We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem of a Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel u Schnellu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel u Schnellu
Ranked #319 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem of a Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

An excellent boutique-type hotel full of charm with helpful and friendly staff who made our stay a pleasure. Our room was comfortable, nicely furnished and quiet. The hotel is very convenient for the Charles Bridge - literally five minutes 'around the corner'; Prague Castle and the tram system to take you wherever you choose in the city. The restaurant and bar are first-class too. We do not have anything negative to say about the hotel, just a thank you for providing such a wonderful base for our stay in Prague.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    61
    12
    9
    2
See reviews for
20
55
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

This hotel is a hidden gem in Prague, beautiful rooms, very friendly staff and a great location.
The room was spotless, very comfortable and very quiet. 5 mins from the Charles bridge and 15 mins from Prague castle. Trams don't roar past the front of the hotel!! I would highly recommend this hotel for your break in Prague

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captiva Island, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

I liked this place! Quirky-- A Bugatti Bike in the restaurant, Stairwells decorated with underwear models, funny room keys , and strange anatomy. Not to be expected in a building hundreds of years old. But, cozy rooms were clean, beds futon comfortable and street life outside lively. Hotel and restaurant were attentive, dropping their waiter duties to carry our luggage upstairs. When informed of an early morning departure for a tour, 2 boxed breakfasts of meat, cheese, yogurt, and fruit were prepared for our departure.
Complimentary breakfast of eggs, meat, cheese, danishes. breads, etc.... served in the restaurant. The restaurant of the same name on the ground is affordable, even before the discount hotel guests receive. Nice bar, good beer, and tasty Czech dishes,
Hotel is surprisingly well located . Located in "Little Town" at the base of Prague Castle , close to Kampa Island, and Charles Bridge. The Jewish Quarter and Old Town Square are still not that far. (15 mins.) Finally, there is a major tram station across the street which includes Tram 22 that gets you up to the Castle.
We stayed at U Schnellu on the last 2 nights of a 9 day Prague visit, the first 7 at a 5-star hotel.
Enjoyed U Schnellu and wish had spent more time there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CapBeachVilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

It is very nice and sweet little hotel in the middle of Mala Strana which is only less then 5 minute walk to Charles Bridge and not far at all from the Prague Castle. It is convenient for its location, clean hotel with friendly staff. We had to wait about 10 minutes at the reception before someone noticed us but we got there. Our room was big and clean with big windows which I would not recommend to open in the morning or if you want to chill and read a book, the trams are incredibly noisy! Our dinner was really good for value and tasty typical Czech food. Breakfast was a standard buffet. In overall I would recommend to stay here if you need to save some cash.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goosberry31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandwich, MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

Pro: Location: You can walk to all the major sites Con: Location: Hot nights you cannot open the windows since the tram ROARS past front of hotel Pro: Outside noise is muffled by two sets of windows and foot-thick walls. Cons: People in hall can be heard clearly (A second door between the room's hall and bedroom would solve this). Pro: Lovely interior architecture. Con: Dirty old rug of the type that is impossible to vacuum. Pro: Friendly staff, good breakfast buffet Pro: Large, clean white bathroom Con: No vent pipe so sewer odor fills bathroom. Con: The tub is only good for baths; showers overflow the surround (we flooded the floor each time until we built a dam of towels--and then we had to share a damp towel). Pro: Room smells fine. Con: Dark-painted and dimly lighted entry and staircase smell like a cellar (opening hall windows daily would help). All in all, we found we couldn't relax in the room because it didn't feel clean. The cleaning lady does a good job, but the stains, smells, and type of rug make her job impossible. Pro: The exterior is beautiful. Pro: Views out the windows are of baroque architecture and churches Con: Tasteless photos of women in hall (not kid-friendly). Without improvements, we just couldn't recommend it. It needs AC, a second door, a vent pipe, all-around shower curtain with higher shower-head holder, a cloth draped over stained couch, and a new rug. You find your own parking on the street with a sticker they give you for 20 euros a day. It's a better deal than the parking lot diagonally in front of the hotel.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Jana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

This is more a pub than a restaurant however we had excellent onion soup and a bowl of chips washed down by inexpensive beer. We were not pushed to buy lunch and the service was friendly. The Tripadvisor sticker in the window gave us confidence in value for money. Being in such a touristy area, this was a great place with a good atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theTreveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

I spent two nights here in February 2013. The staff was friendly, the rooms were clean. The free wifi had a strong signal and was fast. The rate included hot breakfast cooked to order and a light breakfast buffet. I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for the side street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Tri Pstrosu (At the Three Ostriches)
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Nicholas Hotel Residence
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Waldstein
Hotel Waldstein
#108 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#218 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Residence Thunovska 19
Residence Thunovska 19
#323 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Pava
Hotel U Pava
#177 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel u Schnellu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel u Schnellu

Property: Hotel u Schnellu
Address: Tomasska 2/27, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#197 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel u Schnellu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel u Schnellu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Schnellu Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing