We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good But Noisy Location, Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Stary Pivovar
Ranked #512 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
610 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“Good But Noisy Location, Great Staff”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Good But Noisy Location, Great Staff

Although this hotel is located next to a busy highway with tram stops within easy walking distance, this is a very convenient location for visiting Prague.

We did not have the breakfast that was included in our nightly rate but it seemed typical European, nothing special.

Unfortunately, during our stay there was a huge down pour and the hotel lobby flooded. For me, this was no big deal just added an interesting touch to our stay.

On the plus side, the front desk staff at Hotel Stary Pivovar was exceptionally pleasant and provided good local information about touring the city. Tram tickets are available for purchase right at the front desk.

One nice touch for us was that one of the front desk clerks offered to take care of our laundry while we out and about in the city.

If you can sleep through the constant highway noise or end up with a more quiet room than we did, staying at Hotel Stary Pivovar can be a good deal.

I know I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMBTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    51
    32
    15
    23
See reviews for
26
45
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We have now used this Hotel a few times, mainly for the location, parking and the price. As with all reviews on here, you have to weigh everything up with the price you pay. Firstly for us, we normally travel to Prague by car having played Ice Hockey somewhere in the Czech Republic. The Hotel is conveniently located a couple of minutes just off of the D5 motorway and has ample free parking, so a plus in our eyes. That said this means the Hotel is not in the city centre, though it is located on a tram route, with a tram stop 5 minutes walk away, with a trip to the centre taking around 20mins or so. The Tram however, does run 24hrs, so you can enjoy Prague as long as you want.

The Hotel has an attractive exterior with history dating back as far as the 12th century and this continues inside with the reception and bar/breakfast areas. In all of our visits the reception staff were all courteous and spoke good English. They offer a wide range of tours and information as well as the Tickets needed for the Trams/public transport sysetms. Open 24hrs the reception sells basic essentials as well as beverages and snacks. A pool table and table football are located just behind the reception and are also available 24hrs.

The Bar / restaurant area is also in keeping with the old world feel with traditional Czech decor and is a pleasant enough place to enjoy a beer. We also tried a meal from the menu on one of our stays, and while not the best food i've had in the Czech Republic, was enjoyable, if a little pricey.

With regards to the rooms. We have now used the Hotel 4 times, and we have had 4 different rooms. All have been a good size, decorated individually and have been clean and presentable with fesh towels and linen. We have never experience what other reviewers seem to have stated regarding the cleanliness. The hotel does operate the now fashionable 'green' policy whereby you are encourage to re-use towels, but should you require clean ones, just request them from reception. All rooms come with a Flat screen TV with the usual Czech / German channels (CNN is available) and all rooms have free Wifi access. The only downside with the rooms is that the outer ones that face onto the road do suffer from road noise, but this is not too bad, and we have slept soundly on all occasions.

If there is an area that could do with improvement it's the breakfast. There is only a small choice of cold meats, cheese, bread and cereal (if there is any out). If for example all the cheese has been taken, it can take 15mins for another plate to be brought out. The juices on offer are little more than very watered down dilute pop. On the up side, The coffee is fresh and surprisingly good quality, however, you are (if lucky enough to find one) given what can only be described as a thimble of a cup to drink from. We resorted to using the juice glasses instead. If anyone from the Hotel reads this, please address this area.

All in all, for around £16-£18 per person per night for bed and breakfast i think this Hotel represents great value for money. Given other peoples reviews, i'm not sure what people expect for this price range, but If you don't mind the Tram ride (which i think adds to the experience), i doubt you will find much better. We have 3 more hockey tours planned for next year and have no hesitation in using this Hotel again.

Room Tip: Choose an inner room or one that faces the woodland area behind the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Njdgomez23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

For the past few years I have stayed in many different hotels all over the Europe and I have never experienced such a rude, careless and ignorant staff and owner.
I understand that some things can go wrong, as long as there is someone in the property who makes an afford to address these problems.
This is my first time writing a negative feedback but I really want to warn people as this place is not worth the nerves.
Other than unprofessional customer service the rooms are very very basic, so basic that you feel like in the prison cell. The location isn't great at all. There is a tram stop nearby but the journey back to the hotel late at night isn't pleasant at all. Peace and good time are priceless, so pay few extra euro for a better hotel and let your memories from Prague be all wonderful !

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katakal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Since our last visit in 2012, the standart of the breakfast buffet has gone down - it takes too long time to fill it up.

The food in the restaurant has become VERY poor!

It's food, but bad.

Beer is still good!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Per G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

I had no problems with customer service like the premiums reviewers. The staff were all courteous and spoke good English. When you pay in cash thu give you a 5% discount on the room. The rooms were very large and clean. It is quite the trip to get to the downtown area though, but not a problem for me.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Violets101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We arrive to the Hotel around 7:30 am an they were kind enough to let us use the room since that time even though the check in time was 14:00 hrs, an we decided to pay for breakfast in advance, everything was going good until then, once in the room we notice the shower was dirty and in general we notice a lack of maintenance, I was surprised since the front desk/bar/restaurant it was very pretty. After a while we went out and talked to the Receptionist to ask her how the public transport worked and she just refuse to help us since she couldn't understand English, we even tried in a little bit of german french and spanish but it was hopeless. On the next morning we went to eat breakfast at 9:00 (since the buffet was closing at 10:00) to find out it was empty, all they ha was cereal and yogurts, some orange juice that tasted like water with a bit of orange, and some sausages with plastic around, when we ask to the Staff if they were going to bring more stuff they didn't even answer us, the tables were dirty and they were mad when we ask for a spoon to eat some cereal.

Conclusion: the staff is terrible, they have no manners and it seems like they are in the wrong business.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vigo1688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

First problem with this hotel is that the address information is incorrect - the pizza restaurant that's actually at the address is so used to lost tourists, they actually find it entertaining when people arrive with their luggage.
Reception staff when we checked in was horrible, worst service in three years of travelling Europe. She tried to tell us that our room wasn't paid for and insisted on arguing with me about it, despite my showing here my proof of payment and credit card e-statement.
Then she tried to charge us for the internet, despite the fact that it was included with our room.
The worst of this woman was that when we tried to make arrangements for a taxi the next morning, she advised us that it would be 550 and that we had to pay her!! We had asked the previous cab driver and he said it should be no more than 300 from there to the airport.
The room was clean enough but it smelled like it had been cleaned with diesel - it smelled absolutely foul - we had to leave the room for over an hour, with the window open, before I could go back in to it. And that was still unbearable after that.
The restaurant had only four selections for food and it wasn't until after we had eaten that the waiter told us they wouldn't accept credit cards (despite the signs on the hotel doors) or let us charge it to the room.
Add into the equation that there is absolutely nothing around for miles and the TV didn't work and it all made for a horrific stay.
We actually chose to leave at 6 am, walking, with our luggage - all just to get away from that hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Krista_Day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
#518 of 650 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Praha 6
Discounts Prague Hotel
Discounts Prague Hotel
#407 of 650 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Praha 7
Leon Hotel
Leon Hotel
#470 of 650 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hostel Bell
Hostel Bell
#441 of 650 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Praha 9
Hotel 51
Hotel 51
#444 of 650 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Praha 6
Hotel Wertheim
Hotel Wertheim
#446 of 650 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stary Pivovar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stary Pivovar

Property: Hotel Stary Pivovar
Address: Plzenska 229/9, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #512 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stary Pivovar 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are equipped with their own social facilities with shower. Hotel guests have at their disposal a parking area for cars and buses. Breakfast is served in buffet style. Hotel also offers currency exchange and secretarial services. On request we can arrange sight seeing tours, private guides and various cultural events. Hotels has also its own taxi service. Thanks to its location, the hotel is easily accessible from the center (15 minutes by tram from the Andel shopping center in Smichov) and also from Prague Ruzyne airport (15 minutes) and from the direction of Plzen as well. Hotel guests have at their disposal a guarded parking area for cars and buses. The hotel also offers currency exchange and secretarial services. We can prepare all events according to the clients' wishes, including complete services, decorations, technical equipment and gastronomic offers. On request we can arrange for circular tours of Prague and the near environs, guided tours of the city, tickets for sporting and cultural events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Stary Pivovar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing