We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountains of food!”
Review of Kolkovna Celnice

Kolkovna Celnice
Ranked #299 of 5,535 Restaurants in Prague
Price range: US$12 - US$23
Cuisines: Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Nove Mesto (New Town)
Description: Celnice is one of the first Kolkovna restaurants and it offers everything a Kolkovna requires. First-class services, unique cuisine and, most importantly, Pilsner lager. The restaurant also offers draft Velkopopovicky Kozel, Master 13° Semi-dark and Birell light.
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
707 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“Mountains of food!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is a great place for an introduction to Czech food. Beware though, because it comes in great quantities. The duck and the rabit was especially enjoyable. So be sure you have a big appetite, or think about sharing. The atmosphere is the beer garden is wonderful...as is the beer. The service is a little slow, but the staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skyhoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    573
    675
    224
    76
    74
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Suburban MD
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Wonderful Czech Pub with Great Food”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We asked our hotel for a recommendation for a place where we could get really good Czech food in an authentic environment. They recommended Kolkovna Celnice and we were delighted with the choice. We liked it so much we came back for a second night as well. Every dish we had was superb and the prices were very reasonable. The service was fast and the beers were great. We really liked the Roast duck, the Turkey Schnizel, the goulash, and the red cabbage. We even ended up buying 3 glass beer mugs to take home to remember this place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theorchidlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food but slow kitchen”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We enjoyed our dinner when we finally received it. I think they forgot our order as everyone around us had been served and were through eating when they told us 5 more minutes. The 5 minutes end up to be 10 minutes. The good news was the meal and the beer were both tasty, just slow.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom6560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent service and local Czech food”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We loved the food and beer here. The food was a mixed platter of meats and the waitress made sure we knew that it would serve two of us--it was 900grams of food (shown on menu).

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank bikehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Fun, value for money, very good service”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by Kolkovna Celnice. I am always 'wary' of tourist restaurants offering 'genuine' cuisine of the country. Combined with this - it was a group booking for 20. My expectations were not high!
The restaurant is in the centre of Prague and not far from many of the Prague sites and central hotels. We were sat in the large, bustling downstairs seating area. Drinks orders were taken and delivered quickly. Both the food and drink prices are in line with other Prague restaurants 'off the tourist track' and provide very good value for money. The service was quick, and they handled our frequent moving places with a smile and still managed to serve the correct meal to the right person
This is fun tourist venue which offers value for money and good service. Be warned - it is neither a fine dining nor a romantic venue - but for what it offers - I would happily visit it again next time I am in Prague

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hengen96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kolkovna Celnice also viewed

 

Been to Kolkovna Celnice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing