We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, good rooms and good breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sovereign

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sovereign
Ranked #94 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location, good rooms and good breakfast!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The hotel stay was excellent and it was one of the best hotel we had stayed throughout our 16 days trip in Europe. Breakfast was included in our room stay and it was more than adequate. Wifi was free and working good. The room was spacious and comfortable and had all the amenities that we needed like mini bar fridge, kettle and safe deposit box. They also offer various kinds of tea bags in the room that was complimentary! It was near to the central station and the wenceslas square but yet it is located on a quiet street which is great for a peaceful night sleep.

We had lunch in the hotel restaurant as well on the day of our check in as our room was not ready yet. The food was delicious and reasonably priced.

The only not so good point was that the aircon was not working as it should be. It was quite hot and stuffy and we had to open the windows but even so, my hubby was still sweating in perspiration when he slept at night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeslyn_tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    273
    44
    13
    9
See reviews for
83
403
55
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Hotel is in a very central location near to lots of bars and resturants and only about a 15 min walk to the Old Town and Charles bridge. The staff were very freindly and professional, the rooms were very clean and there was a lovely breakfast buffet in the mornings. The only negative was the bar area, it wasnt really sure if it was a bar or resturant. Would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dom1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Really good staff. Very friendly and pointed some good restaurants and places to hang out.
Rooms were really good and always cleaned.
The only compliant i have is about breakfast. Was a little bit poor. Not a great variation of food.
It's a little bit expensive but it's worth

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank João C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I chose this hotel due to its central location (just off Wenceslas Square) and top reviews from tripadvisor. Was I disappointed? Yes, a little. While this hotel was spotless and food (breakfast and dinner) very satisfactory, I think the place lacked an ambiance. The décor was bland (very hygienic) and sparse. For a city hotel, the Sovereign offered a fabulous location for a reasonable price, but would some more colour and updated décor be too much to ask?
(**Service was mixed - from excellent service from most staff, but one or two members being less than helpful. . .)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed at the hotel for two nights and it was really perfect. The location was good (close to the train station as I was coming in via train), and close to all of the usual sights. The breakfast was perfect to start the day. The room was clean, comfortable- perfect after a day walking al over Prague. Additionally, the restaurant has really good food.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferJCoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This hotel was really amazing, the stuff very helpful and polite.
It's located in the center of prague, which I think was really good.
You can walk from the hotel to the malls and sights.
Overall, I enjoyed my staying at this hotel and I'm satisfied from the breakfast.
If I'll ever visit prague again, I'll choose this hotel again for sure!

Room Tip: If you're couple, make sure your bed is a one bid beg and not 2 singles beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherylb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodos
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The rooms are spacious and clean. They have soundproof windows, which is very important, because the center of Prague is very busy. The hotel staff was very professiornal and helpfull. Breakfast buffet was nice. The hotel restaurant is also recommendable. Their speciality is roasted duck with dumpling.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid street noise, book a courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank modestae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Yasmin
Hotel Yasmin
#104 of 670 in Prague
1,005 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Falkensteiner Hotel Maria Prag
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Elysee
Hotel Elysee
#152 of 670 in Prague
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#78 of 670 in Prague
687 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
The ICON Hotel & Lounge
The ICON Hotel & Lounge
#55 of 670 in Prague
1,260 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Exe City Park Prague
Exe City Park Prague
#164 of 670 in Prague
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sovereign? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sovereign

Property: Hotel Sovereign
Address: Politickych veznu 16 | Nove Mesto, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#75 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#76 Business Hotel in Prague
#82 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#110 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sovereign 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sovereign reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sovereign Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing