We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Stay”
Review of Angel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Angel
Ranked #323 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Four of us stayed here in May. I found the accommodation Spacious, clean with a nice bathroom but beds not the most comfortable. One bedroom with two single beds and one lounge / kitchen with two small sofa beds. The size could of allowed for an extra bedroom and separate lounge.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Field87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed in a triple/quadruple room just over these past few days. Excellent building and location. It's not the city centre but that's probably a good thing: there's an Albert just down the same street as well as a Tesco in the Smichov mall. Andel station is literally minutes away in addition to multiple tram lines. We just took the metro to old town everyday and found it very easy to walk about and get to the other major attractions.

The apartment itself was very spacious and clean with basically all the amenities we needed for cooking simple meals. We most just stayed in for breakfast and ate out for the rest of the day. Prague is probably one of the cheaper cities to eat in Europe. No complaints about the beds, and I slept on the couch. There was no English channels we could find on TV though, so mostly relied on our own entertainment.

The front desk was also friendly and provided good directions and addressed our questions. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j_myworldtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Angel is located in a upcoming neighborhood. One can walk to the Karls bridge in about 45 to 60 minutes, but one has to walk through some busy intersections (well, we did). There is a shopping center right down the road, and access to multiple cable car connections.
Taking one of those cable cars can take you to the Karls bridge in about 10 minutes.
They also have parking available at a decent rate for Prague.
The Apartment was nice and clean, and had everything we needed.
The lady at reception on our day of arrival was super nice, the lady at check out not so much.
But overall a good experience. I can't remember what we paid, but for having an apartment it wasn't bad.
Having Public Transportation that close was a big Plus...

Room Tip: Top floor rooms facing the main entrance have a balcony with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The best place to stay in Prague, the reception people are great and are friendly
If there are any problems with booking they can be quickly resolved
There is security staff 24/7/365 in the main building
The Apartments are large and clean, if there is ever a problem the cleaning ladies are around from morning until about lunchtime, some also speak English, all are pleasant and friendly.
The only downside is checkout is at 11:00, in every place I stay around the World it is 12:00, this is not a problem because luggage can be left in the reception until you require it for your trip to the Airport. All around a very good experience

Room Tip: Large rooms with good cooking facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ppdbyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We have stayed at hotel with our friends in December.
Excelent lokation, close to Andel metro.
The room was large, Kitchen equipment was good..Every day cleaning.Staff was helpful and the ladies in reception helped us with orientation in Prague.We got a map of Prague.
The only problém was that we had to park on the street which was not very safe.

Room Tip: upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 873anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

LOCATION
This hotel is located in very good area and convenient to get anywhere in Prague. there is tram and metro on 2 mins walk and very good shopping mall and supermarket on the same distance.
CUSTOMER SERVICE
Customer service in this hotel as in most of the hotels in Prague is non existing. There is no smile on the face of receptionists or any willingness to help with anything. We have stayed in that hotel for 3 days and had no contact with them after checking in. On the last day, 3 minutes after the check out time, a very angry lady showed up at our door and demanded us to leave the flat and hand over keys as check out was already 3 minutes ago!
The cleaning lady was very nice and polite lady and we enjoyed chatting to her when ever she was around.
APARTMENT
Reading reviews about this hotel, I understand that there are obviously 2 buildings where apartments are located. One seems to be horrible and another one very nice. We were lucky enough to end up in the good one ( next door to reception). Flat was very clean and spacious. Double bed does not exist in Prague. there are always 2 single beds pushed together, and it is the same case in this hotel. Kitchen had all we needed to cook simple meals although there is no salt, pepper, tea, coffee...
I would definitely stay in this hotel again and recommend it to others, but make sure you avoid staff at the reception as you can. Again, very good location and clean flat.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the building next door to the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBBrno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I am guessing the place is aptly named after the Weeping Angel from Doctor Who because this place WILL give you nightmares.

TL;DR:
PROS
+ If you like huge empty spaces you will have a blast here
+ Location - close to Andel metro station and lots of tram stops, also a huge mall just around the corner
+ WIFI with individual routers in every room (ours of course did not work but the PW is the same for all of them)

CONS
- Dirtier than a pig in a mud bath (see pictures)
- Noisy
- Staff is hit and miss in level of service
- Kitchen is just for show
- Bare, boring
- Apartment in number of rooms but not level of equipment (no washing machine, missing cookware...)
- Level of maintenance equals to zero

We were a team of 12 here for a week on business (compulsory apartment) so I did ask around and all 12 rooms were in similar condition.
The whole place looked like no one touched it with care since it has been built. There were lots of things broken, the dirt was just pushed to the sides' of the rooms.
I have lived in block apartments most of my life so I am used to being part of every neighbours lives but I kid you not, this was worse. Always heard if someone was walking in the corridor and even tho it was a courtyard room every night someone wondered in there and even if they just talked you could hear everything.

DETAILS

KITCHEN
- 4 of everything (spoons, forks, cups, glasses)
- No salt, no pepper, no sugar, no tea, no coffee
- Really smelly fridge
- Microwave
- 4 hobs
- Very few pots and pans, barely enough to cook for two
- No cooking utensils (spatula, ladle...nothing)
- minimal lighting (two tiny little lights)
- dark, hardly any light

A "kitchen" but unless you are a travelling chef who goes around the world with your utensils and ingredients you will have a bit of a hard time cooking here. I am not talking about anything fancy really, just a spatula maybe. Also having to buy salt and pepper for a five day stay was just marvellous...

BATHROOM
- mold, mold and some more mold
- even more mold
- no washing machine
- no shampoo, shower gel

Have asthma? Look for another apartment! We had to open the windows every single day for hours (around 0C°outside) to at least lower the stuffy smell of mold. Also the whole ApartHotel has 7 rooms that have washing machines. For others you can go down to the basement and pay for washing your clothes.

LIVING ROOM
- TV with 400 channels programmed, maybe 100 works and from those around 3-4 are English, then comes a lot of German/Austrian channels and finally loads of Czech stations.
- absolutely no decoration

BEDROOM
- smelly
- dirty sheets
- mattresses had dents in the middle also they were like sleeping on a pile of wet sand

The sheets had dried blood and other (thankfully) unidentified stains. You could only sleep in the middle of the mattress as they had a massive dent in them. I suppose flipping them never occurred to housekpeeping. Also the 'double bed' is two single mattresses pushed together.

Room Tip: If you like a clean apartment and would like to cook, wash clothes and feel at home look for another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krisztii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 5
Andel Apartments Prague
Andel Apartments Prague
#331 of 648 in Prague
136 reviews
Praha 5
Vienna House Andel's Prague
Praha 5
angelo by Vienna House Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Akcent
Akcent
#150 of 648 in Prague
513 reviews
Praha 5
Angelis
Angelis
#93 of 648 in Prague
449 reviews
Praha 5
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
#193 of 648 in Prague
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel

Address: Karla Englishe 2, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #323 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: £48 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Angel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 64 new, full equipped apartments for 3 or 4 persons each. Near the centure of Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing