We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Israeli-style kosher food at reasonable prices”

Chabad's Shelanu Restaurant
Ranked #1,116 of 5,372 Restaurants in Prague
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Pizza, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Josefov
Description: Stop by and enjoy delicious pizza and other great food such as falafel, hummus and more. Strictly Kosher and vegetarian!
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Israeli-style kosher food at reasonable prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We ate two times at the newly opened Shelanu grill restaurant (meat) operated in the Chabad House, now on U Milosrdnych 6. The menu was Israeli grill style, which was ok, but given that we live in Israel it was comfortable but not so exciting. The prices were ok and the staff helpful, although the poor waitress (Czech) had a difficult time communicating with many of the Israeli patrons who expected her to speak Hebrew, like the owner/manager who was also present.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nemo1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    31
    20
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good but a tad expensive for me.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

Came here for dinner after visiting the Jewish cemetery. The food was very good but it was the most we spent on dinner in Prague so far with very small portions. The hummus is fantastic though.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Violets101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great place for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We visited all of the kosher restaurants in Prague and this was the best value for the money.
The food was fine and they had a decent selection as well. We also ate at the restaurant for Shabbat lunch. There could have been better food selection and portions. It is set up as family dinning.
I heard they are moving the restaurant. I would call and make sure the location has not changed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Familytraveler5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
“Nice fairly cheap kosher restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Friendly staff who serve basic tasty kosher food to guests who are looking for a fairly cheap meal. Staff is friendly but rather amateaurish, but this did not adversely affect the good impression made by the owner and the waiters.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Yaacov K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Kosher Restaurant in the Jewish Quarter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Good food if you require a kosher meal, and not bad if you don't. My husband and I live in Philadelphia, where kosher restaurants are rare. But we weren't always kosher, so we can give fair reviews comparing kosher restaurants to the quality you expect of any restaurant. Shelanu is great for a kosher restaurant, and pretty good compared to others of its type. Expect this place to be filled with observant Jews. If you want to try traditional Czech cuisine but you need a kosher meal, check out Shelanu. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JacHRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chabad's Shelanu Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chabad's Shelanu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing