We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, friendly staff and close to transport”
Review of Hotel u Schnellu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel u Schnellu
Ranked #327 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Great spot easy walking distance to Praha central precinct . Trams stop right stop outside and the under ground is only 5 minute walk away.
The staff were friendly and helpful and it was very reasonablly priced. The rooms are fine and the bathroom I had was huge. There is no elevator however.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2012

The location of the hotel is very convinient. 7 min walk from Karlov Bridge and Loretta. 5 min walk from a very beautiful garden and metro station, Petrin mountain. But the hotel is on a noisy street with trams, it's impossible to open the window at night and the rooms don't have conditioniers. In summer the room was very stuffy. The hotel justifies its 3 stars.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Larriko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

This restaurant was quite convenient for us, as we we staying at the hotel Augustine very close by. Our first choice this evening was no longer serving, it was 9:45, so we took a chance on this place, which was still fairly busy, and looked cozy. The atmosphere was nice, the service was quite good, but the food was substandard. I ordered duck from the traditional Czech menu. It was quite dried out and tasteless. The best part of the meal was the sauerkraut, which I would rather have had as my whole meal. I would recommend this place for a few beers, but not for the food.

Room Tip: This is only a restaurant review, as we did not stay in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank LePickyFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We visited the restaurant this January. I recommend it to everyone, who is visiting the castle, it is only a shourt stroll down the road. The food is not expensive and great. The service was suprisingly really good. The girl (little bit darker skin) who served us was really friendly, attentive and always smiled. I would like to thank her for this. We were a group of 3 girls, sitting at the very back of the restaurant. The restaurant is really old style, like the whole Prague, and has this unique experience.
I would recommend it to everyone and ask for a table at the back.

I will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank lindabene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We were told this restaurant offerred good czech cuisine, so we decided to give it a try on the 27th of December. Our waitress never smiled and was not at all polite. I ordered the gulash and received two slices of dumpling with a lot of ordinary flavoured gravy and a grand total of 5 peices of cubed meat (no vegetables or anything else). The meat was riddled with lumps of fat and was difficult to eat. My husband had the duck which was not tasty - it tasted old. At the end of the meal which came to 983 net (1180 with tax) we were given the bill plus a calculator with the amount we had to pay which was plus 20% for service?
I wasn't impressed and would not recommend at all.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank lyss_seb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

So easy to walk to everything! (Plus, it's near many trams and the subway.) The restaurant on the main floor is really yummy, and the 20% discount for hotel guests is great. They have free wifi throughout the hotel (though it can be a bit slow; still, very handy). Check-in was a little strange/slow because the staff double as servers for the restaurant, but everything else was perfect! Extremely reasonable price for the location/quality. The beds were harder than I'm used to, but maybe that was a good thing--I slept very well and it was totally quiet at night. (I did not find the trams outside to be a problem.)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

The location of this place is great, in the castle district and only several blocks from the Charles Bridge and a short walk to Old Town. After traveling all day and checking into the hotel we were happy to find that the restaurant had delicious czech food and helpful staff. The room was clean and also very spacious. I would recommend this place to sleep or eat.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank shushi206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Waldstein
Hotel Waldstein
#114 of 647 in Prague
766 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Luxury Family Hotel Royal Palace
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Jezulatka
Hotel U Jezulatka
#329 of 647 in Prague
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Pava
Hotel U Pava
#179 of 647 in Prague
368 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Nicholas Hotel Residence
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#70 of 647 in Prague
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel u Schnellu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel u Schnellu

Address: Tomasska 2/27, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#197 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £56 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel u Schnellu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel u Schnellu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Schnellu Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing