We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Savic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Savic Hotel
Ranked #34 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2013

The Savic hotel is fantastic. From check in to check out the service is outstanding. Our room was delightful, large with comfortable three quarter beds. The bathroom was lovely with a great selection of toiletries. WiFi is free. Breakfast was included in our rate and it was a magnificent spread. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant but it looked good.
This hotel has a very convenient location. It is almost around the corner from the Old Town square and is a short walk to Wencelas square and Charles bridge. We caught a tram to the Castle and then walked back across the bridge to the hotel. There are also many good restaurants just a short walk from the Savic.
My daughter and I came to visit the Christmas markets in Prague and were not disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Noel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

926 - 932 of 2,495 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2013

The Savic is a beautiful place. As part of it was once a monastery it still holds some of its Baroc style. All of the vaulted ceilings are still in place.
The staff are very helpful.
Breakfast was a feast, so much choice from cooked meats and cheeses to fruit and porridge.If you wanted something cooked. you had eggs, bacon, sausage.
The location of the hotel was central to the old town and most of the tourist attractions were within walking distance.
Should I return to Prague I would certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed here mid december with my girlfriend for a long weekend. We visit prague every year and this is by far the best hotel we have stayed in. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and no request was too much hassle. The hotel is about 5 mins from old town square and charles bridge with some very good pubs and restaurants near by. Totally recommend the pub straight over from the hotel's reception entrance (u tri ruzi) although we did not eat here the food looked good, but if you like your beer then this place is quite special as its a brew pub. They make different kinds of beer but they all tasted great (recommend the vienna red) and if you want to be there whilst they are making the beer then they brew every saturday and sunday morning. I would defo book this hotel again, we got it for a good price but i would defo spend extra to stay here.

1  Thank UncleGusIsMyUncle
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 December 2013

My friend and I stayed at Hotel Savic from 8th to 12th December 2013. The hotel is perfectly located for easy walking (2 women in their 50's) distance of everything you could possibly want to see in Prague as a tourist; apart from the castle which is a few stops on the tram, which in itself is fun.
The hotel itself was even better than we had expected. Reception staff could not have been more helpful and welcoming. The room was lovely, spotlessly clean and very elegant and a good size. The beds were very comfortable and with nice bedding. The bathroom was very tastefully done all in marble but with modern fittings. Endless, fast flowing hot water. Room temperature was always good, warm but not too hot. The breakfast was plentiful and with a very wide selection to suit all tastes. Eggs available in a multitude of ways and cooked to order so always hot and fresh. Breakfast is eaten in what would have originally been the court yard but now has a glass ceiling and there are lots of large plants (trees in pots) to bring the outside in. All the lights are lovely with lots of crystal ceiling & wall mounted lights. All the furniture is of a very nice quality and tasteful done.

The free wi-fi was easy and very fast. The room had a good size wall mounted TV, radio alarm clock with ipod docking. A good sized desk to put a laptop on with easily accessible plug sockets.

The communal areas of the hotel have had a lot of money spent on them and are bright and very clean in all areas while still maintaining features of the original monastery.

I would 100% recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Prague.

The only negative event that occurred was we had booked a transfer from the airport to the hotel, through the service offered by the hotel (700CZK) no one was there to meet us, we had to phone the hotel and in total had to wait 45 minutes for it to turn up. However on departing we used the same service and he was on time.

Room Tip: We were in 201 which was at the end of the corridor so no passing 'traffic'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JinnyCameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I will base this review only on the hotel .... not Prague itself which i found to be most overated , graffiti scarred , tat shop infested , rip off , beggar plagued tourist trap I have ever visited.

Stayed Mon-Fri 9th to 13th Dec . Two days too long for what there is too see . Great reception ( after an excellent pre-arranged private taxi from Prague Airport Tranfers at 550k each way ) on arrival by the very helpful reception staff .

Stayed in standard Room 309 which was uncomfortably hot and stuffy, which there is no control of . Opening the window gives fresh air but also the racket from the street below . I have never slept so badly lying uncovered on the soft sagging bed. . Nightly we were woken by the bin/bottle wagon collection at 1am and drunken clowns at 4am from the street below even with the windows closed. The hotel obviously knows there is a noise problem as it supplies bedside ear plugs . Try sleeping with what feels like two corks in your ears !
The positives were ;
That the room was well equipped and like the rest of the hotel spotless.
The staff were polite , helpfull and friendly .
Breakfast though served in a cramped area was faultless.
In summary if you want to stay in the central position this hotel has , you have to accept the downside of the irregular heating and outside noise .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank treeclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in Dec (7th - 11th) and after a delayed flight out from Heathrow the greeting at reception was wonderful. We were given some lovely sparkling wine and it tasted lovely. Check in was efficient and a lovely little area where you sit down rather than the usual hotel reception.
We had booked a standard room and were given 308. We were very impressed on entering the room, spacious, warm and clean. The bathroom was very modern and it was great to have both a bath & shower as you can then have a soak if you've been walking like we did all day.
The breakfast was plentiful and a great selection - breads, cereals, pancakes, eggs cooked to order, bacon, sausages, beans etc. I especially enjoyed their oatmeal - very tasty. It was a nice start to the day and we rarely ate at lunchtime.
The only downside was the hotel was very hot. But think that's the same of all of them. As soon as you walk in from the outside it hits you. Yes it was cold outside so you are all wrapped up but even at night with the temperature turned right down on the thermostat, it was boiling in the room.
But overall we'd definately stay here again as it's so central and can walk everywhere - once you find all the short cuts its surprising how even closer the hotel becomes to everything.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank misssupermonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel by transfer arranged by them following email correspondence, it was reasonable at 700czk. Check in with Lenska was efficient and we were offered a drink during the process which is a nice touch. The hotel itself was perfectly situated for our trip, just round the corner from old town square, and a 5 minute stroll to Charles Bridge. It is spotlessly clean and the staff all pleasant and helpful.
Tomasz on reception was wonderful on our 2nd night when my partner needed a dentist at 2 am, he searched for an emergency dentist and arranged it all for us. A bottle of fizz was delivered to the room for my partners birthday which was lovely, and unexpected.
Overall a fantastic stay!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Martinoneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 647 in Prague
1,745 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#20 of 647 in Prague
1,322 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#30 of 647 in Prague
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#72 of 647 in Prague
1,547 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#25 of 647 in Prague
2,405 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#10 of 647 in Prague
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savic Hotel

Address: Jilska 235/7, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Prague
#26 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#27 Family Hotel in Prague
#31 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £83 - £478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Savic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gothic and Renaissance building, which has in it the original ceiling in certain parts dating to the year 1319, is one of few in Prague. The Savic Hotel is situated in the heart of the city centre at Old Town Square, just a few steps away, on the cobbled streets, from the famous Astronomical Clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Fastbooking, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Savic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savic Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing