We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, poor food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Beseda Prague
Ranked #207 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Birkirkara, Malta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent location, poor food.”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My wife and I joined 29 others on a Britannia Group Tour of Prague. between 2 and 9 July 2014 and we were lodged at Hotel Beseda Prague. The rooms were adequate and very clean. All members of the staff provided the proverbial service with a smile. BUT the food at breakfast and dinner (half board) should never have been served to human beings. To add insult to injury, leftovers were all mixed together and served for the following couple of days. We decided to have a coffee and a sandwich for breakfast, have a good lunch elsewhere and just another small sandwich for dinner.We felt that complaining to the hotel will get us nowhere because I am of the opinion that the staff know nothing about food
Britannia contracts say that they have no direct control over the provision of services by suppliers.
The best thing about this hotel is that it is situated in the best location possible - just a five minute walk from the main attractions... really excellent.
A feather in the cap for Britannia Tours is Mr Peter Paul Caruana, their tour leader who provided everybody with service that is second to none. He went out of his way to help everyone.

Room Tip: Baths are too high for the elderly.They are two feet from the floor. Check the grab handle before us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaltiMalti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    377
    203
    44
    21
See reviews for
123
413
29
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I lived in this hotel for a week. It is situated very comfortable if you want to walk to the center of Prague - it will take 7 min, the tram stom is near too - 3 min. Of course this hotel is old - but clean and cozy. The breakfast was pretty tasty, I liked warm croissants and good coffe. I don't understand the problems with lifts - I am 56 years old, but I can easily go up and down from the 4th floor. The stuff is friendly. So the previous review is not objective.

Room Tip: A good choice of the price and quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panyirena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Ruing that you are too young to have missed communist management of hotels? Pinning for hostile service? Looking for an opportunity to be blamed for booking a room that lacks the amenities offered on the web site? Breakfast choices that make you wish for rationing? Incompetent repairs that break more appliances than fixed? Rugs so dirty that going barefoot is out of the question? Toilet paper that threatens to turn casual use into a DRE? Or maybe you miss those days when the good towels were saved for the guests and you had to use ragged ones? Hotel Beseda might be the inspiration you are looking for.

It isn't a 4 star and don't be fooled by the photos.

The tea and coffee maker listed as one of the room's amenities wasn't there and when we asked for one we were told that they were not responsible for the wording of the web site and we wouldn't be getting a tea/coffee maker. After strongly expressing our disbelief one was supplied from the office (made me wonder if a few were just kept there for this eventuality).

Our mini bar refrigerator wasn't working and when we asked for it to be fixed we came back to find that the original broken refrigerator removed and the new refrigerator in the middle of the room. But that wasn't enough, placing the replacement refrigerator in the position it did eliminated the possibility of plugging in the TV. And the new refrigerator didn't work either! Ok... we got moved to another room and took our coffee maker with us. It seems somewhat epidemic at the hotel, another guest in the lobby was making exactly the same complaint.

Breakfast? Definitely a pathetic 2 star. The coffee... awful.

Air Conditioning? Better hope for good weather.

If this hotel advertized itself as a 2 or 3 star it would be average or good, but they advertize themselves as 4 star. If you advertize yourself as 4 star then ALL rooms have to be at least 4 star, not just the ones in the web site.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Great location of the hotel, supermarket just 100m away. The bathrooms were brand-new, the room itself huuuge. The breakfast has changed a bit every second day, so we didn't have to eat the same food every morning. Very helpful staff, they have bought the post stamps and sent the postcards for us as we didn't find the post office.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karowlajna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just back from Prague. This hotel was great. Although the room needs a lick of paint, it was big and comfortable.
The reception area it lovely and the breakfast was great. I think there is a lot of the hotel not used, for example, although I smoke I did not find I need a fag as we were out for most of the day, yet they have a winter garden which is enclosed. If they opened this up to smokers it would make a wonderful beer garden for weary travellers.

Room Tip: There was a lot of construction going on and it was noisy. But truth to tell, it made no difference...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DIERDRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stayed here with some friends on 7th June 2014 for 1 night. Due to flight delays from the UK we arrived nearly 3 hours late. The staff could not have been more helpful. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the rooms are very spacious. The room I was in had a very large bathroom with 2 showers, 1 in the bath & the other on the floor as would be found in a wet room. The hotel is ideally situated for sight seeing & I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nh1Crewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

The location is really good but the service from staff is seriously lacking. They weren't helpful and when a water cut meant they were unable to serve breakfast we were rudely told to leave and no alternative was offered. Our air-conditioning also didn't work, cutting out after every ten minutes, which in the 31'c heat was unbearable.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dominic O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Caesar Prague
Hotel Caesar Prague
#175 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Praga 1
Hotel Praga 1
#230 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Roma Prague
Hotel Roma Prague
#152 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Metropol Hotel Prague
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Elite Hotel
Elite Hotel
#131 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Galileo Prague
Hotel Galileo Prague
#112 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beseda Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beseda Prague

Property: Hotel Beseda Prague
Address: Vladislavova 1477/20, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #207 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beseda Prague 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Beseda Prague is conveniently located in the historic town centre, just a few steps from famous Wenceslas Square, in one of the most attractive areas of Prague. All major points of interest are located within easy walking distance. You can reach Wenceslas Square and the National Theatre within 5 minutes, the Old Town Square within 10 minutes and Charles Bridge within 15 minutes. All rooms are equipped with stylish period furniture and feature anti-allergic bedding. Connecting rooms for large families as well as barrier-free rooms are also available. Total capacity of Hotel Beseda is 135 rooms.The hotel provides conference and meeting rooms for up to 250 guests. Free Wi-Fi is available in the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Superbreak UK, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Beseda Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing