We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent self-catering option for families”
Review of Angel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Angel
Ranked #327 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed 16 April 2011

We have stayed in the Andel area before (in Andels hotel which is also very good). We opted for 5 nights self catering this time as we have children aged 5 and 9.

Check in was quick and easy. Staff were friendly and speak excellent English. Our flat was in a modern building next door with a concierge on the front desk, and 3 lifts. The front door was very secure (like a safe door). The communal areas and apartment were spotless, with regular room service. The flat has a good sized living room with modern kitchen area and comfortable sofa beds. Good sized bedroom with lots of storage and bathroom with shower. Laminate flooring throughout. However cable tv was in German but not an issue for us. Apartment has internet router but we didnt use.The apartments were quiet, clean and very secure. Lots of room for a family of four.

Andel-Smichov is a great area to stay in . A Large shopping centre Novy Smichov nearby has loads of shops, a huge Tesco and a food court on the top floor. There are also lots of good restaurants clustered nearby around Andel Metro. We tried Corte di Angelo for pizza pasta and Zlaty Klas for pork knee. Both have non smoking sections. The area around Andel is a good mix of old and modern, and the place is buzzing with locals eating out and shopping, even later at night. It feels really safe and relaxed.

Also great transport links to Old Town and Mala Strana. 5-10 mins Andel Metro and tram or 20 min walk. Loads of trams into town. Our children travelled free (under 10). We also travelled with two pensioners over 70, who travelled free too. Pensioners of any EU country travel free if over 70 or half price if 60-70. I e-mailed Prague Transport (DPP-Website in English). You need to bring a passport photo and passport id and buy an identity travel card (only 20 crowns) Ask for Prukazkou P.I.D. You can buy them in metro stations at the counters for weekly and monthly travel passes, and fill in a short form to get the pass. Our older travellers stayed in the Angelo hotel around the corner and thought it was superb.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prvnipivni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
There are newer reviews for Angel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2010

We stayed here for 10 days over Christmas in a two bed apt. The apt was a good size with lots of space and storage. The location is good in the Andel quarter where you have ready access to a lot of supermarkets, pubs and rests. Only real downside is the lack of wireless internet and the satelite t.v. is limited to one english and a couple of german.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeHam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Spent 3 nights in Prague in October 2010 with my wife, children aged 3 and 6 months and my brother and wife visiting from the U.S.
The ApartHotel Angel was surprisingly roomy and was in a good condition. It was probably most secure room I have stayed in, the door would not seem out of place in a bank vault. Both on arrival and Departure the reception staff were very freindly and accomodating.
The Metro and trams were 5 minute walk away, they are frequent and speedy and within a ten minute trip you can be in old town or the castle area.
I would stay here again, if there is one thing I would recommend the management do is to add some pictures to the rooms as they are a little stark.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andyjbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

The second time in a year. Got lucky with this last year and booked it as a stopover (see first review). This year, same again. Near faultless.
Basically, you report to reception and they'll direct you to one of the many apartments on either sides of the street.

We had a 2 bedroom apartment for 5 adults and 3 children. Ample space as the living room sofas pulled out for further beds. It is very close to the Angel metro station and tram stops. Last year I travelled mainly on the metro but this year we used the trams to get around which were infinately better. The tram by the apartment is on a main route and many stop there so you can cover the entire city wihout having to jump off and change very often.

As usual, superb, clean accomodation. Adequate kitchette and ample seating, big TV etc. Whatever you do, if you stay anywhere near this apartment or anywhere in Prague really, visit Plzensky Restaurant Anděl by the tram stops down the road from these apartments. I have dined there on both recent visits to Prague and the Goulash alone is worth the visit on it's own!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank benoit908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

The Aparthotel Angel in Prague has large, new apartments within one block
of a metro and a shopping centre. It's also within walking distance of the
city centre attractions. We cancelled our advance booking due to the volcano
and had to pay a bit more per night to re-book. However it still wasn't too expensive at E90 per night. We found the free walking tour that leaves Starbucks every day at 11am and kafka, our guide, was very informative.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreidaBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2010

Quite frankly, I've been many many times in Prague, but this place is simply the best you can get. I'll tell you why I love it:
-located in Andel, a genuine Czech quarter, away from the hords of tourists, still very animated and packed with local pubs and restaurants.
-the room is very modern, TV, internet, kitchen, great beds and sofas. You really feel at home, not in a small hotel room
-eventhough it's an appartment, it get cleaned everyday
-the value is amazing! Cheap AND great modern room!

If you go by car, you can ask the reception for a parking space. There is one ibside the building, but also one about 200 m from the hotel and much more cheaper, and it's being watched by guards.

I stayed there in November 2009 and April 2010 and will definitly go again!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatetSeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2010

This was an excellent find! We read the reviews on TripAdviser and wisely listened to the good reviews. Great value, spacious and clean rooms. The staff were friendly enough. We did laundry in the basement. The location was excellent; very short walk to Metro, groceries, shopping mall, tram, patisseries. They cleaned the rooms daily. Don't look any further for an apartment hotel in Prague. Free wired internet. The satellite TV had few news channels in English.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doctrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 5
Andel Apartments Prague
Andel Apartments Prague
#334 of 647 in Prague
136 reviews
Praha 5
angelo by Vienna House Prague
Praha 5
Vienna House Andel's Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Akcent
Akcent
#139 of 647 in Prague
511 reviews
Praha 5
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
#184 of 647 in Prague
1,594 reviews
Praha 5
Aparthotel Na Belidle
Aparthotel Na Belidle
#516 of 647 in Prague
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel

Address: Karla Englishe 2, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #327 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: £49 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Angel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 64 new, full equipped apartments for 3 or 4 persons each. Near the centure of Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing