We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suteren

Suteren
Ranked #1,068 of 5,323 Restaurants in Prague
Cuisines: European, Czech, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Nove Mesto (New Town)
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quick meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Out walking and spotted this basement restaurant - it was very quiet - but thought why not try it.

Goats cheese salad was very good

Main course of grilled fish with spicy noodles was also very nice.

Good attention from the staff.

Helpful?
Thank Bigboyboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    23
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great little find, off the beaten track”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

This restaurant was recommended by a friend and we arrived quite late after 9pm so it was very quiet except for a few locals. However, in my experience if the locals are there it is good! It was a simple menu with some traditional Czech cuisine as well as some more modern takes on classics. A good quality wine menu and an interesting setting with a large fish tank and some strange aquatic art. From the outside the place doesn't look too inviting and you step down into the basement into the restaurant so it's an evening place, not for lunch. But well worth a visit for a feeling of being in a traditional, local haunt.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank HelenMarie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurant in Prague”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I´m visiting Suterén quite often and always with a perfect dining experience. Whether for lunch or dinner menu, Chef Richard Šusta is one of the best chefs in Prague. For your money you get a lot more value than other restaurants.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Serene place with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

After a long day strolling around in Prague we were searching for a restaurant with a nice and not too crowded atmosphere to have diner. So we walked a bit away from the touristic places and found this gem of a restaurant.
When entering the restaurant the big aquarium is the first thing you will notice. But also the atmosphere is very serene and nice. The waiter apologised for his bad english which was not necessary at all as we were perfectly able to understand each other. For starters I had the snailes, my wife a goat cheese salad and as main course my wife and I shared a dish of donkey.
I never ate donkey before but it tasted very specificic but very good. When we got the bill we were suprised of the price in a good way.

In a nutshell you would be a donkey not to visit this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We didn't get a table at the restaurant we were planning to visit, so we went to this place instead. Abit worried by an empty dining room, only two tables in use. But we decided to try it out. The menu is well presented with special offers and chefs choice. From snails and donkey meat to the traditional choices. A plus for the 18'beer choice :-) abit expensive, with about 3-400 czk for the main meal. Also a 20 czk cover charge. The food we had was excellent and some of the best we had, as we expected from reading the TripAdvisor reviews. We would clearly recommend this place :-) p's. They have a surprise 7 or 10 course meal option, for those who would like to try it out...

Helpful?
1 Thank Per Kristian H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed Suteren also viewed

 

Been to Suteren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing