We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely for work and pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Karolina - Prague City Apartments
Ranked #27 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, Delaware, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely for work and pleasure”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Overall, we were very impressed with this location. It's close to the historic landmarks and many restaurants. The apartment was on the top floor, but an elevator that was retrofitted into the historic building made this a breeze. I was in Prague for work and had to drive every day (we specifically booked a location downtown as my wife and son where with me also). Driving in Prague can be a bit interesting if you aren't used to tiny streets. I had booked parking with the apartment, which was an interesting experience. The "garage" is only accessible by car elevator. This would have not been so much of a problem, if the elevator wasn't about one foot longer/wider than most cars and was accessible without blocking traffic behind you. The first few days were rough, but I suppose if I ever needed to, I could get a job as a parking attendant after this week. Do yourself a favor, if you don't absolutely need a car, take advantage of their offer to pick you up from the airport and drive you back, or take a train, it's well worth it!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAHH83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PragueCityApartments, Manager at Residence Karolina - Prague City Apartments, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Hi MAHH83,

thank you so much for such a great review of your stay. We are all really glad that you found residence Karolina to be so perfect for your stay, both for work and leisure, and we hope that you any your family had a good time in Prague (despite the driving experience! :)

On behalf of management and staff I would like to thank you again for choosing PCA for your stay and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back sometime soon.

Best wishes,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    57
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
153
215
22
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Our experience with Prague City Apartments and especially Residence Karolina was first rate..we stayed a week and loved it.Great staff perfect location for walking the old town and good tram access yet very quiet. Best of all was the value in this roomy spotless suite.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJM3604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PragueCityApartments, Manager at Residence Karolina - Prague City Apartments, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Hi TJM3604,

thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay and such a positive one at that! It is great to read that you found the apartment and our services of such high standards and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in Residence Karolina.

Thank you and hopefully we will have a chance to welcome you back to Prague soon again!

Kind regards,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Our family had a wonderful stay at Residence Karolina. We were 3 adults and two children (18 months old). My sister-in-law's family (two children as well, under 5) met us in Prague two days later, and it was perfect they were able to rent another apartment in the same building--they were given the unit just below us.

The 24-hour office proved invaluable to us. Very warm, responsive, and helpful. I didn't pay attention to this perk when I was selecting a place, but it turned out to be so useful especially given that Prague was our first destination in our trip, and this was our first trip to Europe with children. (After moving on to the next city, I think we had fewer questions.)

I'm pretty picky about accommodations in terms of cleanliness, and I have strong preference for clean, modern...bordering on luxury...interior, and my expectations were happily met/exceeded.

Location was fabulous! Short walk to Tesco grocery store, short walk to the gorgeous river/Charles Bridge/views of Prague Castle across the river. On Karolina Svetle itself, there are numerous highly rated restaurants. We enjoyed two of them - RM Rilke and Lekha Hlava.

One tip for families traveling with babies! Sadly, we didn't figure this out until the last night--ours did so much better when we moved their cribs into the kitchen/dining room (the room has a pull out couch where my mom was sleeping for the previous nights). The reason is that the bedroom doorway to the bathroom is frosted glass, and light from the bathroom shines into the bedroom. Well, a curtain for that door would have worked as well I think. But when we realized we could have the babies sleep in the kitchen/dining room, our problem was solved. It was dark there, we could use the bathroom and entryway without worry, and also I think it was probably better for the other guests in the building because if the babies cried, the noise was farther away from the building's central stairway/atrium.

Anyway--overall, highly recommended! I would point my friends to this apartment without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PragueCityApartments, Manager at Residence Karolina - Prague City Apartments, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Hello Helen H,

thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and detailed review! It was truly great to read all the positive comments about the apartment and our services and we are all really glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us in Prague.

On behalf of the management and staff I would like to thank you for choosing PCA for your stay and for recommending us to other travellers. We very much hope to have a chance to welcome you back in not-so-distant future.

Best wishes,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Main Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Had 3 nights in Residence Karolina. The apartment was spacious, filled with natural light and high ceilings, meticulously presented and the service from the staff at Prague City Apartments was superb. Right from the get go, booking the apartment via the web, airport pickup service which was included the check in and personal walk through of the apartment with a staff member the level of service could not have been better, nothing was too much trouble. Karolina is on a quiet street but just a few minutes walk to Charles Bridge and the Old Town and combines old world charm with modern conveniences including washing machine in the fully equipped apartment. I have stayed in many hotels in many parts of the world bit was so pleased that I chose Residence Karolina for our stay in Prague.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment at the rear of the building, we stayed in #42 which had a small balcony and vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PragueCityApartments, Manager at Residence Karolina - Prague City Apartments, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Hello Graham C,

thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us and such a great one at that! We are all delighted that you found Karolina so perfect and well located. Thank you also for your kind words about our team - it is the best reward for us to read such positive comments!

On behalf of the management and staff I would like to thank you for choosing Prague City Apartments and we very much hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stayed for 4 nights and I couldnt have wished for more in an apartment in Prague and all for less than the price of a 4 star hotel ! I have stayed many places , but I was really impressed with the service , location and space of this apartment . It is situated in a quiet back street so there is no traffic noise , but only one street back from all the shops including local deli and a Tesco supermarket , so all you need is to hand . Its in walking distance of all the attractions , the castle and jewish quater are 10 minutes walk away , Wenceslas sqaure 5 minutes away , although I would recomend a taxi to the castle as the hill is a killer !
The apartments are huge with tall ceilings and if you are lucky a lovely balcony to watch the world go by . Everything you need you have in this apartment , cloths washers a beautiful kitchen and large living areas . The office is open 24 hours a day 7 days a week so there is always someone on the end of a phone should you have any problems .
I can not recomend these apartments or the staff that run them more highly !

Room Tip: If its a view you want then the 5th floor , but you dont get the high soaring ceilings , balconys ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floss44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PragueCityApartments, Manager at Residence Karolina - Prague City Apartments, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Hi floss44,

thank you very much for such a lovely and detailed review! It is great to read so many positive comments and I am really glad that you found both the apartment and our services of such high standards and ideal for your stay.

Thank you again and hopefully we will see you back in Prague soon!

Best wishes,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights. Very glad we chose it. The apartment was close to everything we wanted to see and we had no trouble walking everywhere from here. Excellent restaurants and a supermarket close by too. Would definitely chose this over a hotel any time I come to Prague. We were in a one bedroom apartment which was beautifully furnished, had large rooms and high ceilings. The kitchen was fitted out well with everything we needed.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buffy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PragueCityApartments, Manager at Residence Karolina - Prague City Apartments, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Hi Buffy62,

thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us! It is always a pleasure to read such positive comments from our guests and I would like to thank you especially for highlighting the excellent location of Karolina and all the apartment facilities.

We very much hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in Prague again!

Kind regards,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking
Level Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Much more comfortable than a hotel. Loads of space (apartment 51 - has excellent views of the castle, though watch your head in some places as ceilings are sloped) and quiet area, but still easy walking distance to main attractions. Capsules were supplied for the Nespresso machine, but just for the first day - don;t forget to ask as you can buy more from the office (though 15CZK each). Tesco's only 5 mins away - and kitchen is fully fitted (includes microwave, fridge, freezer, dishwasher, toaster, filter coffee maker as well as Nespresso machine). Bathroom has a washer/dryer. Towels/bedding/hand soap/washing up liquid/dishwasher & washing machine soap supplied. Bring your own shower gel. Apartment 51 is on the 5th floor (to get the view) but there is a lift.
The office is only 5 mins walk, and staff there are all very friendly and efficient - and appear to be there at all hours of the day, even Sunday!. Recommend the 'complimentary' door to door airport transfer both ways - very smooth and easy. Not free, but well worth the money. Cost us 400CZK one way for 2, but that means that you have someone waiting on arrivals for you with your name on a card, they take you to the office to check-in, and then on the apartment. Door to door service. Ideal especially if you are travelling alone or with lots of luggage.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SequoiaWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PragueCityApartments, Manager at Residence Karolina - Prague City Apartments, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Hi SequoiaWoking,

thank you so much for such a lovely and detailed review! We are all really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and it is great to read that you found everything about the apartment so perfect and our services of high standards.

On behalf of the management and all members of our team I would like to warmly thank you for all the positive comments and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in Prague soon again!

Best wishes,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#10 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Retezova
Hotel Residence Retezova
#100 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Jungmann
Jungmann
#18 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#22 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Royal Boutique Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Karolina - Prague City Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Karolina - Prague City Apartments

Property: Residence Karolina - Prague City Apartments
Address: Karoliny Svetle 303/4, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Prague
#16 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#24 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#39 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Karolina - Prague City Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location of Residence Karolina is outstanding, next to Charles Bridge and the top apartments offer view to Prague Castle. Residence Karolina offers 20 serviced apartments in total and all of them are really XXL size. The guests can choose from one or two bedroom apartments situated on 5 floors, modern and spacious lift is operating in the premises. One bedroom apartments are suitable either for 2 (executive version) or for a party of 4 with extra sleeping facilities in additional room. Each of two bedroom apartments has two en-suite bathrooms to provide enough piece and privacy for 4 staying guests. Additionally to that you can temporarily accommodate another 2 friends by using a large comfortable sofa located in the roomy living rooms. Residence Karolina is famous for its space and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Karolina - Prague City Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Karolina Prague Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing