We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, nice beer”

The Strahov Monastic Brewery
Book In Advance
More Info
US$90.00*
and up
Walking Tour of Prague's Brevnov and Strahov Monasteries and Breweries
Ranked #49 of 935 things to do in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place, nice beer”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Having been disappointed by so many of the Prague beer pubs this was a great find!

Sure, its a huge tourist attraction (library is spectular) and gets busy but have a little patience and you'll be greatly rewarded!

We had no issues with service, the food was good and the beers was the best non pilsner style I have had in Prague. I'd recommend it!

Helpful?
2 Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    429
    220
    56
    18
    19
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome food and beer”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This was one of our favorite places in all of Prague. After a day at the Prague Castle we made our way up here for a really nice lunch. We got the goulash in a bread bowl and meat platter and both were really tasty. The best part though was the beer and after trying 4 or 5 different kinds we settled on our favorite. Its definitely a must do in Prague and I doubt we will find better beer anywhere else.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Viking2680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
220 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I liked the rustic design of this restaurant. The food was Czeck cuisine. We had the Goulash in a bread bowl which was okay, and the potatoe soup which wasn't our taste. The beer was very good though.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank difelidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beerd n a view!”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We stopped at SvNOrbert for a taste of the best beer in Czech!amazing!The walk up was fun with shops along the way up, the beer and view tots worth it!

Helpful?
Thank Aliki P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beyond the Castle”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We were fortunate that when we visited Prague it wasn't under a foot of snow so it was very pleasant to see the city on foot.

The monastery and its brewery are located further up the hill from the castle but is very much worth the visit.

The location of the monastery gives as fantastic panorama of the city however the brewery is located back from this in a separate whitewashed building. The copper brewing tanks are on open display to the side of the bar. The staff were obliging and tables were available both inside and outside in a courtyard. I only sampled one of the three beers available and this was definitely a cut above that found in the town (the monastic brews only sell here).

Certainly a climb if your sole purpose is to sample 0.51L of Prague's finest but if you are visiting the monastery you must indulge in its delights.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank brennanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Strahov Monastic Brewery also viewed

 

Been to The Strahov Monastic Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing