We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location for historic Prague”
Review of Savic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Savic Hotel
Ranked #35 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ideal location for historic Prague”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Just back from a 3 night city break stay at the Savic, superb location close to the historical old town, with clean, well equipped rooms and friendly staff. This is a fabulous boutique hotel in an ideal location to explore all this wonderful city has to offer. Check in was quick and efficient with a lovely glass of Czech sparking wine as a welcome.Our rooms were very comfortable and clean with all we needed and the breakfast was much better than other "continental" buffets I have experienced in European cities. Attentive staff were on hand serving hot beverages and a variety of cooked eggs to order. Only downside, and I'm being picky here, is the flight of stairs we had to negotiate with our cases to the first floor rooms, but to be fair we were told that a member of staff could help if needed. This is my second trip to Prague and I would definitely return to the Savic should I return in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 6665PatSte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,962
    427
    54
    14
    7
See reviews for
266
1,660
73
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed at Savic on the first stop of our five city European trip. Got into the city around 7pm and finally found our way to the hotel after navigating through the winding cobblestone streets. We were met by a gracious host who offered us a welcome drink and checked us in. Our room was on the top floor which meant getting off the elevator and walking up one more flight (not a big deal unless you have a lot of luggage).

Double room with a King bed on the top floor. Wooden beams of the original building are incorporated into the room giving it an old world charm, yet the room was clean and contemporary. Bathroom is modern but a little small. Not much of a view but from the small window, you could see out onto the rooftops of the adjacent building.

Breakfast was very good with a variety of meats, cheeses, bread, yogurt and the like. I really liked the dining area with its glass ceilings; reminded me of a greenhouse. Great way to start a day of sightseeing by having the morning sky (or clouds and rain on a couple days) overhead while you eat.

The location is awesome...simply can't be beat. You are literally two minutes (maybe not even two) away from the astronomic clock and the Old Town Square. Because you're so close, you can wake up early, have breakfast, walk to the square and literally have it to yourself, along with the few locals who are going to work or opening up their shops and before all the hordes of tourists arrive. The neighborhood is so historical with its cobblestone streets, narrow passageways and medieval buildings. Having passed a number of the larger (chain) hotels on our walk from the airport shuttle drop-off point to Savic, I can tell you that it's in a much better location than those other (probably more expensive) guys. There are plenty of restaurants nearby if you choose not to eat at the hotel (we only had one meal there besides breakfast). There's also a small convenience store right outside the dining terrace, handy for picking up water, drinks, snacks, etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dakine77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, Virginia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Upon arrival to the Savic Hotel we were warmly greeted by Lenka and upon our departure had a considerate morning breakfast from Tomas. In between the housekeeping staff kept our room in great condition, breakfasts remained consistent and offered a wide variety of foods, and this small, boutique hotel won our hearts forever. Thank you for making this honeymoon a once in a lifetime experience. We would return in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: #207 was a great room, but overlooked a street with three bars and couple knick-knack shops. Someti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

What a gem of a hotel. My wife booked (always after TA search) this and we have been delighted with it. Taxi waiting for us at airport, recommend this! Driver was great and spoke good English. Reception staff very helpful and welcoming especially Tomas.

Lovely boutique hotel brilliant location to old square, river and 15 min walk from castle. Rooms lovely and comfy. Early morning deliveries on cobbled stones bit noisy so wear ear plugs that they provide!

Recommend walk over Charles bridge to castle one day and then do it again but head to the funicular (buy cheapest ticket as only one way)and visit the viewing tower. Then walk to castle via park and monastery to sample beers at St Norbert's. Lovely jubbly!

Would give boats trips a miss as bit naff. Buy one day tram ticket and just go! Tram 22 does circuit of city. Great way To see other side of Prague?

Very happy time on Prague. Loved it!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank mybestfriendsparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Just returned from Prague and stayed at the Savic hotel. Loved it! I had read the reviews before and was not disappointed with my stay. Nice touch the welcome drink. Room was lovely. Warm and cosy, spotlessly clean, fluffy towels, coffee/tea making facilities, very friendly staff. Will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: you will be thrilled with any of the rooms, they are all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maureen5583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights while the Christmas Market was on. We'd emailed the hotel directly to arrange a taxi from the airport which I think worked out less than £25.
We had also requested a double room which when we arrived had gone leaving just a twin however there was one available the following day which we did move to. We don't normally bother but with us emailing and the request confirmed we did take that option. Both rooms were a good size, lovely and clean. Loved the nespresso machine and little extras in the bathroom.
With the building being old there's lots of interesting fixtures huge ceilings huge doors couldn't fault it at all.
Breakfast had so much choice eggs, cereals, smoked salmon, fresh fruit the list was endless.
We had a rough idea where the hotel was as we've been to Prague before, just round the corner from the old square and 5 minutes from the Charles bridge.
We would definitely look at booking this hotel again we had a really lovely stay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Stanley14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

My husband and I were celebrating our second part of our honeymoon in Prague. We stayed in Savic 3 nights for New Year's celebrations.

Since the moment we entered the hotel Mira made us feel welcomed. She was extremely friendly through our whole stay. Check in was quick and she gave us the opportunity to choose a room due to our request to be in a quiet one. We were given room 202. Tomasz was also very kind and helpful. (Both of them are great assets for the hotel)

The room was much bigger than we expected. It had high ceilings and it was spotless.There was wi-fi in the room as well an espresso machine (both complementary). The bathroom was big and had all the toiletries (even though they were not replaced a single day). The bed was just PERFECT!!

Breakfast was good and gave us the chance of having freshly made eggs every morning. The staff was attentive and polite.

We would definitely stay again in Savic because of their great staff and location!

I would not recommend their restaurant. High prices for poor quality food.

Room Tip: 202 is quiet but smells of food!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AdetBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#21 of 649 in Prague
1,288 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 649 in Prague
1,699 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#31 of 649 in Prague
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#12 of 649 in Prague
732 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#79 of 649 in Prague
1,507 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#57 of 649 in Prague
2,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savic Hotel

Property: Savic Hotel
Address: Jilska 235/7, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Prague
#26 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#27 Family Hotel in Prague
#32 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Savic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gothic and Renaissance building, which has in it the original ceiling in certain parts dating to the year 1319, is one of few in Prague. The Savic Hotel is situated in the heart of the city centre at Old Town Square, just a few steps away, on the cobbled streets, from the famous Astronomical Clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Fastbooking, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Savic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savic Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing