We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location"”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Savic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Savic Hotel
Ranked #32 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Location"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2010

Great location, walking distance from most major touristic sites.
Great hotel for the price, helpfull front desk staff. The only issue is the same i saw in other review, about the air conditioner. Since it suppossed to be a cold weather, ther AC where off, but the weather were nice and the room stayed a little hot.
Then, we had to open the windows to refresh, wich made the room a little noiser because of the street.
Would recomend.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylbanno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,936
    410
    51
    14
    7
See reviews for
263
1,634
68
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

Transfered to this hotel for 2 days following a business trip in a different hotel. What a wodnerful bargain! I paid ~$115 per night and the hotel was right in the heart of the city. A few steps out the door and you are in Old Town Square. A breif walk in the opposite direction and you are at Charles Bridge with views of the Prague Castle. Complimentary (excellent) in-room coffee and breakfast each day which was also quite good (incl. an omelette bar).

This is an enchanting city and what a pleasure it was to wander around everywhere and feel almost like a local. The front desk staff were extremely helpful and always willing to assist in any way possible. They helped me book last minute tours and find anything or place I needed.

The room was quite charming - although I was on the 4th floor which is in the rafters and I did bump my head once (a couple beams come pretty low in some spots) but the look of the room was quite pretty. Very comfortable bed, excellent bathroom. (Although had to duck in the shower - again because of the slanting ceiling). The ceiling was not a problem for me - just if you don't want to deal with it book a room on the 3rd floor. I had to climb a separate set of stairs to reach my room as the elevator only went to the 3rd floor. Again not a problem for me but others may wish to avoid.

My only complaint was that they do push their car service on you - which is a great alternative and I did use it for my hotel transfer. However, when I had to leave for the airport I had very little cash left so I specifically requested a taxi (was a bit cheaper than the car service) and they booked the car service anyway, insisting that it was what I had requested (although it specifically was not). Once I explained the situation they arranged an alternative for me quickly and without any attitude. Very nice.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJFunTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

My wife and I stayed 3 nights here and could not have been more pleased. We celebrated our 25th anniversary and the hotel acknowledged this with a bottle of champagne sent to our room. Just an excellent location to so many things. We walked everywhere including Hradcany Castle. It is less than 10 minutes walk to the Charles Bridge and the astronomical clock and you are right in the heart of Old Town with its shops and entertainment. We ate at the hotel and had a wonderful meal there. We stayed in room 307 and it was the nicest room we stayed in during our 5 weeks in Europe. The staff could not have been more accommodating to any of our needs and was extremely professional. Vera was most helpful at the reception desk. The breakfast came with the room and we were able to get an omelette each morning. When we checked in we went to our room and it was occupied. Two room attendents saw this and immediately escorted us to the correct room and would took our luggage to it. They then called reception and straightened everything out in a matter of minutes. Just an excellent all around staff. The only negative comment I can make is that it is a little loud at night because you are right in the heart of so much late night activity but don't let that stop you from staying here. Kudos to everyone at this very lovely hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

On arrival a welcome drink, we had an attick room on 4th. floor lift only goes
to 3rd. floor but no problem as cases are taken up for you. The rooms are beautiful,
immaculate and exude quality. The staff are first class and the location is perfect
in the center of the old town. Thank you Savic for a wonderfully relaxing stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

Perfect Location!! Only 2 minutes away from Old Town Square. This seemed to be the most popular tourist attraction in Prague near the Astronomical Clock.
Getting there......all you need is a 75 minute ticket at the cost of 26czk (£1 each) available from the bus kiosk at the airport facing arrivals. It's not worth getting a 3 or 5 day pass as walking is the best way to get around. At the same time you can get your return tickets. The bus to catch to Staremestska is the 119 which is on the right hand side immediately after exiting from the airport building. This bus will take you to the Metro station from where you will need to get on the Green Line to Mustek. A 10 minute walk will get you to the Savic. It is a good idea to take a map with you; I got one that was attached to a Prague Guide Book from the Library. Do not get a taxi as this will cost you around £50 return instead of £4 return for 2 people. Using public transport also gives you an insight of the outskirts of Prague.
Arriving there......we were greeted with the friendliest front desk staff we have ever encountered and a glass of Bohemian Sec chilled wine. We were given half an hour of information that proved to be very useful. We also enquired about local eating places at this point and were given very sound advice.
The room.....was of a 5 star decor. It was very spacious, immaculately clean and the bed was very comfortable. The room was warm and equipped with an iPod docking station (take your iPod), coffee/hot water machine. There is a large Samsung flat screen TV on the wall where you can purchase movies. Bathroom toiletries were provided apart from hair conditioner and the hair dryer was better than mine! A comb was provided and a clothes brush. The only thing we had to ask for was the iron and board which was brought straight up to our room. The iron was dirty and didn’t really work too well (the only negative point about the hotel, minor I know but if ironing a white shirt, you could end up with a brown streak on it!) The wardrobe even had a light inside it! There were also lower wall lights. A safe was provided too, easy to use. The furniture is grand and comfortable throughout the hotel.
Breakfast......is first class and plentiful served between 0730 and 1030. There is a bottle of Bohemian Sec hidden on the outside of the bar area chilled on ice if you fancy a glass with your breakfast. Only we were told on the first morning there was none left and was disappointed!! I think it depends on who you are and which staff are on duty, as this happened on our second day and another bottle was opened for someone else!!!
Petrin Hill...don’t bother, waste of time and money, you have to pay to use the loo but the cafe is nice, quite a steep walk up there too!!
Zizkov TV Tower....don’t bother, waste of time, not much to see and a horrible building....we thought it was closed!! £10 and we were in there 10 minutes!! Again we bought transport tickets from the little kiosk that sold papers etc at the front of the tram stop which cost 18czk (75p).
Charles Bridge....fabulous to walk over and see all the stalls and entertainment.
Old Town Square.....fabulous! Lots going on here including a gang of pick-pockets that can be observed working whilst watching from one of the cafes facing the Astronomical Clock, if you use these cafes on the square, expect to pay an astronomical bill!! The heaters are cosy and the blankets provided but I don’t expect to pay their yearly gas bill in a couple of hours. The gang is fascinating to watch as they pretend not to know each other, pose as tourists and swap around in a well planned operation. We never actually observed any thefts but it was quite clear what was going on.
We entered the U Prince hotel from the front and took the lift at the rear of the hotel which took us up to the terrace from where you could have a drink and something to eat as long as you have plenty of money!!
You must visit the restaurant that was recommended to us by the front desk called kolkovna. They will give you directions, easy to find and not too far. The price was good and the food perfect. Lots of locals use this place too which is what we wanted.
We found a pub called Molly Malones, not far from the hotel, they serve the best chicken wings we have ever tasted and cheesy chips but we found it to be pricey! Frank, the owner was very friendly.
Another Irish bar to visit was The Dubliner which had 14 TV screens in there, this bar was tucked away in Tyn Square.
We tried lots of ‘Prague’, Honey Cake, Becherovka ( a herbal liquer) and Slivovice (Plum Brandy) (they also do it in Pear) Trdelnik (Czech bread) and Grog (Tea, brandy and lemon) and krosowice dark beer. Absinth we didn’t try at 70% proof!!!!!
The George and Dragon just off the Old Town Square was fabulous! The food was delicious, the service was good, and football was shown as well as nightly entertainment.

Leaving.......same way as getting there but in reverse. Easyjet do not open their desks until 2 hours before but there are eating and drinking places......prices on par with the Old Town Square.
Summary.....we had a fabulous time, Prague was pricey, the hotel was PERFECT and if we could move the hotel around to every place we visit we would take it with us! Keep some change to one side for the use of toilets as you have to pay to use them everywhere!!Prague is very historical and not really our cup of tea. We have seen it for ourselves and don’t think we will go again. There are a lot of homeless people in Prague to who live out the dustbins.
Our last morning there the alarm clock went off, not sure if it was set purposely?? But we were up anyhow.
And most importantly ladies......you can manage with heels as long as they have a thick heel, take stilettos and you will ruin them, there are cobbles all over Prague!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scorpio40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

Quite simply in terms of value for money, this is simply the best hotel I have ever stayed in. The location is perfect, with the hotel in easy walking distance of all the major sites. The room we stayed in was extremely big and comfortable. I must commend the staff who are amongst the friendliest I have ever met.

In summary, do not consider another hotel in Prague!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lancellot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2010

If you want to be in the heart of the Old Town then this hotel is just for you. The staff were extremely friendly and helpfull at all times especially at reception. Nothing was too much trouble and they went out of their way to assist us. We have travelled around the world and the cleanliness was on a par with 5 star hotels that we have stayed in. If we go to Prague again we would definitely stay at the Savic again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#19 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#10 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#38 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#31 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,176 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#88 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savic Hotel

Property: Savic Hotel
Address: Jilska 235/7, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Prague
#26 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#27 Family Hotel in Prague
#28 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Savic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gothic and Renaissance building, which has in it the original ceiling in certain parts dating to the year 1319, is one of few in Prague. The Savic Hotel is situated in the heart of the city centre at Old Town Square, just a few steps away, on the cobbled streets, from the famous Astronomical Clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Savic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savic Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing