We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prague Christmas time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Clarion Congress Hotel Prague
Ranked #127 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
456 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Prague Christmas time”
Reviewed 27 December 2011

After many experience- all hotel categories over the world- we can recomand this hotel t. We spent weekend there ussually 3-4 time per year.
Check-in: quickly and very friendly service, (arrive 5:30 p.m.), all information they had in hotel system, great when you arrived after whole car travel day with two children:-) Welcome drink at lobby bar &welcome friut plate+typical Czech Xmas small confection,nuts etc. are very nice idea in Xmas time!
Breakfast: 3 stages there, one hot with typical hotel bufet menu, eggs, hot ham, suasage,pancake. Second with ham, cheese,fruits,vegetables, local cheeses,local meat special food(white meat pudding), and really large sweet corner, third with bread/rolls, mussli, sweet cakes etc. Very quickly tea/coffee service and baby chair for our 18 months old daughter. Room: new, quality materials, free minibar, free entry to club lounge in executive floor (+30 EUR/per night), breakfast for quite if you want, but without afternoon happy hour free wines, beer etc like we remember from last visits. We had extra bed&baby cot with special bath towel,all perfectly ready. But one shower gel&shampoo for 2adults and 2 children every day only is terrible,drugstore in near shopping center help us.
Check-out:very quickly, lady at reception was very nice(big turn from last visit!)

Its excellent place for discovery of Prague, because Metro station is directly at the same building, only 3 min walk from reception! Hotel has new shuttle free service to city center&castle,fix times,great for planning. One Metro stop (Ceskomoravska) is Harfa shopping center with ice rink on the roof,free of charge,big food court + O2 arena building.

Room Tip: Executive floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kroulak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIROSLAVB, General Manager at Clarion Congress Hotel Prague, responded to this review, 29 December 2011
Dear Guest,
Allow me to thank you for your decision to stay again at the Clarion Congress Hotel Prague as well as for the time you took to share your experience with other travellers. Recently, another Clarion hotel has been opened at Spindleruv Mlyn, and within our company, which operates already 8 Clarion hotels, standards of services have been unified. Currently, we offer a bar of soap, shampoo and shower gel in all standard rooms. In executive rooms, these items are doubled, supplemented with other items. All items can be refilled on request anytime of course. In your case, it was probably a mistake and confusion of one of our chamber-maids. We are sorry for the inconvenience you experienced getting these items at the nearby drugstore. However, should you miss anything next time, please do not hesitate to contact our staff; we will gladly provide it to you on demand. And of course we will check our control mechanisms right now in order to avoid any similar confusion.
I would like to thank you again for your stay and wish you and your family a Happy New Year 2012.
Best regards,
Miroslav Bukva / Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    607
    140
    27
    13
See reviews for
240
472
60
351
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kootenay National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights, the week of October 19th, 2011. I was attending a conference in the hotel.

Overall, the Clarion Congress is a very suitable, clean hotel with excellent service from most of the employees we encountered. We were afraid we'd be very, very far from some of the sights of Prague (particularly the Old Town) but there is a 'metro' right next door to the hotel. Its cheap, clean and very user-friendly. We were into the main town within 15 - 20 minutes, max.

Food at the Clarion Congress was delicious although it could be over-priced. We used supper buffet twice. Excellent selectio but the hostesses and host at the door always seemd very put out that we were coming in as paying customers. They plan for the chartered bus tour groups, instead. What a rigamarole to pay for dinner!!!! And, it was very expensive!!! Luckily the food on the buffet was good both times we ate there. The table staff were very pleasant.

So, you may ask .... why did we eat in the buffet? Well, because there are very few other choices in this hotel or nearby. The hotel is connected to a small, ordinary shopping mall. There is a food court there. I didn't travel all the way from Western Canada to eat in a mall food court! However, there was one place there... a creperie/coffee shop that was not bad for an afternoon snack. (You should check out the desserts at this place!). We asked the hotel for recommendations in the neighbourhood. They admitted to one bistor/bar just outside the mall (turn left and go out that exit rather than the Bata Shoe store exit). We walked over one evening only to find it was completely full! By accident we found a pub/bistro up across from the far end of the mall and 1 block down a side street. ITs called Au Capitan (?) and the food was great! So was the price. We have no idea why the hotel won't mention this little gem. We did scout around for other local spots to eat but could not find any other than a Chinese restaurant.


Returning to the conversation about the hotel .... we took an 'executive room' which really wasn't worth the money. This gave us free access to the mini-bar (but wouldn't you rather sit in the lobby bar when you're travelling?). It also gave access to a coffee room/breakfast room. Adequate layout of breaksfast foods but... nothing special. If you went there, you really, really missed out on the free breakfast in the main dining room off the lobby. Excellent assortment of hot and cold breakfast foods there. Great!

We were very, very disappointed to learn that the SPA and swimming pool is actually next door in the mall. It doesn't belong to the Hotel. We were even more disappointed to find out they had a bathing suit dress code: speedos for men ONLY and one piece suits for women. They claim this is standard practice in Europe (although we haven't encountered it before) and justify it as being 'hygenic'! What ????? Well, anyway... that meant we could not avail ourselves of the pool. And we were not thrilled with what the spa had to offer so we skipped it.

Our bed was very, very comfortable. The pillows were super and a friend we were travelling with actually bought 2 of their pillows to take home!

Thinking of catching a little TV news while in your room? If you're looking for anything from Canada, US or even Britain, forget it.But otherwise, this hotel is amazing for having TV channels in about 10 languages! Cool.

Beware the prices in the gift store. A cloth handbag (like a tapestry) and the carry-on bag to match were priced double and/or triple to the same things found in the Old Town shops! Whew!

Concierge service was wonderful! Cheerful, happy people who would go to great lenghts to help you out. They were also fabulous in booking us cars to and from the airport (we took a couple of trips in and out of Prague.)

Well, I think that's it. If you get to the evening buffet and are lucky enough to be there when cabbage rolls are on the menu, CHOW DOWN! They're great!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrueCanucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Excellent property with all the amenities you'd want. Very well kept, clean and excellent customer service. Very nice rooms. One of our best stays in Europe. About a half hour subway ride to the main part of Prague, however. So we'd probably stay a little closer next time. But would definitely recommend using Choice Hotel Points and stay there.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owamibuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIROSLAVB, General Manager at Clarion Congress Hotel Prague, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at Clarion Congress Hotel Prague. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed the hotel amenities and customer services. I would like to thank you for acknowledging the efforts of our team members and their dedication to meet the expectations of our guests. And especially I would like to mention a new service for our guests (which did not exist in the time of your stay in September) - the free shuttle service. If you prefer a car ride, upon booking and on given times you may get comfortably to and from the city centre, Prague Castle and Prague Airport.
So we hope to have a chance to welcome you again on one of your returns to Prague.
Sincerely yours,
Miroslav Bukva / Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tolkamer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
135 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

The arrival was a bit confusing due to the large parking garage and unclear instructions where to park. Anyway when we parked we went up to the lobby and got our room key. Then we went up and had a room at the patio side. Not very nice side to sit because you can not see anything.

The room was a bit small for my taste although the beds where quite large. The room was a bit simple. But we have to be honnest for the price it was ok. We did get this hotel through a bidding site.

The breakfast was very simpel and most anoying was that you always had to walk through the lobby where it was allowed to smoke. Very unpleasant i can say.

The distance to the center was ok with the Metro. I would not go back to this hotel quickly.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob_Nu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Nice hotel in shopping center, good transport to city center. It should be better breakfest...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIROSLAVB, General Manager at Clarion Congress Hotel Prague, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
Dear Guest
I would like to thank you for your decision to stay at the Clarion Congress Hotel Prague and for the time you took to write about your experience. I am sorry you were not quite happy about the buffet breakfast we prepare for our guests. However, I would like to point out that we provide
91 food and 16 beverage breakfast items in our Veduta restaurant. And should our guest wish some additional items all my staff members have clear instructions to do their best to fulfil his/her needs. I´m 100% sure there are just several hotels in Prague offering a similarly wide breakfast selection.
Thank you for your stay and general appreciation of our hotel. It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back sometime in the future.
Yours sincerely
Miroslav Bukva / Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
114 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

The Clarion Congress Hotel is a fairly big business hotel, outside of the city center. It has direct access to a Metro station and to a shopping center.

Rooms are standard business type rooms, with a workdesk and wired LAN access. Rooms are sufficiently clean and beds are comfortable.

Neither the lobby bar (smoking), nor the restaurant have much charme. Breakfast is extremely busy and has a cafeteria style, not a very enjoyable or relaxing start into the day. The breakfast offerings are sufficient.

It seems the main clientele is bus tours and conference delegates. I would not recommend the hotel for individual prague travellers.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vienna-onthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIROSLAVB, General Manager at Clarion Congress Hotel Prague, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
Dear Guest,
First of all, I would like to thank you for your feedback. All guests' comments are important to us because they help us improve our services. I am sorry our hotel is apparently not your cup of tea. We are well aware of the smoking issue; that is why we are ready to invest almost EUR 200,000 into a technical solution of this problem. This investment is planned for the first quarter 2012.
You are right that the large premises of the congress floor and breakfast restaurant are more suited for large groups than for individual travellers; however, plenty of our individual guests enjoy their meal in our fine dining Benada Restaurant with dedicated services, or relax in the well being zone of the fitness centre. For even more privacy our guests may take advantage of our room service .
Finally, I would like to thank you for your visit and hope to welcome you back to the Clarion Congress Hotel Prague.
Best regards,
Miroslav Bukva / Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Decent rooms if you are staying for business. Typical breakfast buffet included. Very convenient to subway for access to the rest of the city. There is a shopping mall attached to the hotel for convenient purchases. There are also a number of pubs and restaurants local to the hotel for convenience. At times the smoke was overbearing as a lot of smokers were using the lobby bar and restaurants. But all in all a convenient if not fantastic place to stay for a couple of days if in town on business. A quick subway ride to downtown and the old city if going out at night or during the day.

Room Tip: As for non smoking and the 7th floor rooms were fairly quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OntarioTraveller02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIROSLAVB, General Manager at Clarion Congress Hotel Prague, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear guest,
I would like to thank you for your visit as well as for your fair evaluation of the Clarion Congress Hotel Prague. As to smoking, I understand that this is very unpleasant for non-smokers. That is why we have brought up a project of separating the smoking and non-smoking areas of the lobby and installing an efficient air cleaning system in the smoking part. This investment should be realized within several months. I believe we will have a chance to welcome you again and so that you could appreciate our new technical solution.
With best regards,
Miroslav Bukva / Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 9
Hotel Duo
Hotel Duo
#174 of 649 in Prague
1,383 reviews
Praha 9
Carol
Carol
#232 of 649 in Prague
228 reviews
Praha 9
Wellness Hotel Step
Wellness Hotel Step
#205 of 649 in Prague
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Clarion Hotel Prague City
Clarion Hotel Prague City
#140 of 649 in Prague
594 reviews
Praha 4
Panorama Hotel Prague
Panorama Hotel Prague
#197 of 649 in Prague
1,940 reviews
Praha 6
Orea Hotel Pyramida
Orea Hotel Pyramida
#223 of 649 in Prague
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Congress Hotel Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Congress Hotel Prague

Property: Clarion Congress Hotel Prague
Address: Freyova 945/33 | Metro B "Vysocanska", Prague 190 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 9
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Prague
#69 Business Hotel in Prague
#96 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#110 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#127 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Congress Hotel Prague 4*
Number of rooms: 559
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Congress Hotel Prague is situated in a modern part of Prague - Vysočany, just 15 minutes from the historical centre of Prague. The excellent transport accessibility and perfect service facilities make it popular both with individual visitors and business clients.The Hotel offers variable conference rooms with high-tech equipment in all spaces and guest rooms. It also offers various restaurants, bars, a wellness and fitness centre and a shopping mall right next to the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Congress Hotel Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Prague
Prague Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing