We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A V O I D ”

HILT black light theatre - Divadlo u Valsu
Book In Advance
More Info
US$26.26*
and up
'The Phantom' Black Light Theater Show in Prague
Ranked #836 of 1,097 things to do in Prague
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The genre of black light theater collects worldwide success since 1955 and its "home" became Czech Republic. Visual effects, floating figures and the magic of colors in the infinite space of absolute darkness is breathtaking theater experience. The author of the show Theodor Hoidekr has directed several shows of black light theater and worked among others with the greatest film star of Bollywood Abhishek Bachchan in New Delhi. Shadow theater is the worldwide theatrical hit in recent years. Since the times of ancient China when it was performed by magicians as a shadow on the screen using light of a candle flame, a lot has changed. Modern technology offers a combination of projection and shadows of a live actor. Many theater groups stunned the world in a variety of TV talent competitions with their magical shadow scenes. Black light theater HILT comes as the first Czech theater with the whole performance of shadow theater on a permanent stage in Prague. The spectators can see the love story of Cinderella and the prince in the original version.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

Simply, terrible. Felt like we were in a high school talent show. Poor production. Do not waste your money.

Thank Nikkii_rx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theodor H, Generální ředitel at HILT black light theatre - Divadlo u Valsu, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Dear Nikki,
we are sorry you did not like the show. But - thank you for visiting. Even after the last show we have spent with the people from the audience with thanking us for the experience, I understand, black light theatre is not for everybody. I am wondering that your TripAdvisor profile was made just before this review and this is your only review ever... Greetings from Prague

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

6 - 10 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2017

Great performance. I really enjoyed the Phantom tonight. Audio, visual, movement, all was impressive work. Well done guys...

Thank Yannis_Kourakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Very strange performance, different from anything we have seen before. Not the big theatre but amazing idea. Thank you.

Thank tofer53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theodor H, Generální ředitel at HILT black light theatre - Divadlo u Valsu, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Thank you for the review! Hoping you had a good time in Prague. looking forward to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2016

One of the greatest, magical and original show i have ever been.... Very busy and dynamic, it's funny and romantic, it's got it all. I can just recommend it to every one, who like crazy and unusuall thinks. One can not get bored....

Thank TroubleAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theodor H, Generální ředitel at HILT black light theatre - Divadlo u Valsu, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Thank you so much for this review! Hoping to see you in Prague again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

My husband and I have seen many theatre productions in Australia, Asia and the US as well as on our 5 week trip through Europe this holiday. I have friends who perform in community theatre productions, so I'm well versed in how amateur theatre differs to the professional productions in terms of budget etc. I normally would not give such a bad review, except in this case I wouldn't want anyone else to go in under false pretenses.

Accordingly, I can safely say that this was an amateur show (Phantom), self important and disappointing. Repetitive and sloppy choreography, sometimes bizarre themes and even quite sexist and racist overtones (eg a very outdated take on African tribal culture). The most interesting ideas were laboured and extended beyond our patience.

Clearly the cast was trying hard, but their enthusiasm could not overcome the basic flaws. Also, the 'illusion' of the blacklight was let down by the fluoro costumes peeking through at times, black tights not fully covering limbs etc.

In Prague, there are so many other options for live entertainment, this is not worth the relatively cheap ticket price.

Thank Dana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theodor H, Generální ředitel at HILT black light theatre - Divadlo u Valsu, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

We are sorry our show was not your "cup of tea" even everytime there is satisfied audience. Hoping the rest of your stay in Prague was nice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed HILT black light theatre - Divadlo u Valsu also viewed

 

Been to HILT black light theatre - Divadlo u Valsu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing