We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Ambiance romantic”
Review of Botel Matylda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Botel Matylda
Ranked #76 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Really great value hotel on the water ( boat), if you can take the suite , one upstairs has Verander. The room is spacious and really stunning!! Mattress was bit thin but breakfast wonderful and actual venue , position of the hotel fantastic !!!!! Right on the tram line and on the water. Second visit to Prague and staying at same place was great!

Stayed: February 2014
Thank WCAnth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

The botel Matilda was great. We loved staying there. Breakfast was good. Staff was friendly. If you are tourist, location is a great. Near the botel you have tram stop and the center its only 15 min of walkling, more o less.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tanja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Loved staying on the boat, fed swans from our room window most mornings with some bread from the breakfast buffet. Breakfast is nice and has a good selection. Staff are all lovely.

Location is excellent; only 15 or 20 minutes walk to main square and the walk is right along the river.

Restaurant food is lovely but it is a little bit more pricey than other places you could go in the city; that being said it was nice to eat on the river at least one night.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lukeajwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The Boat Hotel Matylda was a great choice for our 1 night stay in Prague. We were driving from Germany & needed GPS directions so I emailed the information desk & received a response within the hour of where to drive & how to navigate to their hotel parking. I chose the Boat Hotel because I wanted something different and it was a great experience!! We arrived and parked in front and were able to get into our room very quickly. I wish I could remember the young man at the desk when we arrived because he was such a delight & helped with many of our questions. (In addition, he told us where to go to get the best exchange rate!) The other 2 front desk clerks were nice but not as well received when asked questions. The botel is small but we paid for a bigger room (executive double) and had plenty of space. The closet is big and the dresser on the side held our suitcases. (I could have stayed for a week and had enough room!) The bathroom was on the smaller side of things but the shower had enough space to get you clean! The bed was nice and it was wonderful to be able to look out your window and see the ducks swim in the river. (Make sure to ask for river side!!!) We were on the bottom floor so we heard footsteps above us in the morning but that wasn’t as loud as the ducks hitting the boat! It is a great location. We walked to old town and the bridge twice that day and never felt like the hotel was too far away. We didn’t use the restaurant and didn’t wake up in time for the free breakfast that was offered. I would defiantly stay here again.

Room Tip: Upgrade for a bigger room and ask for RIVER SIDE!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keisen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Right on the river, at the edge of the old city. You couldn't ask for a better location. Most of the best sites are in walking distance. If you have a car, there's free parking on the wharf. The accommodations were very nice. It truly is an old barge, which has charmingly been converted into a hotel and restaurant. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable, and the attached restaurant (Klotylda) was some of the best food we had in Prague.

My only advice would be to ask for an upper floor room. We stayed in the large suite on the lower level, and could easily here the people walking around in the room above us. Fortunately, we had enough to drink each night that it never kept us awake.

The time of our trip is listed as Feb 2013. This is incorrect. We were actually there in Mar 2012. Unfortunately, that wasn't an option.

Room Tip: Request an upper deck room, facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Was my husband's idea to try the boat hotel and have no regret for choosing this. First of all, for the ones travelling by car you are offered free parking (not so often in Prague). We were wellcomed by a friendly reception lady that gave us all details we needed. Rooms are a bit small (well... you are on a boat) but very romantic and clean, felt nice & cozy there. Minibar had a good beverages range and breakfast was decent. Althought we didn't had a direct river view room was still a pleasant experience. I did not really liked the pillows, that were extremely thin. Also, if you are noise sensitive is not the best choice for you, because you hear a bit the noise outside the room or your neightboor if he is snooring. All together great experience! P.S. 5 min walk to Karl's Bridge.

Room Tip: Maybe by direct reservation to hotel you can get a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana_Virlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed on the Klotylda boat for three nights over Christmas and we had a delightful time. Our room was below the Klotylda deck with amazing river views - you could easily reach out and feed the swans, sort of speak. We had booked the executive room, which was large enough with wooden furniture and a very powerful shower, albeit a bit dark. Breakfast was served on the Matylda boat, where the restaurant is. Not that much of a choice, but everything that was served was tasty and plentiful. Everything was of excellent quality. We appreciated the fact that the boats are located a 15minutes walk from the hustle and bustle, meaning that you can enjoy all that the city centre has to offer without bumping on the tourist parade all the time. Will be back.
Ps - the famous dancing house is located on the street above the boats. Nice to see every day!

Room Tip: Yes, river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnsiJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Botel Albatros
Botel Albatros
#324 of 647 in Prague
653 reviews
Praha 5
Botel Admiral
Botel Admiral
#241 of 647 in Prague
253 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Monastery
Hotel Monastery
#55 of 647 in Prague
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Praha 5
Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#21 of 647 in Prague
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botel Matylda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botel Matylda

Address: Masarykovo nabrezi 1, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#60 Best Value Hotel in Prague
#67 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#69 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#116 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £64 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Botel Matylda 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Botel Matylda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botel Matylda Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing