We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a great choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Stary Pivovar
Ranked #533 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
“a great choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

For those who don't mind taking the tram to get to the city center, which is about 20 min (and you won't wait for the tram longer than 3 minutes), or for those who like to walk (to get to the center is about hour and a half), this hotel is a great choice.
The rooms are spacious, clean, there is TV, and hot water in every time of the day, there is also a small park, or a whole forest around you if you don't mind exploring that side of Prague.
The receptionists are all young, and willing to help you in everything, and their English is very cute, but totally understandable.
All in all, the Hotel is a great choice, and we certainly enjoyed ourselves there.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinaICY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    49
    31
    15
    23
See reviews for
26
43
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed just one night. I chose the hotel because on the webpage they offered early check in.I payed for 2 aover internet banking,they did not bother to confirm reservation or payment.I had to contact several times to confirm.Upon arrival russian speaking desk lady said we had no reservation and no money arrived on their account.We stood firm there claiming to have paid already.Finally she found it in the computer. No appology.Early check in was not possible.Room was nice though,clean and a little bit cold during day,but they put the heating on for the night.Breakfast is the worst experience-especially if you like your morning coffee.Well it was only dark water not coffee.No fresh bread or vegetables,cheapest salami and cheese.OK for musli eaters-they had musli and yogurt.Overall- inexpensive but with unfriendly and bored staff,good for those who travel by car.Free car park and close to highway.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cestujem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasov, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Nice clean hotel but poor services . It is 20-25 minutes far, by tram, for the Prague center, no wi-fi in room. Breakfast it's a joke, but a bad one.

Room Tip: Close to the forest , so is quiet if your room is to the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sorin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

I was surprised by the quality of accommodation for such money. But maybe it's because Hotel Stary Pivovar is a quite new hotel and therefore is newly equipped. I was staying there for 2x for 3 nights. First time I was staying in the corner room which I don't recommend due to noise from the street. The second time I stayed in courtyard view room and there my night was silent.

There is also a good connection to the center, you can just take a tram and you are in the city in 15 minutes. The tram station is about 3-5 minutes by walk.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quiter, don't take a corner room, as there is hard noise from the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petr U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

We arrived by train in Prague after dark (8:30 PM), with no map and no local money, but had to reach this hotel by tram. It turned out that the train station Money Exchange and the Tourist Information were still open. We got the tram number we'd need (#9) from the surly tourist information person and heard that maps must be *purchased* and that tram tickets could be purchased at a newsstand in the train station. The tram we needed was a 5 min walk from the trains, though a dark park, and then across the street. It was about a 20 min tram ride to the "Krematorium Motol" stop, and when we got to the stop, which is on a dark street with nothing but road in sight, we did not know whether to go right or left. Fortunately, another passanger was able to point us to the left, and after another 5 minute walk along a busy street and around a curve, we saw the hotel on the right. It was not a low stress way to enter Prague!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SkiTeaSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

You have a tram station near the hotel, you need about 15 minutes to the centre. Breakfast buffet is included in the price and very good! Receptions are very friendly and speak very well english! Smoking rooms are available! Its a very nice hotel! You can go out very well in the quarter called "Andel" - alcoholic drinks are cheaper than in other european countries! Different bars with different types of music! There is something for everyone!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SerbianBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

I've been in this hotel few years ago while visitied Czech Republic. Good hotel for it price. Clean rooms and bathrooms. Good hotel for cheap stay. We stayed in 2 beds.
Good enough breackfasts. Only bad thing You can find there is a long trip from the center. (about 25-30 minutes), but it didn't bothered me and my friends. Trams went on schedule every 5-10 minutes.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderer1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
A&O Prag Metro Strizkov
#528 of 672 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
#524 of 672 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Praha 6
Discounts Prague Hotel
Discounts Prague Hotel
#393 of 672 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 7
Leon Hotel
Leon Hotel
#439 of 672 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hostel Bell
Hostel Bell
#463 of 672 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Praha 9
Hotel 51
Hotel 51
#444 of 672 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stary Pivovar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stary Pivovar

Property: Hotel Stary Pivovar
Address: Plzenska 229/9, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #533 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stary Pivovar 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are equipped with their own social facilities with shower. Hotel guests have at their disposal a parking area for cars and buses. Breakfast is served in buffet style. Hotel also offers currency exchange and secretarial services. On request we can arrange sight seeing tours, private guides and various cultural events. Hotels has also its own taxi service. Thanks to its location, the hotel is easily accessible from the center (15 minutes by tram from the Andel shopping center in Smichov) and also from Prague Ruzyne airport (15 minutes) and from the direction of Plzen as well. Hotel guests have at their disposal a guarded parking area for cars and buses. The hotel also offers currency exchange and secretarial services. We can prepare all events according to the clients' wishes, including complete services, decorations, technical equipment and gastronomic offers. On request we can arrange for circular tours of Prague and the near environs, guided tours of the city, tickets for sporting and cultural events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Stary Pivovar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing