We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 days in Prague”
Review of Savic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Savic Hotel
Ranked #36 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
geelong
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“5 days in Prague”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

fabulous location.
reception gave us a very good introduction to the hotel at check in,were extremely helpful during our stay,and confirmed our outgoing flights on line prior to departure.
room was spacious and airy.the king size bed was excellent.bathroom big enough,and thank goodness for a decent shower.
staff were excellent.
hotel is well appointed and has a lovely atmosphere.
would we stay there again?
definitely Yes

Room Tip: all rooms good,with opening windows. some street noise from late night revellers. we stayed in roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alec m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,948
    418
    54
    14
    7
See reviews for
265
1,644
71
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

The Savic Hotel makes your stay in Prague a delightful one, located in the heart of the old town it offers excellent facilities and wonderful service. Nothing is too much trouble for the obliging staff who are happy to help you see their beautiful city.

The restaurant attached to the hotel offers great food and service - great breakfasts, snacks and dinner. Although it is best to not be tempted by the roasted ham on offer in the Main Square. The setting and aroma make it tempting but it is tough, fatty and outrageously priced - there are many other food experiences that are excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We booked this one sight unseen and were very pleased with our choice. It started at the front desk, and I do mean desk, where we sat down with a glass of bubbly and listened to the hotel manager go through the services and give us advice on tours, trips things to do. Meanwhile our luggage went up to our room and was all there when we got upstairs. The building itself is quaint with little porticos and nooks on every floor. Being a converted 13th century monastery probably gives you some idea but it was modern, well appointed and warm. Although the bathroom was a little small it certainly served its purpose and our room area was reasonably spacious and very clean. Breakfast was included and we were able to fill up for the day on a combination of breads, cheeses, fruit, pancakes, omelettes and other cooked food. I have to say I was highly impressed by the wait staff who were very friendly and attentive. We had a small meal one night in the restaurant and it was of good quality and for Prague, reasonably priced.

The real advantage of this hotel is that it is only seconds away from the Oldtown square but far enough away to generally avoid the noise late at night. We slept peacefully on each of the 4 nights we were there.

The hotel offered free wifi and with all of our tours we were picked up from the hotel (generally on foot as everything is so close) and overall had a lovely stay. Prague is a beautiful city and this hotel fits right in.

One tip for the novices; if you end up thinking about a meal from one of the street vendors in the square be careful the price for the food (ham, sausage, vegetables) is by the 100grams. What we thought would be a cheap and quick bite cost us $60 as they lumped the food on the plate and then weighed it. Make sure you control the size of the portions!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012 via mobile

Me and my partner have just recently returned from our discovery trip to Prague, which was bought as a present for my birthday. We stayed for 5 days and we were lucky enough to have the perfect weather. Our room was the standard double room, which was absolutely lovely - as I mentioned in the title I chose this hotel for the positive reviews but mainly for the stunning design. Basically, there's nothing really to criticise - I read a few complaints about the noise in the streets at night, but in all honesty it is a hotel directly in the city centre which is an advantage that can be hardly beaten. Coming from Manchester, UK where the nightlife has its reputations we were impressed by Prague! All in all this was a fantastic experience and the hotel staff made it an even more enjoyable one - some members of the staff speak fluent English and helped out with directions. They also gave great suggestions for places to visit as this was our first time in Czech Republic! Had a lovely time, thank you Savic Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evierankin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Previous reviewers have mentioned how great this hotel is - great location, big comfortable rooms, great breakfasts. What really impressed us were the staff, especially those at the reception desk. They were always friendly and helpful even at the end of a long day. They gave us great advice on what to see in Prague, where to eat and where to shop. However they were REALLY fantastic when they called our airline to download our boarding passes only to find out that our flight had been cancelled! The next flight was 2 days later and they went out of their way to help us resolve the problem and help us to find an alternate hotel when they could not accommodate us for one of the extra nights.

Room Tip: We paid the extra €15 for a superior room. Whilst the ceiling was beautifully painted we did not not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zamgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I had a standard room at the Savic and it was quite large and comfortable. A nice touch was the Nespresso machine. The people at the desk were quite nice and helpful with restaurants. I didn't give it 4 or 5 stars because when I first got to the room it was a bit warm outside and the room was warm and musty and there was no air conditioning. I saw a repairman on my floor and told him about it. He checked it and told me the air was working. It wasn't! I then went to the desk and told them that the room was a bit uncomfortable, but they insisted that the air conditioning was fixed a week before and every room was fine. Eventually, she said that she would have someone check it again while we were out. It was the same when I returned, But, fortunately, that night it got much colder and stayed that way for the rest of the trip. I slept with the window open a tad and it was comfortable. However, had it been 85 degrees, it would have been quite uncomfortable and I probably would have checked out if they had not put me in another room.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatriciaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Oh wow! What a lovely time we had in Prague! The Savic is in such a great location and we managed to find our way there from public transport fairly easily by hopping of at Mustek metro station.
Staff spoke great english and were friendly and showed great sense of humour! Very helpful with any questions.
Breakfast was great, and my husband enjoyed his pork ribs from resteraunt Dominka.
Bed was sooo comfortable.
We loved Prague and we loved the Savic... from a young couples perspective if you can afford to splurge a little on your trip to europe stay at the Savic - worth every penny!!!

Room Tip: small set of stairs to get to our room 311, but you could request one straight across from the lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BecnJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#21 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#10 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#32 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#28 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,229 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#81 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savic Hotel

Property: Savic Hotel
Address: Jilska 235/7, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Prague
#26 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#27 Family Hotel in Prague
#33 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Savic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gothic and Renaissance building, which has in it the original ceiling in certain parts dating to the year 1319, is one of few in Prague. The Savic Hotel is situated in the heart of the city centre at Old Town Square, just a few steps away, on the cobbled streets, from the famous Astronomical Clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Savic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savic Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing