We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family-friendly regional cuisine” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Konirna

Konirna
Ranked #206 of 5,316 Restaurants in Prague
Cuisines: European, Czech, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Family-friendly regional cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Hearty with good portions, funky Bohemian decor. I recommend the mega-skewer, which is served with amazing roasted potatoes (see photo). The sea bass was good but not great. Very good service.

Might go back and try the house-special Modern Pork with Dumplings and Sauerkraut - the pork is cooked sous vide, which is an interesting twist on the traditional preparation.

For dessert, the house-made plum cake with carmel ice-cream was very tasty, light and not overly sweet. The rest of my family preferred the richer cottage-cheese dumplings with nougat.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FlyingAlpaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    307
    78
    26
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hook Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fab eatery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Ate here twice last week. Good service with a sense of humour. Traditional Czech food was excellent. Lovely location

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank HookyMeads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We actually came here twice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Our hotel suggested we come here upon arriving late in the evening, so we walked down to this place with our 3 boys. Cute place, but we weren't sure, as we had to sit inside with a lot of smokers (it's tough when you come from a fairly non-smoking city as Seattle). As we went through the menu, we ordered a handful of things, wondering if it would be good. Then the food came, and oh my - it was amazing! From the spread on the bread, to every single dish that came out, it was all so very scrumptious! Our picky kids ate every bite, and we would have licked off our plates... instead, in a move we've never done in the past, we came back to this restaurant a second time - we actually planned the rest of our days in Prague in anticipation of coming back. The second time was even better. Our waiter remembered us, kindly sat us in a booth where nobody was smoking and brought out our drinks immediately! Everyone was even more friendly the second time around and so great with our kids. We love this place, and may have to plan another trip out there, just to eat at this place again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank spospk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
285 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Hearty lunch of Czech cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stopped here after a segway tour upon our guide's recommendation. The beer is fabulous, as expected and you can get light and dark. We had one of each and liked both. The food was also delicious - hearty comfort food, just as expected from Czech cuisine. And huge portions too so while we probably paid the tourist prices, we still had a huge lunch with two beers for less than $20 - works for us! The garden is lovely and the service was prompt and efficient. Would recommend if you are in the area, but not sure it's so outstanding that you need to make a special trip.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RSTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitesti, Romania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Quiet Terrace.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

The position is good, in Maltese Square. At the terrace was O.K. at 20.00 Hrs. not so many occupied tables. Service was fine, my son and mine traditional Czech food was not so bad. Unfortunately, my wife goose leg, has a very strange taste, like it was kept too much time in the freezer.
And of course, good Czech beer.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank valentin63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Konirna also viewed

 

Been to Konirna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing