We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Things you don't consider when booking” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Congress Hotel Prague

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clarion Congress Hotel Prague
Ranked #118 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Things you don't consider when booking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

We always wanted to visit Prague and so when the opportunity arose we opted for a 4 day visit taking in an opera. Just after checking in at reception I suffered a major heart attack, collapsing in the foyer. It is at this point that you are at the mercy of fate. In my case the manager, Radeck Hendrich, was fully trained in CPR and got my heart going again in time to hand over to the ambulance crew. Without this intervention I would have had very little chance of survival. Radek also looked after my wife at the hospital and during my stay.
This is not
something you consider when booking a hotel but, in my case, it made all the difference.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Louiebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    587
    587
    131
    21
    11
See reviews for
230
451
60
333
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2011

We stayed here last week and the room was one of the best in Europe, especially for the price. We had two twin beds pushed together. The heating/AC system appeared to work but didn't quite make the room cool enough at night. They don't use a shower curtain in the bathroom but rather a glass panel that only covers about 1/4 of the showering area.
The hotel offers a breakfast in the morning that is very very strange. The buffet is quite large but they offer things like Miso Soup, a salad bar, "griddle" cakes and assorted breads. I tried a variety of these and thought they all tasted like glue and water mixed together.
The hotel staff was very nice and did speak English very well. However, on one occasion they came into our room unexpectedly. They were very apologetic but it made me nervous thereafter.
The metro station is two floors down underneath the hotel/mall. A word of advice, if you need to leave on the metro early it opens from the mall at 7am but it opens from the street at an earlier time. The mall also had quite a few stores and seemed popular with the locals. They have two sit down restaurants which were both okay but not spectacular.

Room Tip: The sixth floor was super quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaReiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

we are a young couple, and I was looking for a good hotel with a good price. the hotels in the center were really expansive. but I was happy with the choice! although It seems far away from the center (Prague 9) - it's not a big deal. the metro station is just under the hotel, and there is a nice mall too with nice shops. it takes 6 metro station to get to the center and it takes only 10 minutes. very easy to navigate.
The hotel itself is very clean, the staff are nice and the rooms are lovely. breakfast is really good and tasty.
we enjoyes chilling out in the room and I would recommend the hotel for people who are planning to travel in the city in the morning and come back in the evening.
great hotel, excellent price.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juli876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

We have stayed for two nights(first time visit to the city) to discover the old city of Prague. We parked our car in the hotel's garage, and travelled to the city by metro (the station is steps from the hotel). It was very convenient and easy to get familiar using the map we got from the receptionist. The room was clean, comfortable, the bathroom is perfect. There is free internet connection (cable) in the room. Could have been bigger selection regarding TV channels. My only problem with the room was that windows can not be opened and the air system has some noise.(not too bad). The selection at breakfast was great, good start for a long day! Just go through a glass door and you find yourself in a shopping mall, it is great.
It is true that smoking area is in the lobby, it can be disturbing, but we spent most of our time dowtown.
I would suggest the hotel to anyone who goes sightseeing and does not mind using public transportation to get downtown. It is good value.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holidays064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2011

I came to the hotel for a conference so can't really complain that it is so far from the centre, but it did make it hard to fit in any sight seeing. Maybe conference organisers do that on purpose?
I am a non smoker. I wanted to spend time in the lobby and have a drink and a snack rather than sit alone in my room, but found it so smokey as to be unbearable. Note: thsi is an area where people eat. In fact, the first thing I noticed when I walked in to the hotel was the smell of smoke. So off to my room I went to sit on my own. Pretty disappointing really.
On a positive note, I had a lovely large room (no view to speak of mind you) and the attached shopping mall is convenient, especially significant because the hotel is in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary75London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIROSLAVB, General Manager at Clarion Congress Hotel Prague, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the presentation of your experience on Tripadvisor. It's true conference hotels are usually not situated in historical parts of cities, however, it is only 15 minutes by metro from our hotel and you get right on the spot and may breathe in the history of Prague. As to other entertainment, our guests are encouraged to ask our devoted concierge staff for advice.
I am sorry smoking bothered you so much. However, the Chronos bar and a part of the lobby is the only smoking area in the hotel. For a nice dinner without cigarettes our guests may visit our Benada Restaurant, which is nonsmoking.
Just for your information – we have plans to install a glass wall with an additional AC to separate a smoking area in our Lobby.
I´m sure this improvement will satisfy our non smoking guests.
Yours sincerely
Miroslav Bukva / Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
265 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

Professional and what you expect on a business trip. I went by car to city centre and airport realizing that the hotel is not situated in the right spot if you are looking for tourist views in walking distances.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalaroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIROSLAVB, General Manager at Clarion Congress Hotel Prague, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
Dear Guest,
Let me thank you for your opinion. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and believe you will come back one day. If so, you might use the services of our concierge who will kindly arrange sightseeing for you or provide you with public transport tickets. It will take you only 15 minutes to the city centre. A night view and the atmosphere of the Old Town monuments are really beautiful.
Yours faithfully,
Miroslav Bukva / Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

If you stayed at the $39 a night Clarion in rural Michigan ever, you ll recognize the carpeting, interior, and look at this hotel across the World. They claim to be non smoking but to get to your non smoking room one must pass through the eye burning smoke filled lobby. Towels were ratty bad, bathroom was below average, TV selections if you speak English are terrible.

Six stops from the city center is too far for any traveler because Prague can be a lovely place. Front desk was great, I ll give the hotel that. It is attached to big mall with a close grocery store - a good think because the breakfast was terrible.

One other thing - the phone system in the room seems super fancy but it is very user unfriendly.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank global_tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIROSLAVB, General Manager at Clarion Congress Hotel Prague, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your comment, although not very positive, and I am really sorry you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel as much as you might have expected. For the sake of clarity let me explain that we do not boost we are a completely non-smoking hotel. However, there are possibilities to avoid or minimize the time in the reception area (excl. check-in/check-out). Except Lobby Bar Chronos, all other restaurants are nonsmoking, including the congress floor, and all rooms are nonsmoking, too. Just for your information – we have plans to install a glass wall with an additional AC to separate a smoking area in our Lobby. I hope this will satisfy our non smoking guests.

As to TV selection, we keep trying to meet the taste of guests from various countries and understand that not everybody can be fully satisfied. In this case there is a possibility of pay-per-view TV which enlarges the general range of TV programmes.

Our hotel, similarly to other congress hotels, is not situated in the very centre, however it takes only 15 minutes by public transport to get there, and the direct access to the underground station makes it very easy and comfortable and is usually highly appraised.

We offer a wide selection of breakfast items, and should a guest wish something special, all my staff members are ready to do their best to meet his needs. I believe we can be proud of the “value for money” we provide.

Yours faithfully,
Miroslav Bukva / Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 4
Panorama Hotel Prague
Panorama Hotel Prague
#202 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,854 reviews
Praha 9
Wellness Hotel Step
Wellness Hotel Step
#209 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Praha 2
Clarion Hotel Prague City
Clarion Hotel Prague City
#128 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 9
Carol
Carol
#224 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Praha 9
Hotel Duo
Hotel Duo
#176 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Corinthia Hotel Prague
#150 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Congress Hotel Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Congress Hotel Prague

Property: Clarion Congress Hotel Prague
Address: Freyova 33 | Metro B "Vysocanska", Prague 190 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 9
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Prague
#69 Business Hotel in Prague
#96 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#104 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#127 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Congress Hotel Prague 4*
Number of rooms: 559
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Congress Hotel Prague is situated in a modern part of Prague - Vysočany, just 15 minutes from the historical centre of Prague. The excellent transport accessibility and perfect service facilities make it popular both with individual visitors and business clients.The Hotel offers variable conference rooms with high-tech equipment in all spaces and guest rooms. It also offers various restaurants, bars, a wellness and fitness centre and a shopping mall right next to the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Clarion Congress Hotel Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Prague
Prague Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing