We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basically good.”
Review of Columbo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Columbo
Ranked #369 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Poznan, Wielkopolskie, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Basically good.”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I found the rooms to be nice and clean with good modern bathrooms. (We were moved from a very small but basically adequate room on our first night to a larger room with outside window for our second and third night)
The staff were helpful and friendly.
The location is great. Easy to get to the town centre by tram or on foot (we usually just walked).
The breakfast was very basic. Toast and jam, cheese and some sliced ham, yoghurt etc. Coffee was good though and, to be honest, i wasn't expecting a lot for what we were paying.

I was a little disappointed that some of what was promised on the website, i.e. free parking and half price tram tickets, were not available. The parking is close-by and cheap (about 7 euro per day) but certainly not "free" as was promised on their website. Perhaps they meant "available" rather than "free" money-wise? They explained that there was a problem with getting the half price tram/bus tickets they were promised from the government and as such they weren't available, but i felt that they really should have taken these promises off their website as they were the reason that we chose them over some other hotels.

All in all, it is a decent, comfortable, clean and cheap hotel with a good location. Just don't expect free parking.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnVSmyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    29
    11
    2
    5
See reviews for
9
43
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We happened to stay at this hotel fortunately only two nights but even this was enough to show us how "nice" is this hotel. Our room was very cold as the heating system did not work properly, we had to complain about it few times, after we were told that is normal and they dont have any other available room. but next day it turned out that someone came to fix it during the day time, so we could get some good sleep during our second night but it was still chilly in the room. Wi fi is available only in the lobby. It is not possible to watch TV because the antenna does work with a terrible nose. The breakfast is quite ok but it looks like a piece of plastic, eg.the color of what they called "orange juice" was bright yellow or coffee had a terrible taste, not sure if it was even Nescafe as they claimed it. We even were lucky to have a pop corn for breakfast on one of these two days:) We booked this hotel via booking.com and posted our feedback there. And to our surprise we got also feedback on our feedback directly from this "lovely" hotel and we did not want to hide from you this masterpiece:
"Thanks for your feedback but I think that you wrote somewhat false informace.Heating in your rooms work perfectly fine, and the room temperature is adequate to man normally clothed, not naked.

Breakfast offer for your order was Continental .Jestli you know what that means?
For breakfast we offer you more than we had:
coffee (Nescafe), tea (Ceylon), orange juice, milk, Yoghurt, 4 kinds of cereal, 4 kind of bread (2 dry bread, bread normal, toast), 3 kinds of cheese, 6 species mermelade, honey, 2 kinds of butter,2kind of pate 3 kinds of sausages, 3 kinds of biscuits, 2 kinds of fruit .... and more.
Its that poor breakfast ? Maybe you are not open eyes in morning?

Finally, you forgot to mention that your behavior was very impersonal and somewhat harshly !!!
You've found a better hotel and we are happy that we have another guests better than you.

We say: STAY WITH US AND FEEL LIKE HOME !
Kind regards "

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Finland E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Hotel Columbo is small and cozy with free internet.
Owner was friendly and helpful.
We stayed five nights. Breakfast in the lobby was good and versatile. Simple and spacy rooms with nice clean bathrooms.
Fast public transportation is just 4 minutes walk.
Great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EugeneOregonUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

The owner of this hotel was wonderful!! Every single need we had was met by the owner or staff - from laundry, directions, a ride to the airport, and an early breakfast the day of our departure. Everything was done with a smile (and a reasonable fee.) Our room was very large and comfortable. The tram is just two blocks away and a short ride into the town center. The hotel is located in a business area of town, so everything closes early. There are only a few places to eat in the evening so it's best to stay in town until you are ready to return to the room. If you are willing to spend the money, I think it would be nice to stay in the town center. But this hotel is a great find for the price.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EuropeLover1891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

i've stayed in hotels ranging from 5 star locations to hostels, but in all of my stays, i've never met any hotel staff as unhelpful as at hotel columbo. the hotel is located about 20 minutes from downtown prague. besides the most basic information on how to get to downtown prague, the hotel staff is completely useless in terms of transportation and suggestions on things to do. although this is not ideal for a hotel, the dealbreaker was when a hotel staff member refused to look up the location of the night tram station because, "this is too difficult."

in addition to the painfully inhospitable service, the hotel falsely advertised acceptance of credit cards, but demanded cash on check out. although this wasn't a big deal, the rooms weren't cleaned either. overall, the inexpensive price of this hotel is NOT worth the horrible service!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank olympiapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

My wife and I stayed here for two nights. Prague is arguably our favourite European city and we loved every minute of our stay. This hotel is outside of downtown (about a 20-minute walk up one of the main streets, although there are frequent buses one can take) but is much cheaper than the hotels downtown. The hotel was nice, with spacious rooms and Internet available for free in the lobby. There's no elevator so you have to carry your luggage up several flights of stairs. The breakfast was good. The only minor complaint is that the room smelled a bit musty, but it was nothing serious.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xdennisma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2011

I have spent 3 nights at this hotel in June 2010 and was extremely impressed!
Hotel Colombo is a family-run hotel, and the family are very welcoming, friendly and exceptionally helpful. My room was large, very clean and nicely decorated. The bathroom was also clean and very modern! I had TV in the room. While staying at the hotel I felt very safe. The breakfast was included which was big.
The hotel is located the historical part of the city in 5 minutes from a tram stop and in 10 minutes from the Prague's main international railway station Hlavní nádraží.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iuliana-Juliana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 3
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#357 of 649 in Prague
190 reviews
Praha 3
Bily Lev
Bily Lev
#304 of 649 in Prague
242 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel Seifert
Hotel Seifert
#228 of 649 in Prague
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 3
Hotel Dalimil
Hotel Dalimil
#269 of 649 in Prague
224 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel & Residence Royal Standard
Praha 8
Hotel Charles Central
Hotel Charles Central
#174 of 649 in Prague
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbo

Property: Columbo
Address: Milichova 488/15, Prague 130 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 3
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Columbo 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Columbo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbo Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing