We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The B&B was not operating ... only apartments” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charles Bridge Bed And Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Charles Bridge Bed And Breakfast
Ranked #245 of 368 Prague B&B and Inns
Tasmania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The B&B was not operating ... only apartments”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2009

A terrible experience! The B&B was closed, we were treated quite badly, and ended up leaving the hotel to stay somewhere else. We would recommend you find another place to stay based on our experience.
The details: we arrived at 3pm for a 3 day stay in romantic Prague, traveling with our 6 month old daughter. We had arranged a booking over a month earlier with the Charles Bridge B&B and paid by credit card a deposit for the first night.
We were a little shocked when arriving at the hotel to discover that the reception looked like a deserted building (bankrupt business?) as the windows were covered in paper, there was no door handle on door, and importantly - no sign or notice about what was happening. A tenant of the building who happened to exit nearby told us it had been like that for about 21 days. We had not mobile phone reception so couldn’t immediately call them (with our booking info) and suspected the worst so went to a nearby hotel to see if they had rooms available, and if they could call the Charles Bridge people for us. They did call and we were told to wait and someone would come to us in 20 minutes. A woman, who spoke no english, turned up and ignored us while talking on a mobile phone then handed it to us. The guy on the phone told us that they had an apartment prepared for us nearby, and that they had tried to call us in the morning (when we were on the plane traveling to Prague) to tell us of the change, and that a notice had been put on the door of the reception (but was mysteriously missing). He also said that they had closed the reception “for a few days” for renovations.
We explained that we were not happy and wanted to get our daughter settled as soon as possible, so would prefer to cancel our booking (an apartment was not appealing) and stay in the hotel where we were sitting. He was persistent and very unenthusiastic about cancelling the booking or refunding money. We were very annoyed and not confident of dealing with these people, but went to the apartment to take a look. It was in a regular building, with a dark stairwell characterised by the garbage bins next to the entrance door. The apartment was on the first floor (so the baby carriage/pram would have to go up those stairs every trip out. The apartment was ok, but plain and boring. Breakfast was to be delivered in the morning (not a buffet at the b&b), and we have no idea if there was any internet (which we wanted). We felt uneasy about the whole situation, and were very disappointed that we didn't get the charming B&B experience we were after.
With further discussions on the mobile phone with the guy, we told them we didn't want the apartment, and did want a refund of our 1st night deposit as they were not offering the product that we had booked. He again refused, saying that they had tried to contact us (not their fault that they failed… ) and that they were offering us something “better” because it usually cost more. He was also very much focused on the fact that we must have been cancelling because we had found a better offer at the hotel where we had been forced to go to by them in the first place (in reality, that hotel was more expensive but we were happy to have a room).
We stated that we were cancelling our booking and would be in touch to arrange a refund. (I am doubtful of getting the money back, and am a little worried they will charge my credit card for the cost of the whole booking).
We then left the apartment and found a delightful small hotel nearby with a cafe/wine bar downstairs (that is also the location for the great breakfast buffet), lovely rooms with bath, fast internet, and the option to leave our baby carriage/pram in the lobby-level luggage room. Service was excellent from the minute we walked in the door (with a rather jaded view of Prague accommodation providers).
So we recommend you find an alternate accommodation provider until reviews indicate that these people have got their business sorted out (or they go out of business).
We stayed at Hotel Pinot and were very happy there.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelling_Taswegans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    12
    13
    10
    8
See reviews for
5
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

we were supposed to stay at the bed and breakfast but on our arrival we had been "Forgotten" about and we had no room. it was ten o'clock at night when we arrived and just wanted to get to our beds. we were travelling with an agency who were fantastic and as the bed and breakfast just washed their hands of us our travel company sorted us out with a fantastic apartment in old town instead. we never saw the inside of the B&B but were informed by the agency that this had happened the week before and they were considering removing this place as holiday accomodation due to poor management. prague is amazing - apollo agency is amazing but the B&B is terrible as they dont know when guests are booked in for!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lil-feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2009

Apart from a good location and good price, this place is not recommendable! The quality of the bed made sleeping directly on the floor a real luxury. The room and bathroom were dusty. The personnell (one) was uninterested and spent the time studying and chatting on internet. Dirty laundry lying in the starecase for days. Rudimentary breakfast. We asked for a glass of water but could not get any because "that was not part of the beakfast".

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vildenvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2008

We booked a 2bedroom apartment for $113cdn a night at the Charles Bridge B&B.
Arriving after reception had closed, the receptionist was waiting by the main door of the B&B to walk us to the apartment a block away.

A comfortable stay, clean rooms, clean bathroom, and kitchen. Nice to have space and not a tiny hotel room.

Breakfast is at the B&B from 8:40am to 11am. Basic European breakfast of yogurt, cereal, deli meats, and cheese.

The Charles Bridge B&B is literally at the Historic Charles Bridge. It was so wonderful to walk across the bridge everyday into the Old Town Prague.
It is also convenient to walk to the Palace from the B&B.

There r some great restuarants w/ good prices arnd the B&B.

Look up Prague Airport Transfer to go to and from the airport. Had great service. It also includes a FREE walking tour of Old Town Prague. Well worth it!

  • Liked — Prime Location!! Very convenient to walk to the Old Town, and loved the Charles Bridge
  • Disliked — During our stay at the apartment part of the B&B no one came to make up our rooms daily.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank robinelisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chesterfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2008

room we had looked nothing like the photographs online, tv cable trailing on floor,cups not washed during our stay.
staff seem disinterested, texting and talking on mobiles.
coffee 2 mornings was lukewarm, beds hard,
not recommended

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank moorcroft16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2008

This property has an absolutely amazing location, and for the price, I'd be willing to put up with anything except a bug infestation. Needless to say, there was no bug infestation so I was extremely happy with this hotel. My wife and I had a busy stay planned, so our goal was to find a place with a decent room to sleep in and this definetly met that goal.

My flight arrived after their reception closed, but I e-mailed the property a couple days in advance and they were there waiting for me when I arrived. The first two nights, my wife and I were put into a building about 1 block away. Others have complained about this, but it was an easy walk and the room was more recently rennovated. The beds in this room were very comfortable and we had no problem sleeping.

After two days, we were moved into the main building, above the reception. This room was nice as well, but the bed was a little older.

The bottom line, for the price you'll pay for this place and the amazing location (literally 10 meters from the Charles Bridge) you cannot go wrong. Keep in mind though, this is not a hotel, so do not expect your bed made or room cleaned while you're away. Also, the rooms are basic, but they had a TV, shower and toilet in the room, so what else could you want? The rooms were clean upon check in and breakfast was pretty good. So if you're looking for a cheap place to stay in the city, this is it.

  • Liked — Location and Price
  • Disliked — Bed was just a little uncomfortable.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChiTraveler48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2008

We had the pleasure of staying in this quaint little B & B, nothing to fault it, it was clean, quiet, warm, staff very very friendly, nothing was a problem for them, location was just off Charles Bridge, which meant we got to walk over the Bridge everyday, it was a delightful little place to stay and of all the places i have stayed in, in Prague this has to top the list, its basic, clean and warm and a great place to lay your head at night after walking around Prague all day., would definitely recommend it to anyone, priced very very reasonably indeed.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank Mamasbaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Tri Pstrosu (At the Three Ostriches)
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Small Luxury Palace Residence
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Residence U Cerneho Orla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Charles Bridge Residence
Charles Bridge Residence
#17 of 368 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Lokal Inn
Lokal Inn
#6 of 368 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
HOLIDAY HOME - Hotel, Pension
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charles Bridge Bed And Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charles Bridge Bed And Breakfast

Property: Charles Bridge Bed And Breakfast
Address: Drazickeho Namesti 5, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #245 of 368 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Charles Bridge Bed And Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charles Bridge Bed And Hotel Prague
Charles Bridge b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing