We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over the top service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Residence Agnes
Ranked #1 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
East Greenbush, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Over the top service”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I can't laud this hotel staff enough for their over-the-top service. We checked in and were immediately offered wine and beer, compliments of the house. The room was lovely, very well sized and quiet. We told the staff that we were planning to go up to the castle and they called for a car to take us up there, compliments of the hotel. In fact, every car service ride that we arranged through the hotel was compliments of the hotel. My birthday occurred on our first morning there and based on my registration form, they came to our breakfast table with champagne, again, compliments of the house. The coup-de-grace was their offer to clean and fold our laundry that we had by then accumulated after being on the road for 8 days, again, compliments of the hotel. I have never in all my years of travel seen a staff as committed to service as this hotel. The breakfasts were very good, fresh and varied and drinks and coffee were available 24/7. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,985
    97
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
557
1,889
69
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights this week and can honestly say this must be one of the best.. The warm, friendly, attentive and happy service made our stay a real treat. The room(402) was lovely and very well equipped. Breakfasts were excellent and had every choice you could want. We were extremely well looked after by all the staff and felt very welcome.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talisca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We cannot say enough good things about our recent stay at Residence Agnes. We travel a lot and have stayed in many hotels in Europe, North America and Australia and we have never been treated so well. It started at check-in when the beautiful Magdalena asked us FIRST whether we'd like a beer, wine or cappuccino. She then sat down with us at a table, marked up a map of Prague highlights, gave us tour options and recommendations, as well as 3 restaurant recommendations, and of course room keys.

Among the amenities was a car and driver to take you anywhere, no charge. Free beer, wine, espresso, etc. anytime, and as much as you wanted. A wonderful hot and cold breakfast buffet.

The hotel is well staffed with very helpful and English speaking staff. Virtually every time we passed by, one or more would ask if there was anything they could do...give directions, drive you somewhere, get you a beverage, etc.

Early on I realized I needed another electrical adapter. They first checked under the desk to see if they had the right one...they did not. So...they literally sent someone out to a store to buy one for me.

Our room was very comfortable...king size bed, great shower, etc. A window that opens.

Note that the elevator only goes to the 3rd floor (there are 4 floors).

Hotel is very well located in Old Town, just a few minutes walk from virtually everything. MANY restaurants / bars handy.

A final word about Frank --- who I believe is the owner. Frank is unbelievably helpful, friendly, available, energetic, good humored and solicitous...he REALLY wants YOU to enjoy yourselves in Prague and is full of ideas. He bends over backwards to ensure you have a good time.

In sum, we LOVED Prague and we LOVED the Residence Agnes and would HIGHLY recommend both.

Room Tip: No elevator to 4th floor, if luggage is an issue for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RexT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed in this lovely gem Apr 13 and 14,2014...on a super short but fun filled trip to Prague...
From the warm, wonderful welcome given by the entire staff...Linda, Magdalena,Radka,Mathes,the owner Franck and everyone else,to genuine concern and solicitousness at the end of a tiring day,to arranging cabs ..gratis(who does this these days?),accurate and very fair suggestions for dining,shopping do's and dont's...their genuine desire for each and every guest to have the best time of their lives in their Hotel and in their city comes through...
I wish I could hide Agnes for myself,but I also know the joy of sharing a wonderful stay experience with other fellow travelers.
Agnes is not just a gem,it is the rarest,most precious gem there is...one with a warm, beating heart...

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank phi4wisdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Everything that you would ever expect in service from hotel staff is here at the Agnes. You will not be disappointed. We picked it after reading the Tripadvisor reviews and nothing has been exaggerated or is too much trouble; warm, friendly and very efficient service from everyone. Frank (owner) will even help serve breakfast rather than see you wait! The breakfast is delicious, a huge continental choice, fresh fruit galore and full English and all comes highly recommended. The location is excellent for walking to all the main sightseeing places and the area is surrounded by very good restaurants for dinner. A complimentary car will drop you off if you want to venture a little further. The Agnes is comfortable, immaculately clean, free wifi, lift and an abundance of complimentary drinks whenever you want. The attention to detail is excellent, even the champagne and birthday cake for my husband was a complete surprise! A very BIG thank you to you all. Linda & Geoff

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

As a group of 4 we chose this hotel based upon the reviews listed here on tripadvisor - that many people can't be wrong? They are not! Our experience was greatly enhanced by the attention to detail of the staff here at the Agnes.
From the moment you arrive you are greeted by friendly staff who go out of their way to help you; a drink upon arrival with a chat about the best places to visit; the best restaurants for you and the any events you wish to book are taken care of by the staff.

At breakfast you are again helped (if needed) with your plans for the day, the offer of a complimentary lift is always well received! And nothing appeared to be too much trouble for Frank and his team.

The rooms were spotlessly clean with large beds and digital TV. The free internet throughout the hotel is a must for most travelers these days. When you arrive back from your hard day sightseeing the staff are again there to greet you with beer,wine, tea coffee - what more could you want?

If you like smaller, attentive, friendly and excellently located hotels - this is the place for you.

An amazing time in Prague (remember to carry change with you as ALL public and some private toilets charge for use) made even more special by the staff at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our stay at Residence Agnes made the Prague experience special. Sited in the old town, walking distance from the Charles Bridge, this B&B is in a lovely old thick walled Prague building - remember the old days when you couldn't hear your neighbours creaking? On arrival we were welcomed by Frank, the ever present the owner. The staff were delightful, service excellent, drinks and taxi rides within the city complimentary and the breakfast delicious. Nothing was too much trouble. When we return there is nowhere else to stay - thank you everybody.
Mac & Frances

Room Tip: Rooms 102/3/4 are on the ground floor but there is a lift so it really doesn't matter where your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FPG2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,638 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 649 in Prague
1,699 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Well Hotel
Golden Well Hotel
#3 of 649 in Prague
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#6 of 649 in Prague
781 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Praha 2
Hotel 16
Hotel 16
#7 of 649 in Prague
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Agnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Agnes

Property: Hotel Residence Agnes
Address: Hastalska 19, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Prague
#1 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#1 Family Hotel in Prague
#1 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Residence Agnes 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Agnes**** is located in the heart of charming Old Town, just a few steps from Old Town Square, Charles Bridge and the Jewish Quarter of Josefov containing preserved synagogues that attract tourists from around the world; it is also close to the attractive Palladium shopping centre. Due to its location, the residence is the ideal base for your visit to Prague – whether for a shopping spree, or to visit cultural and historical sites. The historical Residence Agnes building is located in one of the oldest parts of Old Prague which is listed by UNESCO. The first mention of the building dates back to 1369, when it was bought by Matyas for “two three-scores of groschens”. Residence Agnes underwent extensive reconstruction in January and February 2012, when the building was transformed into a four-star air-conditioned hotel offering an excellent service and pleasant atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Residence Agnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Agnes Prague
Residence Agnes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing