We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in many ways”
Review of Savic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Savic Hotel
Ranked #35 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Savic is in an old Dominican monastery and, as a result, each room is unique. We stayed in 3 different rooms (through some mixups associated with our reservation). The junior suite 208 has really tall ceilings, huge windows and a four-poster bed. The bathroom has a huge tub/shower combined. Junior suite 303 is really on the 4th floor as you have to climb a set of stairs once inside the room. This has wood-beamed ceilings, small windows with views over the rooftops and a huge bathroom with separate bath and shower. Because of the smaller windows and higher floor, this is definitely the quietest of the 3 rooms we tried. We also stayed in the executive suite room 204 one night. This is spectacular in that it has a painted ceiling and old frescoes on the walls. There is a separate bedroom and living room, fairly large windows (with views over the small square and restaurant) and a roomy bathroom with separate shower and bath (and tv inset in the wall). I would advise earplugs for light sleepers as the location is right in the heart of town.

The hotel is a bit worn around the edges. Each of the rooms we stayed in needed a fresh coat of paint and one of the sofas was torn. However, they did have painters working in the hotel while we were there (slightly inconvenient as the painters were working just outside our room and coughed constantly!), so maybe it will all be spruced up in the future.

This is a small hotel with all of the charm and problems that can come with that. When we first checked in, they almost denied us a room because of some maintenance problems. They wanted to send us to another hotel for one night and then back to the Savic. We had to remain steadfast to be able to get a room. Also, the front desk staff are super, super nice and always want to provide excellent service to each guest. However, since there is one staff person and one computer, if that person is busy, it can be a very long wait to get help. They have no system at all for handling overflow when multiple groups want to check in or out or just get a map.

Breakfast is served in a glassed in atrium. It is very good (selection of cold and hot dishes).

If you are coming from the airport, definitely book their transfer service as it is very convenient.

We would definitely stay at the Savic again, but we are willing to put up with some inconveniences for the charm of the building and the perfect location.

Room Tip: The junior suite 208 has really tall ceilings, huge windows and a four-poster bed. The bathroom has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kappycanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,232 - 1,238 of 2,542 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2012

We travelled with friends to Prague and chose the Savic Hotel due to it's location and Tripadvisor reviews and on arrival we were pleasantly surprised by our choice, being welcomed by a very helpful smiling receptionist and a glass of chilled sparkling wine. We had a room with an entrance area with a large bedroom and two large comfortable beds, mini bar and good quality bathroom.
The Savic is in a great position close and in walking distance to all sights within the Old Town. On our last night we chose to eat in the adjoining restaurant, this was disappointing and we felt that the meals need to be revamped to the twenty first century tastes on quantity and presentation without losing their ethnicity in local cuisine.


A couple of our experiences of Prague that made our visit memorable, Jazz & Dinner Cruise and Old Open Top Tour Guide driven Car.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelmanEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Being a former convent, this hotel is full of history and the room elegant, large and a wonderful large bed - much needed after walking the streets of Prague.
The location couldn't be better - so close to the astronomical clock and Charles Bridge.
The staff are friendly and speak very good English and the breakfast was everything you could want - you could ask them to cook something for you too.
If ever in Prague - this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KaetrinS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed at the Savic Hotel the end of August. It is a perfect fun location, you can sit outside on the restaurant patio and watch the world go by. Our room was upgraded to a Jr Suite that was very large, comfortable and clean. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is amazing, pretty much anything you want. Would highly recommend and would love to return to this fantastic city.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DianeKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Our stay was perfect, the location cannot be improved, very close to
the astronomical clock and the Charles Bridge. We had no noise
problems, as opposed to other customers. The breakfast is very good,
with fresh bread, fruit salads, vegetables, cheese, ham, salmon,
yogurt, omelettes, and several hot dishes as well. The staff is very
helpful, and the superior double room of the 4th floor is very
comfortable: it has a closet where one can hang clothes and also put
them in the drawers, a nice entrance area, a desk to work, a good
internet connection that allowed us to skype home comfortably, a
coffee machine, two nice sofas and a comfortable bathroom. Highly
recommendable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ines S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed for 4 nights after a hectic tour of European Capitals and found this hotel to be exactly what other reviewers had written. We loved it. Great service, great staff and great location. We stayed in the attic rooms of the 4th floor and apart from the lift reaching the 3rd floor and the air conditioning being a little warm this was a pleasure. The breakfasts were superb and the restaurant meals of a high standard and variation.
We would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lino737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

My friend & I stayed at the Savic Hotel for three nights in September 2012 and have only good things to say about the hotel & its staff. The hotel is in an excellent location, close to the Old Town Square and only 5 mins walk to Charles Bridge. Anything you want to see is easily within walking distance alrhough I would recommend taking a tram to Prague Castle as its a steep walk!

The hotel staff are very helpful. They answered all our questions and gave excellent advice on how best to get where we wanted to visit. The lady on reception when we checked in - I wish I could remember her.name - was a credit to the hotel, extremely helpful. And the welcome drink whilst sat checking in was a lovely touch. We wanted to book a trip to Terezin and were going to book with a tour company who's leaflet we just picked up. The reception lady recommended a tour run by Jewish people as being the best one. She wasn't wrong - the tour with Wittmann Tours was one of the best tours I've ever been on anywhere in the world and is highly recommended if you have time.

The hotel itself is beautiful, it has a real charm about it. The room we stayed in was a very adequate size, and was in good condition. Everything was clean. It was a pleasure to stay there. The buffet breakfast was very good with lots of choice.

We arranged transfers to/from the airport through the hotel - again these were excellent, very punctual and value for money. I would recommend contacting the hotel prior to your stay to arrange a transfer if needed

I would definitely stay at the Savic again if I visited Prague and would recommend everyone else should stay there

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kazflint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#8 of 646 in Prague
1,778 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Praha
Grand Hotel Praha
#116 of 646 in Prague
879 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#20 of 646 in Prague
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#29 of 646 in Prague
2,477 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#32 of 646 in Prague
1,240 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savic Hotel

Address: Jilska 235/7, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Prague
#23 Family Hotel in Prague
#26 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#32 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £73 - £517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Savic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gothic and Renaissance building, which has in it the original ceiling in certain parts dating to the year 1319, is one of few in Prague. The Savic Hotel is situated in the heart of the city centre at Old Town Square, just a few steps away, on the cobbled streets, from the famous Astronomical Clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Fastbooking, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Savic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savic Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing