We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prague Wedding”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Savic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Savic Hotel
Ranked #32 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
St Augustine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Prague Wedding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

Great hotel, superb location, friendly staff, sight seeing was so easy from this location and recommend the Brew Pub across the street.
Do not have the pork knuckle unless very hungry or sharing!!
Do go to a Organ Concert in the church to the left of the hotel entrance.(left again after.)

Room Tip: The top floor (4th) where our room was located was very hot hence our adverse comment on our sleep q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DandysStAugustine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,936
    410
    52
    14
    7
See reviews for
264
1,634
68
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

The title says it all !!! This lovely little hotel is a gem, the rooms are gorgeous, the staff friendly and the breakfasts are excellent. Its right in the centre of the old town, which makes sightseeing a doddle. We only had two nights on this visit but managed to get to see loads in Prague due to the location of this hotel. Would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: room 315 has lovely view from the front of the lanes to watch everyone passing by. did not have any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank goldie038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Savic Hotel (four nights). Great Breakfast and interesting building and good rooms. Staff Friendly and helpful. One minute from the centre everything in easy walking distance. Get the hotel to book a taxi to and from the Airport

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank john_whit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

I just stayed here with my husband for a vacation and it is a lovely small hotel. The rooms were very nice, the breakfast included and very good. The staff is very helpful and friendly and the hotel is in a great location for getting around the city. The price is very reasonable as well. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone traveling to prague who doesn't want to break the bank but wants a nice hotel.

Room Tip: We did have a room that looked out onto one of the busier nightlife streets so it could be a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chicagolovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

Savic is in an old Dominican monastery and, as a result, each room is unique. We stayed in 3 different rooms (through some mixups associated with our reservation). The junior suite 208 has really tall ceilings, huge windows and a four-poster bed. The bathroom has a huge tub/shower combined. Junior suite 303 is really on the 4th floor as you have to climb a set of stairs once inside the room. This has wood-beamed ceilings, small windows with views over the rooftops and a huge bathroom with separate bath and shower. Because of the smaller windows and higher floor, this is definitely the quietest of the 3 rooms we tried. We also stayed in the executive suite room 204 one night. This is spectacular in that it has a painted ceiling and old frescoes on the walls. There is a separate bedroom and living room, fairly large windows (with views over the small square and restaurant) and a roomy bathroom with separate shower and bath (and tv inset in the wall). I would advise earplugs for light sleepers as the location is right in the heart of town.

The hotel is a bit worn around the edges. Each of the rooms we stayed in needed a fresh coat of paint and one of the sofas was torn. However, they did have painters working in the hotel while we were there (slightly inconvenient as the painters were working just outside our room and coughed constantly!), so maybe it will all be spruced up in the future.

This is a small hotel with all of the charm and problems that can come with that. When we first checked in, they almost denied us a room because of some maintenance problems. They wanted to send us to another hotel for one night and then back to the Savic. We had to remain steadfast to be able to get a room. Also, the front desk staff are super, super nice and always want to provide excellent service to each guest. However, since there is one staff person and one computer, if that person is busy, it can be a very long wait to get help. They have no system at all for handling overflow when multiple groups want to check in or out or just get a map.

Breakfast is served in a glassed in atrium. It is very good (selection of cold and hot dishes).

If you are coming from the airport, definitely book their transfer service as it is very convenient.

We would definitely stay at the Savic again, but we are willing to put up with some inconveniences for the charm of the building and the perfect location.

Room Tip: The junior suite 208 has really tall ceilings, huge windows and a four-poster bed. The bathroom has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kappycanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

We travelled with friends to Prague and chose the Savic Hotel due to it's location and Tripadvisor reviews and on arrival we were pleasantly surprised by our choice, being welcomed by a very helpful smiling receptionist and a glass of chilled sparkling wine. We had a room with an entrance area with a large bedroom and two large comfortable beds, mini bar and good quality bathroom.
The Savic is in a great position close and in walking distance to all sights within the Old Town. On our last night we chose to eat in the adjoining restaurant, this was disappointing and we felt that the meals need to be revamped to the twenty first century tastes on quantity and presentation without losing their ethnicity in local cuisine.


A couple of our experiences of Prague that made our visit memorable, Jazz & Dinner Cruise and Old Open Top Tour Guide driven Car.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelmanEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

Being a former convent, this hotel is full of history and the room elegant, large and a wonderful large bed - much needed after walking the streets of Prague.
The location couldn't be better - so close to the astronomical clock and Charles Bridge.
The staff are friendly and speak very good English and the breakfast was everything you could want - you could ask them to cook something for you too.
If ever in Prague - this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KaetrinS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#19 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#10 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#38 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#31 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#88 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savic Hotel

Property: Savic Hotel
Address: Jilska 235/7, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Prague
#26 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#27 Family Hotel in Prague
#28 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Savic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gothic and Renaissance building, which has in it the original ceiling in certain parts dating to the year 1319, is one of few in Prague. The Savic Hotel is situated in the heart of the city centre at Old Town Square, just a few steps away, on the cobbled streets, from the famous Astronomical Clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Savic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savic Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing