extremely nice and very helpfull. Breakfast was simple but tasty. Great hotel!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnafromPoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2009

The good:
Very clean, lovely bathroom, nice extras as set out in previous reviews, great location 100m from the Charles Bridge, 79 euros for a superior double room with breakfast - booked through the Charming Hotels website - much cheaper than going direct.

The bad:
Breakfast was vile. Poor quality. Poor selection. The hot food which is 'cooked to order' was not cooked to order at all in my opinion, the pancake had tinned fruit and was stone cold as if it has come straight out of the fridge. The variety/quality didn't improve as the 4 mornings passed. Stuck to yoghurt, toast and jam in the end! The Hotel was apologetic but wouldn't discount the room so to be on a room only basis. My view is that even tho' the room includes breakfast it does not give the hotel the option to serve rubbish. Got given a bottle to cheap Brut as compensation - we didn't drink it!

Despite the breakfast - would recommend for good value, nice rooms and location.

Advice:
Don't book direct, floors are wooden so ask for a room on top/third floor as no one will be above you and no one will pass your room to get to the front door - that is, if you don't mind three flights of stairs.

The superior rooms are at the front of the hotel but do not have painted ceilings (apart from one). If you want a superior room with painted ceiling there are only one or two...on floor 3 at the front. The other superior room with a painted ceiling is on the third floor at the back with 2 large external windows - no view to speak of tho' but quiet. This is the room we had and didn't hear a peep from the streets.

For the best entrecote - got to Cafe de Paris - £8 including fries and sauce. Great service, food and atmosphere. Even the locals go - perfect!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RiaRa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicestershire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2009

Attractive, small hotel with lots of charm and individual nice touches (fruit bowl, bottled water, chocolates, nice toiletries in room) Very authentic, old-world charm. Lovely room overlooking quiet street and great location near Charles Bridge. Immaculate bathroom. Hotel staff were friendly and generous-we were well looked after when they knew it was a special occasion.
Breakfasts were good- good cold selection and omeletes available if you request this.
Would definitely stay again and recommend unreservedly, but you need to be fit if you are on the third floor as there is no lift and lots of steps!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simplyred9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2008

We caught a shutle bus service to the hotel from the airport which was cheaper then a taxi and safer then public transport. The hotel is between the Prague Casstle (which isnt really a castle) and the Charles Bridge. The hotel has a old Czech theme of medievil. Booked through booking.com. Free internet on first floor. Our room was nice, two single beds joined together but bit cramped. The girl at the front counter was rude at first but was nice as we went on. Breakfast was included but took us the second morning to find out how breakfast works. The lady down in the breakfast room would avoid us the first morning but the second morning we asked her how it works and she said we order of the menu and it gets cooked up in the resturant upstairs and is very nice food. Do that way otherwise you will be eating cheese, ham and bread. Can walk anywhere from hotel and a nice cheap chinese resturant opposite the hotel.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank Jossip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,638 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Bishop's House
Bishop's House
#17 of 649 in Prague
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 649 in Prague
1,699 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#11 of 649 in Prague
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence U Cerneho Orla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence U Cerneho Orla

Property: Residence U Cerneho Orla
Address: Mostecka 279/11, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 358 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence U Cerneho Orla 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated on the Royal Route along which Czech royalty would approach Prague Castle and offers excellent access to all of the city's bars, restaurants, shops, museums and art galleries. Explore the beautiful, historic sights of this wonderful city and relax in this peaceful hotel. Visit Prague's Old Town Square and its famous Astronomical Clock, the city's castle or just shop or enjoy a drink in one of the city's many bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence U Cerneho Orla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence u Cerneho Orla Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing