We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oldish and non smoking room smelled like smokes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Majestic Plaza Prague
Ranked #166 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Oldish and non smoking room smelled like smokes”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Did not enjoy staying at this hotel.. Why?
Firstly, when we came in to our room, the place smelled like someone have smoked cigaret after cigaret there (We booked a non-smoking room and the inside label said it is a non smoking room, but the smell was obvious);
Secondly, the lobby was full of drunken shouting people and no air, just smoke of cigarettes.
Thirdly, some of the staff talked with me as I would be some old college friend.. Hmm...
Sorry, but I am kind of a person, who likes to be treated politely,yes, but within a distance...
The hotel by it self is old, smelly, noisy.
The breakfast was nice though..

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    727
    798
    273
    89
    58
See reviews for
286
958
53
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Location: The Best Western Majestic Plaza is in New Town. Yes, New Town is newer than Old Town, but it is not new by U.S. standards. It is less touristy than Old Town, so we never heard English in the restaurants we frequented in the area, just Czech, Russian, and German. We also had to cope with fewer silver- or gold-sprayed actors in frozen postures or T-shirt shops or groups of tourists led by an umbrella-wielding guide. The hotel is two blocks from Wenceslas Square with its department and specialty stores, bars and restaurants, casinos, etc. (Book lovers: check out Luxor bookstore on the Square with its four floors of books, including a large English section.) We chose the hotel primarily because it is about a 12-minute walk from the city’s three opera houses, though in different directions. Along the way to Wenceslas Square is the entrance to Lucerna, a long, rambling arcade with many shops and restaurants, a movie theater, and a theater for plays.

Room: It was spacious, comparable to Best Westerns in the U.S. It was tastefully decorated in Art Deco style; bathroom was also generous in size with recently renovated fixtures, strong water pressure, heated towel racks. Tub-shower has a partial glass partition typical of European baths, and we don’t have the necessary knack for showering without getting some water on the floor. The heated towel rack made the served as an efficient dryer for hand laundry.

Service: Requests (burned out light bulb, uncooperative safe, reluctant drain in bathroom basin) were quickly attended to, but there was an inconvenient exception. Following directions in the Guest Folder, we phoned the front desk to order ice at 10:30 in the evening and were told that room service was no longer open. We would have to go to the bar in the lobby and pick it up ourselves, our only option as there are no ice machines on the various floors. Insult to injury: the bar had no ice buckets so they put the ice in a plastic bag that turned out to be the same kind of bag used to send items to the laundry service. It had holes for ventilation or, as in our case, for melted water to leak out onto the floor. BW: Install ice machines or extend room service hours. From our observation of bars we passed, Czechs drink long after 10:30 p.m.

Noise: Our room was on the floor above the ground floor and faced Stepanska Street so there was traffic noise and occasional snippets of conversation from passersby, but we didn’t find it objectionable. If it might bother you, ask for one facing the courtyard; however, from the floor plan posted on the back of the door, these rooms looked to be slightly smaller.

Wi-Fi: free and dependable though you may have to "renew" it every day or three. The speed is not fast but reasonable for simple functions.

Included breakfast: There were many options including fruit juices and fresh and dried fruits; cold and hot entrees, and a pastry table with several offerings including a delicious poppy seed coffee cake and a plum cake. Foods are frequently replenished and tables are cleared and reset efficiently. Certain items are labeled as a “Local Specialty.” Room has Art Deco details and is a pleasant place to start the day. Don't miss the chorizo-like sausages, perfectly cooked potatoes, tomato-cucumber-pepper salad, cut oranges that have more taste than most from Florida or California, and sautéed mushrooms flavored with garlic (yes, at breakfast!).

Smoking: Our room was designated non-smoking and was free of any trace of tobacco. Both the breakfast room and the restaurant were similarly pleasant spaces for non-smokers. Not so the lobby, one corner of which is a bar but with no partition between it and the lobby at large. Smoke from bar clients wafts into the space and makes it less than pleasant, especially in the evenings. Similarly, entering and exiting the hotel sometimes requires walking a gauntlet of smokers. The message about the dangers of smoking and second-hand smoke has not reached Prague; if it has, it wasn't in a language understood here. Prague has more than its quota of smokers, and it is acceptable practice for smokers to direct their exhalations in any direction without regard to anyone standing or walking there.

Service: professional, cool rather than effusive. If you eat up the "Hi, I'm Tiffany and I'll be your server tonight. How are you doing? I love that scarf on you" approach, you'll feel alienated and ostracized. If you don't, you'll be in hotel guest heaven. Here's one instance of the service going beyond lip service to actual delivery. Through the hotel, we contracted a limo shuttle to and from the airport, which was a deal at approximately $60 for the roundtrip, a half hour either way. We missed our connecting flight in Frankfurt, so I emailed the hotel, but only after I knew our new flight number and after the limo had met our originally scheduled flight. A return email reassured us that we would be met. Our driver was there when we arrived five hours late, and there was no extra charge.

Security: Good. While the lobby is open to any member of the public, the elevator and stairs to the guest rooms are reached through a door that must be unlocked with the room key card.

Room Tip: If you need quiet, ask for a room on the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MiltonKimura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The hotel is ideally located, everything is new and shiny, the rooms are clean. Everything okay on a first look. However, we had no hot water in our room. We repeatedly asked the receptionists to take care of this. We were always told to leave the water running for a while (which we had done, which we told the receptionists) and then we were told that a technician would be sent while we were away for the day. Coming back late in the evening of the second day, there would still be no hot water. Very disappointing. Being tired, and having lost faith in staff's handling of the matter, we helped ourselves by boiling water in the kettle and pouring it into the bathtub. I've done this before, but not in a four star hotel.

BTW: Being told to keep the water running for a while when at the same time a sticker in the bathroom tells me about how green this hotel chain is through all the water guests are encouraged to save by using their towels twice makes me angry. It's all greenwashing, there is no serious environmental commitment.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wennichnur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

just got back from a weekend away here the hotel was lovely the rooms nice and big we had a room for 3 and a room for 2 both was really nice and spacious, The next street on from the hotel was were all the prostitutes are but we just kept away theres an irish bar opposite the hotel which does do nice food, lots of pick pockets about and also whilst we were sat eating in a bar in the old town someone come in and actually tried to pickpocket someone sat at the bar fortunately for the guy at the bar the pickpocket got spotted and was chased out the place prague is a lovely place but the people who work in the shops and stuff, and not all but most of the hotel staff are very rude with no manners at all

Room Tip: first floor 115 and 116 right at the top of the stairs but there is a lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryl f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ski, Akershus, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with 2 of my friends. The location was good and the front desk staff were really friendly for the most part. Breakfast was good and rooms were nice.

We had a bad experience with housekeeping though. While we were away from the room someone had taken a few pieces of chocolate out of 2 different bags of expensive chocolate that we had bought. We found it very disgusting that someone would do that! It kind of made us not trust them with our things, you never know, they might take something else aswell...

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jannicke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Excellent stay at The Majestic Plaza hotel in Prague. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Any negatives that I read about this hotel were certainly not true. Stayed here with a large group and all were more than pleased with their stay. Communication before with group co-ordinator was fabulous; the best I have ever had. Front desk were extremely nice, helpful and professional; buffet breakfast was awesome ; well worth 15 euros but was included with price of room ; they even opened another room so it was never crowded and food was plentiful for all tastes. Fast free internet connection in lobby; excellent restaurant on site. Fabulous location; within easy walking locations of everything downtown. 5 min walk from St Wenceslas square and 10 min walk from the Old Town. Clean and comfortable. No smell of smoke or noise anywhere. Great price for what we received. Would highly recommend it for anyone; individually bookings or groups.
Only small negative was the security safe was in a cupboard ; really close to floor so had to get on hands and knees to use it and lighting was poor to see and use safe.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariburr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Excellent stay at The Majestic Plaza hotel in Prague. I would recommend this hotel, it is clean and friendly and very pleasant to stay there. The breakfast is wonderful with an excellent choice to suit all tastes. Unfortunately we had a bad experience with the taxi firm they use so I would not recommend AAA taxis at all. They ripped off my elderly relatives on a journey which took my son and me 15 minutes to walk. Not only were they taken to the wrong venue after being given the name and address of the restaurant, the driver charged them 3 times the amount it should have been. The hotel did contact the taxi service for us but couldn't do anything about it as we had not been given a reciept. The hotel is fantastic, the taxi service rubbish!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppysue3417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Grand Majestic Plaza Prague
Nove Mesto (New Town)
K+K Hotel Fenix
K+K Hotel Fenix
#144 of 649 in Prague
1,725 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Amarilis
Amarilis
#153 of 649 in Prague
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Grandior Hotel Prague
Grandior Hotel Prague
#83 of 649 in Prague
4,166 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Jalta Boutique Hotel
Jalta Boutique Hotel
#105 of 649 in Prague
1,269 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
The ICON Hotel & Lounge
The ICON Hotel & Lounge
#47 of 649 in Prague
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Majestic Plaza Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Majestic Plaza Prague

Property: Hotel Majestic Plaza Prague
Address: Stepanska 33, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Best Western Premier Hotel Majestic Plaza)
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Prague
#133 Family Hotel in Prague
#136 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#137 Business Hotel in Prague
#140 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Majestic Plaza Prague 4.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant hotel Majestic Plaza Prague is located right in the heart of Prague, only 300 metres from famous Wenceslas Square. Wi-Fi is available for free and all rooms feature free coffee and tea making facilities. The Majestic Plaza hotel consists of 2 historical buildings in unique styles: Art Deco and Biedermeier.Fine dishes from all around the world are served in the restaurant and the spa area with a private sauna and a hot tub invite you to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Majestic Plaza Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Prague
Prague Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing