We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Poor Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Residence Tabor
Ranked #286 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Poor Hotel!”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We booked to stay at this hotel and paid for it in advance only to be greeted at the airport to say that the hotel was full up and we had been booked into alternative accommodation. The accommodation wasn't pleasant and it was lucky we only booked for one night! On return to the UK I also found I was charged in Czech Republic Koruna but was receipted in Euros which also caused me to incur charges unnecessary charges! Overall I would avoid at all costs!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    97
    40
    14
    11
See reviews for
25
96
47
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Good for the price which we payed, the towels were horrible though so bring your own. The hotel is a bit far but there is trolley which stops right in front of the hotel. breakfast is good!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Anastasiya N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights , room very clean and large. Nice location 50metres from tram stop , 2 stops from Hlavni Nadrazi Main train station. Great value for money , decent breakfast and friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cornish-scrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2012

The towels were gray instead of white even with wholes, the bed linen was dingy, the wash room was smelling with chloride :( The room was actually looking not bad, may be repaired some time ago, so it was ok, although looking quite small for three people.
By the way, because of the lack of conditioning, we had to sleep with open windows in summer. So at night we were listening to every tram passing the street outside the window.
The old lift was also smelling not good... It seems, they use the cheapest and the worst smelling means for cleaning.
As for breakfast, coffee was bad.
The tea was not good as well, they had only Jemca, the cheapest tea in Czech Republic.
They didn't have any juice, only sirup.
...but they had sausages :)

Frankly speaking, I did a mistake when ordered the room in this hotel and I had a bad feeling the whole three days we spent there... In the same price category I advice Adeba hotel, I stayed there few months ago, they have snow white towels and bed linen, excellent breakfast with quality tea and coffee, nice smell everywhere and good shampoo.

Please, don't repeat my mistake, don't order the room in Golden City hotel - residence Tabor.

P.S. The last irritating thing in this poor hotel is plastic flowers everywhere...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nataq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spangdahlem, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We rented a two room apartment at the Residence Tabor. We made arrangements for the hotel to pick us up at the airport but they no-showed. When we called them they said they had 'given away our reservation to another family' thus leaving us stuck at the airport. When we finally arrived at the hotel , the hotel clerk ignored us and spent 20 minutes arguing with another guest before checking us in (it was very late and we were very tired). The walls in our room had holes punched in them and were filthy-some of the filth appeared to be feces. The shower drain was plugged, so we had to take very quick showers so the shower stall wouldn’t overflow. There was mold and dirt/grime completely surrounding the bottom of the shower and also mold in the tile grout and black mold on bathroom ceiling (shower appeared to have not been cleaned for a long period of time). The exhaust fan in the bathroom was broken and the shower door was off the track, so we had to be very careful when we moved it. The room temperature was in the 80’s and the front desk clerk refused to give us a fan for the 2nd room, claiming they didn’t have any extra fans. The refrigerator didn’t work, the hair dryer in the bathroom was broken, the beds were not made up by housekeeping, the towels and floor mats were rough, stained and ripped, there was no extra toilet paper left in the room and the sheets did not fully cover the mattresses. The neighborhood is dicey-not a good choice for women or families with children. Save yourself the irritation of a crappy hotel on your vacation and book elsewhere.

Room Tip: Photos on web site misrepresent actual room. Book elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mtspirit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Travelling with my friend, we were searching for a hotel not far from the center and didn't want to spend the fortune. So, the hotel is situated in the historical building, right next to the tram stop. It's just 2 stops off the train station and 3-4 stops off the center, depending on where you want to go. Lots of shops around, some beverages are sold right at the reception. There is an evelevator in the building. We had a double room, big enough, could be cleaner but ok. Except furniture there is microwave, fridge, safe, some dishes and caltery in the room. Bathroom is not huge but just enough, new. Stuff was always friendly and extremely helpful. We arrived late on Sunday, most of money exchanges were closed, so the one in the hotel was a real help and with a good rate. Also the tickets for the tram could be bought in the hotel. Breakfast was nothing special, but I saw worse one.

About the minuses, wi-fi was not so good since the sourse was stituated in the neighbouring hotel building. Also if you cannot sleep without a complete silence, you'd better choose another hotel, since there are quite some trams and cars passing by starting from the early morning till the evening.

To sum up, good place to stay for the money you pay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Plus points -

Perfect for public transport, there are very frequent trams outside the door to the city centre, main station and Dejvicka for the airport bus.
The area looks a bit run down but since this is Prague you will be perfectly safe, plus there are plenty of shops, bars and restaurants in the locality.
Reception was friendly and helpful both at check in and out.
Room and bathroom were spacious. Free wifi. No air con, although that may have been an error on booking.com rather than the hotel.

Bad points-
The room and furnishings had seen better days, with broken furniture, scuff marks around the walls and shabby fabrics and worn out laminates. Felt neglected rather than dirty. Damp stains on the ceiling.
The bathroom was much better but spoilt somewhat by the presence of some silverfish scurrying around.....

Probably the hardest most uncomfortable beds in the world- expect backache and sore shoulders- no mattress! just a divan type thing with an odd 4 or 5 cm upholstered cover.
Towels rough but clean.

Served it's purpose, but would only go back if the beds were more comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 3
Golden City - Garni
Golden City - Garni
#244 of 650 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#345 of 650 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Praha 3
City Lounge Hotel
City Lounge Hotel
#324 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 4
Inos
Inos
#210 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Praha 3
Columbo
Columbo
#368 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Praha 7
Extol Inn
Extol Inn
#380 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Tabor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Tabor

Property: Hotel Residence Tabor
Address: Taboritska 4/913, Prague 130 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 3
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Best Value Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence Tabor 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Residence Tabor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Tabor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing