We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel”
Review of Savic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Savic Hotel
Ranked #36 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2009

I had a wonderful time at this newly renovated and very stylish hotel right in the heart of of Prague. The room, staff and food was just fantastic! The Savic hotel is the place to stay whenever you are in Prague! A great experience in every respect.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
Thank FoodAdvisor13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,782 - 1,788 of 2,515 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2009

The Savic hotel is the most delightful hotel! I read about it on Trip Advisor, and it exceeded my expectations! My husband and I stayed there for 4 nights in January 2009, and will certainly go back if we go to Prague again. The staff were friendly, professional and always eager to help. Our room was exquisite, the furniture was impeccable, and the hotel, once a residence of a King, is located in the heart of Old Town, about a block from Old Town Sqaure. The only gripe I had was at night we could hear the people shouting from the pubs. The room does come with an iPod docking station, so could listen to our music without earphone for once! Prague was covered with snow, and it must be the most romantic city I've ever been to.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rikki_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2009

Visited Prague from the 4-7th Dec with 3 other ladies. We had originally booked a twin & a double room but our party changed & so I contacted the hotel about a week before asking if they could make it 2 twin rooms. They emailed me back fairly promptly & they also organized an airport pickup for a cost of 800crown (€30 approx) which was great.

Rooms were lovely & spacious- very comfortable beds. Great bathrooms everything you could possibly need- L'Occitane products were a nice touch. They provide proper hair dryers which was great.
There is also tea/coffee making facilities in the room which isn’t mentioned on their website (I think).
Front desk staff were really lovely & friendly- welcome drink when we arrived- map & lots of info on the city given without us even asking. All major sights pointed out & any questions we had answered.
Location of this hotel is the real seller. My room overlooked the side street which you walk down to get to the old town square (room 305). You literally walk out the hotel door head right & at the end of that little lane turn left & go up that street about 300m & you're in the square. There was a Christmas market here but it was small enough. If you go down the lane at the Bohemia Crystal shop you'll come out at Wenceslas Square in between you'll find a slightly bigger market with more of a choice- this market is actually there all year round.
Breakfast in the morning was great- good buffet selection & they also have a small menu on the table which you can order from. We also had dinner in the hotel on the first night. Food was lovely but service incredibly slow. We asked for dessert menu which was given to us but after about 30mins nobody had come back to take our order so we just got up & paid & left. It was busy & they seemed to be really short staffed!

BEWARE OF TAXI'S- is my warning. It was our last day & after getting several taxis around the city (we had an elderly lady with us so for longer walks we opted to get taxis to save her legs!) which never cost us anything over 200crown we decided after walking around Prague Castle to get a taxi from there back to the old town square. In the grounds of the castle there was 2 taxis waiting- we got into one & the driver pointed at this sheet with prices on it- he ''apparently'' told us that it was 95crown per klm or something but I took it up that he was saying it would cost 90crown & then 95 after that- so coming in roughly at about 200crown. We agreed & off we went. He dropped us off just short of the square claiming he couldn’t go any further with the traffic & then asked us for 750crown (almost €30) I tried to argue with him but he was having none of it so reluctantly we handed over the money. I know we should have agreed a price before we got in but as we had gotten a taxi up to the castle we presumed it would cost us the same!

Also- for souvenirs if you walk down the streets away from the major attractions the local shops are half the price. I really wanted a big 10piece wooden worry doll which I priced in a shop on the first day- they wanted 1800crown for it. On the second day we wandered out the hotel door & headed left down the street. I went into a shop called the Winehouse for a bottle of water & they were selling the same big dolls for 249crown so I got one for €10 instead of €70!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happiest-on-hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2009

Went to Prague for a long Weekend with my Wife, and we stayed in the Savic Hotel. The Hotel is in a great location on a side street of the Old Town Square. The rooms are just Fab and the Staff are both friendly and professional. I Would highly recommend a stay in this Hotel if you are planning a trip to Prague.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AAFitep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2009

Just had a great weekend in Prague. the Hotel Savic is in a prime location for the town center. It's staff were friendly and spoke good English. The room we had was a double and was clean and comfortable. I can recommend this hotel as good value for money.
A couple of points about Prague. When eating out in restaurants, watch your bill, on both nights we ate out and experienced major problems with over charging and it was not just us as other groups were having the same problems. Be prepared for for long waits between courses as well.
If you like a bit of history and charm, I would highly recommend Prague as a great city.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GYMEE12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2009

Savic hotel and its partner restaurant Indian Jewel are very well placed in the heart of Prague. The staff is very friendly and they will greet you very pleasantly.
The cuisine at indian jewel is excellent and the service as well. Do visit it, and get a multicultural experience! Indian atmosphere in central europe!

Must visit for a good time!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetrotter221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2009

The building is ancient but the hotel has been completely renovated and the amenities are superb. The Savic Hotel staff treated us with the same consideration you would expect from family. The owners have spent a vast amount of money improving the property to 4 or 5 star catagory. Located close to the center of "Old Town", it is within easy walking distance to most the points of interest. It was a remarkable experience and I can heartily recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Prague.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OldWorldHistorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#10 of 648 in Prague
1,765 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#20 of 648 in Prague
1,334 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#32 of 648 in Prague
1,211 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#27 of 648 in Prague
2,456 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Praha
Grand Hotel Praha
#108 of 648 in Prague
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savic Hotel

Address: Jilska 235/7, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Prague
#26 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#27 Family Hotel in Prague
#33 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £69 - £354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Savic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gothic and Renaissance building, which has in it the original ceiling in certain parts dating to the year 1319, is one of few in Prague. The Savic Hotel is situated in the heart of the city centre at Old Town Square, just a few steps away, on the cobbled streets, from the famous Astronomical Clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Savic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savic Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing