We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place out of the city center.”
Review of Hotel Ostruvek

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Ostruvek
Ranked #383 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Price was good. Staff were nice and helpful. (Some more than others but that is normal). Breakfast was typical European with lots of choices. If you are a light sleeper as for a room that does not face the train tracks. Room was small but since our family of 4 wasn't in the room much it didn't really bother us. The triple we had on the 2nd floor had a slanted roof. We hit our heads a couple times but like I said, we weren't in the room much. Great resturant/steak house across the street with outdoor dining and live music. You can buy adult tram tickets from the front desk for 110kc. Turn left when you leave the hotel (out on the main road) to the next main intersection. Yellow ticket machine to buy youth ticket will be on your left between sidewalk and parking lot. Catch tram 24 to go to Wecleas Square. Hotel clerk can give you a map.

Room Tip: Tricky to find. Turn at the ally next to the gas station (Across street from Koliba). Push button o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pennyfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2012

The staffs at the reception were not so friendly and helpful. We asked them for suggestions for lunch in the neighbourhood and were told to just walk around and find one. The bathroom was clean and spacious with big shower box. The bed was clean and comfortable. Didn’t have any problem falling asleep after a long day walk in the city. However, the carpet was a bit tatty. The room is equipped with a small security box which I found quite useful to put important personal belonging.

Great location with the nearest tram station (Otakarava) just 5 minutes walk away. Several direct tram to Wenceslas Square. Please check the timetable of the trams on the board placing at the lounge (didn’t notice it until the last day!). Breakfast was fabulous, we were spoilt by the vast choices. All in all, not too bad.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank VASIL B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
Prague
1
Reviewed 29 May 2012

we didn't receive the room we booked., two separate beds for a couple is not OK. The hotel is located in the ugly part of Prague. Breakfast was OK but the staff was not friendly at all. The staff of the reception was helpfull.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Prague
1
Reviewed 21 May 2012

room was nice and big. but the cleaning and the service on the check in desk wasn't too nice. The hotel is close to a tramstation and its taking 10 minutes to go downtown, thats very nice.
All in all its okay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

I had very unpleasant sleeping experience. Our rooms were on the third floor with sloping roof. After hitting the roof 2 times we were very careful getting in and out of the bed. You need to be a expert to get in and out of the slippery bathtub which is a high level. I could not figure out a way to take a bath without spilling water on the floor. Housekeeper would never provide with new soap. The carpet was never vacuumed. There are only 15 inch TVs. The breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Surinder M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I stayed in the hotel for 4 nights in May.
ROOM: I had a single attic room that was very clean. However, be carreful! In case of staying in a warm spring or sommer, the room will be overheated. The owner is aware of this and placed a big fan there. In my opinion, this doesn't help you very much. (no air condition). So don't choose rooms on the third floor (Nr. 3xx).
The second big problem is a proximity of the very frequented railway. Some rooms has windows facing to it and the noise is very disturbing, especially if you have to air the room.
The room has a safe, very small, but for free.

BREAKFAST: not bad, it is better prague standard
RESTAURANT: If you want to taste Pilsner beer, go to the another restaurant. No expierence with food
INTERNET: free and fast WiFi
LOCATION: Except the railway, as I have told, very good. You can take trams Nr. 6 or 11 and in 5 minutes you are in the city centre.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TomCzechrepublic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 3
Novum Hotel Vitkov Prag
Novum Hotel Vitkov Prag
#376 of 647 in Prague
487 reviews
Praha 4
Inos
Inos
#214 of 647 in Prague
421 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Kavalir
Hotel Kavalir
#274 of 647 in Prague
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 10
Astra
Astra
#355 of 647 in Prague
141 reviews
Praha 4
Hotel Otakar
Hotel Otakar
#521 of 647 in Prague
257 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
#550 of 647 in Prague
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ostruvek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ostruvek

Address: Na ostruvku 345/2, Prague 140 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 4
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £26 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ostruvek 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ostruvek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ostruvek Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing