We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely evening”

U Zlate Hrusky Restaurant
Ranked #927 of 5,498 Restaurants in Prague
Cuisines: European, Czech, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Hradcany & Letna
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A lovely evening”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stumbled across this lovely restaurant whilst walking around the very atmospheric and pretty streets of the area and decided to book on the spot. The service was incredibly attentive and the food delicious and (it seemed) authentically Czech. The interior is wood panelled and extremely comfortable. Recommended for a slightly special evening as it is not cheap but nevertheless good value. Try the Czech red wine, it is excellent and not easily found in the UK.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roy1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    65
    12
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“They treat their customers right”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We had reservations for 3 on a rainy Sunday night. It ended up just being two of us. When we got to the castle area, it was deserted. Sure enough, we were the only people in the restaurant. I think they would have closed the restaurant for the evening if we didn't have reservations, as there was no foot traffic around.

But rather than being put out, or acting like we were holding them up, they treated us very well, and the food was excellent. Every restaurant should put their customers first, but many don't. The food was very good (with fresh ingedients in everything from soup to salad to cheese to chicken and grilled vegetables) but the way we were treated at a time they could have just packed it in is what impressed me the most.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HoustonCouchPotatoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Uk
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Weekday lunch in an empty restaurant”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We liked the look of the menu so decided to try this restaurant. There was only one other customer in otherwise empy dining room.

The soups (one tripe, the other onion) were excellent but the main courses were poor to average. My companion ordered pork knuckle. Usually it is served on the bone, here it was served in overcooked looking pieces which turned out to be so tough that they were inedible. On hearing the complaints, the waiter offered to change it for a goulah. The goulash was OK but nothing special. My ham Prague was a mass produced cheap ham, I had much better ham in other Prague restaurants where prices are much lower than at U Zlate Hrusky.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ania1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed 29 January 2013

This was recommended to us by Czech friends. So pleased made the trip (only 10 minutes on the 22 tram to the stop after the castle, then a 2 minute walk down the hill towards the castle/loreto). Delicious food, lovely setting, attentive waiters. Not cheap, but worth it.. I'd definitely go back next time in Prague.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Find”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We found this restaurant by accident when looking for another. It is located just outside of the Prague Castle and behind the Loreto. It had a lovely atmosphere, very pleasant personnel and delicious food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sleem50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed U Zlate Hrusky Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to U Zlate Hrusky Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing