We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price for a spacious room.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Stary Pivovar
Ranked #560 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

I had no problems with customer service like the premiums reviewers. The staff were all courteous and spoke good English. When you pay in cash thu give you a 5% discount on the room. The rooms were very large and clean. It is quite the trip to get to the downtown area though, but not a problem for me.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Violets101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2013

We arrive to the Hotel around 7:30 am an they were kind enough to let us use the room since that time even though the check in time was 14:00 hrs, an we decided to pay for breakfast in advance, everything was going good until then, once in the room we notice the shower was dirty and in general we notice a lack of maintenance, I was surprised since the front desk/bar/restaurant it was very pretty. After a while we went out and talked to the Receptionist to ask her how the public transport worked and she just refuse to help us since she couldn't understand English, we even tried in a little bit of german french and spanish but it was hopeless. On the next morning we went to eat breakfast at 9:00 (since the buffet was closing at 10:00) to find out it was empty, all they ha was cereal and yogurts, some orange juice that tasted like water with a bit of orange, and some sausages with plastic around, when we ask to the Staff if they were going to bring more stuff they didn't even answer us, the tables were dirty and they were mad when we ask for a spoon to eat some cereal.

Conclusion: the staff is terrible, they have no manners and it seems like they are in the wrong business.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vigo1688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

First problem with this hotel is that the address information is incorrect - the pizza restaurant that's actually at the address is so used to lost tourists, they actually find it entertaining when people arrive with their luggage.
Reception staff when we checked in was horrible, worst service in three years of travelling Europe. She tried to tell us that our room wasn't paid for and insisted on arguing with me about it, despite my showing here my proof of payment and credit card e-statement.
Then she tried to charge us for the internet, despite the fact that it was included with our room.
The worst of this woman was that when we tried to make arrangements for a taxi the next morning, she advised us that it would be 550 and that we had to pay her!! We had asked the previous cab driver and he said it should be no more than 300 from there to the airport.
The room was clean enough but it smelled like it had been cleaned with diesel - it smelled absolutely foul - we had to leave the room for over an hour, with the window open, before I could go back in to it. And that was still unbearable after that.
The restaurant had only four selections for food and it wasn't until after we had eaten that the waiter told us they wouldn't accept credit cards (despite the signs on the hotel doors) or let us charge it to the room.
Add into the equation that there is absolutely nothing around for miles and the TV didn't work and it all made for a horrific stay.
We actually chose to leave at 6 am, walking, with our luggage - all just to get away from that hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Krista_Day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Me and my 2 friends stayed there for 3 nights.It was a pleasant stay for a good price with friendly staff,comfortable room and big parking space.You can get any information you need in reception,even tram tickets.Tram station is 4 minutes away and it takes about 15-20 minutes to get to old town.Breakfast is ok but not great.Overall-great value for money

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank MindaugasK_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Breakfast was not so well. The Drinks in the Hotelbar was not so good. The only had beer, coffee, wine and cola. The Rooms ware oke, but very loud. Shower is good. Location just oud of the city. You van Park your car free at the hotel en take a taxi to the old town

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Gert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

The building itself is very beautiful especially from the outside, it relates to gorgeous City of Prague. Looks like historical building and actually it's an old monastery converted to hotel.
The price is very affordable, we were very pleased with it, especially that the rooms very clean and stuff very friendly. It has a big parking lot so you don't have to wary about looking for parking space. If you dont travel by car there is a tram around the corner which will takes you to old town in 15 min.
There is fast Internet.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Overall we had a great visit, good service, food and beer as well. Staff was friendly, close parking and hotel was clean, inexpensive and convenient with a tram station just few yards away. We will definitely come back soon!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 6
Discounts Prague Hotel
Discounts Prague Hotel
#492 of 646 in Prague
161 reviews
Nové Město (New Town)
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
#535 of 646 in Prague
190 reviews
Nové Město (New Town)
L'Opera Hotel
L'Opera Hotel
#463 of 646 in Prague
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 10
Hotel Slavia
Hotel Slavia
#570 of 646 in Prague
245 reviews
Nové Město (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#73 of 646 in Prague
2,493 reviews
Praha 6
Hotel Wertheim
Hotel Wertheim
#563 of 646 in Prague
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stary Pivovar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stary Pivovar

Address: Plzenska 229/9, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #560 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: £20 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stary Pivovar 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are equipped with their own social facilities with shower. Hotel guests have at their disposal a parking area for cars and buses. Breakfast is served in buffet style. Hotel also offers currency exchange and secretarial services. On request we can arrange sight seeing tours, private guides and various cultural events. Hotels has also its own taxi service. Thanks to its location, the hotel is easily accessible from the center (15 minutes by tram from the Andel shopping center in Smichov) and also from Prague Ruzyne airport (15 minutes) and from the direction of Plzen as well. Hotel guests have at their disposal a guarded parking area for cars and buses. The hotel also offers currency exchange and secretarial services. We can prepare all events according to the clients' wishes, including complete services, decorations, technical equipment and gastronomic offers. On request we can arrange for circular tours of Prague and the near environs, guided tours of the city, tickets for sporting and cultural events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Stary Pivovar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing