We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good sleep in central Prague”
Review of Savic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Savic Hotel
Ranked #36 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights while in Prague and I have to say we slept super well! We stayed on the third floor. The hotel is right in the centre of town, is nicely decorated and has a quite complete breakfast. I think the rooms (at least our room) could do with some paintings on the walls as it felt a bit cold although it was comfortable and that's what really matters. Everyone in the reviews seems to rave about breakfast - I thought it was ok like any other good hotel but nothing special to be honest.

All in all a good place to stay if you want to sleep well and be central in Prague.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rupre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

892 - 898 of 2,551 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

My first time back to Prague in 20 years and what a change. The Savic Hotel opened four years ago and is a restored ancient building. I was upgraded to a junior suite which was huge, four post comfortable bed, well appointed bathroom, and parquet floors. I'm giving Savic 5-stars as its probably not fair to compare with 5 starts in London or New York, but i really don't think you will be disappointed. The staff are very friendly, the location is in old town, with easy access to all the sights. WiFi is free and fast.

Room Tip: Junior Suite (room 208) is nice, but you have to climb a few stairs from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dannyindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Savic hotel is probably the best hotel in Prague. First of all it is in the heart of Prague. It takes only 3-4 minutes to Charles Bridge. Our room was perfect. Breakfast is way ahead of europe standarts. Staff is very helpful and friendly. I highly recommend this hotel to everyone who is going to stay in Prague.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Kerem O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Our family group of 7 (including 2 80yo+) stayed at this Savic for 4 nights in May 2014.
When we checked in we were quite exhausted after travel from Australia but the receptionist was patient and we got all our registrations done.
After reading previous reviews we were concious of the extra stairs that needed to be climbed to the top floor room and we THOUGHT (expected) that the elevator would be all that was needed to access the lower rooms. WRONG !
We were allocated rooms 301, 303 and 403 - all of which required scaling a flight of AT LEAST 12 stairs - after riding the elevator to the 3rd floor. My 80yo parents-in-law had difficult with those stairs and we ALL had difficult lugging our 25kg bags BY OURSELVES to our rooms.
Yes - NO BELL HOP (or any assistance offered)

We had the top floor suite - which involved a steep flight of 15+ steps.
Bed was large and generally comfortable - tho a little too soft for me.
The bathroom was large tho the shower was small and leaked badly onto the bathroom floor.
The hotel breakfasts were great - our rate included breakfast - but the WIFI was very weak in the restaurant - whilst being fine in our rooms - and WIFI was included in the room rate.
The hotel location was great - as noted by others.

The biggest compliment I can give is to the hotel receptionist (whose name escapes me) who saved my butt by solving a transport problem I had getting the group to Budapest when our train plans fell apart. With some quick thinking and mouse clicks she booked us all on a Student Agency bus which got us to Budapest almost at the same time as the train would have and in time to connect to our Avalon River cruise.

Thanks a million !

Room Tip: Remember that there are stairs to climb to the 3rd floor and above rooms ! Ask how many before book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The hotel itself is a renovated 13th century monastery and is therefore boutique in nature and quirky in design. It has 27 bedrooms and claims to be a 4 star hotel.

We were greeted on arrival with a glass of fresh orange juice and the receptionist took time to welcome us to Prague, offering maps and offering to assist with the booking of restaurants, taxis etc.

We chose a superior room which offered greater floor space than standard. The room we were directed to on the first floor had low ceilings and small windows which offered little natural light as it overlooked the side street which was very narrow and had a tall building opposite. Furniture is dark and heavy with a brown/black marble bathroom giving the whole room a very dark appearance. Air Conditioning units (guest controlled) have been added but these are very noisy. A small selection of toiletries are available and were replenished daily.

Breakfast was a poor affair taken in a small conservatory area off the main reception. A small selection of cooked meats and fruit with a hot option of the usual bacon, sausage etc. Often, the fruit etc. was not replenished and choice was even more limited. It would appear they have one person who is responsible for preparation of all the breakfast items and at busy times they struggled to cope. The number of tables is limited meaning some people took their breakfast in the main restaurant.

The hotel itself is in the heart of the old town, the main square being 5 minutes’ walk away – therefore it is ideally situated for the main tourist attractions. That said, at weekend the area is full of stag and hen parties and can get very noisy after 10pm at night. The noise did not overly disturb us but the whole area can seem very overwhelming, noisy and thronged with people from dawn to dusk.

Overall a nice boutique style hotel in a central location but in our opinion only worthy of 3 stars.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanRoger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Just 5 minutes from the main square in the old town. Very nice room, however as it was an attic room with a sloping roof, there were some bumps to the head (perhaps ask to be in a roof with full height ceilings if you are tall!). Staff are friendly & helpful. Really appreciated the cool drink at check in after hauling luggage around on a 35degree day! Good buffet breakfast.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank emma_siobhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Just returned from break in prague,stayed at Savic hotel,marvellous!!very friendly staff, special thanks to Mira and Tomas. We went to celebrate my husbands 70th birthday,as a surprise there was a lovely bottle of sparkling rose wine in the room when we returned from a trip, thankyou to the Savic hotel. It was spotlessly clean, lovely food and helpful staff, designer toiletries so you really can travel light, Nothing was too much trouble. The room was quiet and comfortable. I want to return !!. Their restaurant food was excellent and good value. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel -----

Room Tip: Only having stayed in the one room, maybe request one on the first or second floor, excellent lift t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank hilda6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#7 of 646 in Prague
1,796 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#73 of 646 in Prague
1,603 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Praha
Grand Hotel Praha
#119 of 646 in Prague
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#20 of 646 in Prague
1,354 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#29 of 646 in Prague
2,527 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 646 in Prague
2,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savic Hotel

Address: Jilska 235/7, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Prague
#23 Family Hotel in Prague
#26 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#33 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £52 - £497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Savic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gothic and Renaissance building, which has in it the original ceiling in certain parts dating to the year 1319, is one of few in Prague. The Savic Hotel is situated in the heart of the city centre at Old Town Square, just a few steps away, on the cobbled streets, from the famous Astronomical Clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Savic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savic Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing