We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel!!”
Review of Savic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Savic Hotel
Ranked #35 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Brilliant Hotel!!”
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Can safely say that the Savic Hotel is a "Little Gem". Myself and my girlfriend stayed here for three nights recently from 25 january 2011 and had an absolutely superb stay. While the hotel is in the perfect location to access everything the city of Prague has to offer, and the rooms were immaculately furnished, with first rate facilities, it was the staff at the hotel that made our stay truly enjoyable!!

From the moment we arrived at the hotel on our first night we were made to feel extremely welcome (including a complimentary beer/wine/juice/soda etc) and the reception staff member went out of her way to explain everything available to us both within the hotel, and in the surrounding area. Not that she left anything out, but had we had any questions at all I have no doubt she would have been able to answer them.

Each of the staff members that we came into contact with at the front desk were extremely helpful in fact, whenever we needed recommendations for restaurants (regardless of our preferred cuisine that night), cafes, bars etc......and we were never left disappointed!!

I could go on about a number of other ways in which our stay in Prague was enhanced by this Hotel and its friendly and helpful staff (the bed, the breakfast, the cleanliness, the 24 hour access), but rather than bore you, I would simply suggest you stay here for as little or as long as you can...because if I ever make it back to Prague for another visit, I most certainly will be!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danjstaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,961
    427
    54
    14
    7
See reviews for
266
1,660
73
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Redland City
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

My daughter and I spent four days over Christmas in Prague and stayed in the Savic Hotel . We had traveled through Italy, Germany, Austria before choosing Prague for our white Christmas and we couldn't have chosen a friendlier hotel than the Savic. The rooms were very clean and roomy with large comfy beds to rest and rejuvenate our tired bodies. A lovely breakfast was included every morning, served by a smiling staff. The reception staff deserve special mention as they were very e helpful and friendly,especially considering that they were working over Christmas.Bringing us a drink when we arrived, after a long day of training from Austria was very thoughtful and appreciated. The location was convenient and central to everything we wanted to experience in Prague. We enjoyed our stay very much and only wish that Australia was not so far away from this wonderful winter playground. Oh and thank you for the Christmas present left in our r room on Christmas day!
Helen and Lauren from Australia

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hulloAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2011

This hotel is very well situated to visit all the attractions in the centre of the old town. Our room was very luxurious with a nice big bed and plenty of storage for clothes. There was little noise from the street or hotel itself, so was quite relaxing. The ensuite bathroom was great, lovely powerful shower with plenty of hot water and our towels changed everyday. We had to ask for help as the room was sweltering hot. It seemed the thermostat wasn't working in our room so we had to sleep without covers to cope with the heat. I would recommend lots of 'zipped/buttoned' layers for visits to Prague in the winter as it is so warm inside restaurants etc you do need to 'de-layer'. The staff in the hotel are very friendly and all speak adequate to good English which is very helpful as I have no clue how to even say hello in Czech!. The buffet breakfast was delicious with lots of choice. A bit skimpy on the butter to my mind but still a lovely buffet. Don't forget to ask the chef for your eggs to be cooked for you...scrambled, omelette, poached etc.. as it is not obvious that this service is available. Especially on your first morning when you are a little unsure what is available and what their system is. One drawback of the hotel and Prague itself is that they allow smokers to smoke inside. This is something that is abhorrent to me as an anti-smoker. On entering the bedroom for the first time I could smell tobacco which was a little disheartening. It must have filtered up somehow from the restaurant or lounge below. They (hotel and other restaurants) do try to segregate smokers from non-smokers but having got used to the ban on smoking in public places in England, I am used to 'eating out' in a smoke free environment. So when eating out in Prague be aware to ask for a non-smoking table if you feel the same as me. This is a lovely hotel and I would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendyg63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2011

Wonderful hotel for a quiet break in Prague, it's central location makes it ideal for sight seeing in the atmospheric old town. The excellent reception staff made us feel like long lost friends rather than first-time guests. The spacious and well equiped room had everything we needed, including a lovely comfortable bed (something that can often be disapointing) and a fantastic shower!! The buffet breakfasts were plentiful and offered tremendous variety, a perfect way to start a day of sight-seeing. With a plentiful supply of good restaurants and bars right outside the door, is there a Hotel that could offer more?

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2011

Travelled to Prague whilst visiting UK during December/January. The location of the hotel was fantastic. We were virtually around the corner from the Old Town Square and the Astronomical Clock. Wencelas Square was slightly further on, but within easy walking distance.

On our arrival, the young lady at Reception (we didn't get her name, but she was blonde) gave us all the information we needed to enjoy our four night stay. Very helpful.

Some of the original features could still be seen inside the hotel and in the bedroom. The only downside was my adult daughter's room. We were on the third floor; she was on the fourth in the attic. The lift only went so far and then she had to walk up some steep stairs. Her ceiling was very low and the location of the room wouldn't have been suitable for us or someone older or taller. But other than that, no problems. Clean rooms, clean bathrooms.

We had a full English breakfast buffet every morning. Lots of restaurants in and around the area, so we didn't get a chance to try U Dominikana, the hotel's restaurant. Probably one of the reasons was that it wasn't often busy and there wasn't much of an atmosphere inside, so we tended to go for busier restaurants.

The only other downside - if you can call it that - with regard to the location - but not the fault of the hotel, was all the tacky little touristy shops selling cheap tatt. They all sold the same stuff, eg fur hats, etc music blaring out of each one of them. A shame because they brought that ancient area down.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemini16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2011

great hotel just 2 mins to old town square with fantastic rooms and staff always happy to help with any questions, will definately be booking here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank dazblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexleyheath
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Just had a weekend in the Hotel Savic.We were amazed at the size or the hotel room.It had beautiful high ceilings and it was perfectly designed and decorated.The bathroom was luxurious with beautiful marble tiles and a lovely bath and shower.It was in the perfect location,a few minutes to the Old Town Square and a few minutes to The Carles Bridge.Reception staff were very welcoming as were the breakfast staff.We really liked this hotel as it still maintains a lovely relaxed atmosphere.We are recommending it to our friends and would recommend to you!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monty101Bexleyheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#21 of 649 in Prague
1,288 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 649 in Prague
1,699 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#31 of 649 in Prague
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#12 of 649 in Prague
731 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#79 of 649 in Prague
1,507 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#57 of 649 in Prague
2,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savic Hotel

Property: Savic Hotel
Address: Jilska 235/7, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Prague
#26 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#27 Family Hotel in Prague
#32 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Savic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gothic and Renaissance building, which has in it the original ceiling in certain parts dating to the year 1319, is one of few in Prague. The Savic Hotel is situated in the heart of the city centre at Old Town Square, just a few steps away, on the cobbled streets, from the famous Astronomical Clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Fastbooking, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Savic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savic Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing