We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hostel”
Review of Hostel Bridge 2

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Bridge 2
Ranked #510 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed 24 June 2010

old building, but they all are in prague. the facilities were very clean. the shared bathrooms were also very clean. our room was a good size with 3 twin beds. high ceilings. right in the heart of everything. it is a few minutes walk from staromestska metro station and half a block away from charles (karlov) bridge. when you first arrive, it is difficult to find. there is no sign. it is above a restaurant. you must look for "bridge" on the intercom buttons on the front at street level. the person that checked us in was not there at the time, so we had to call a local number. fyi, if possible, it would be useful to have a mobile phone to do so. we tried a pay phone and it was broken. luckily, the host showed up about 30 minutes later to check us in upstairs. you have to walk up several flights of stairs. no elevator. if that's of concern to you.

the host's name was petra and she is a really nice lady. she volunteered all kinds of advice and gave us tips, such as never exchange money on the street, always lock your doors, etc. she was also more than happy to show us the laundry, the internet, the best supermarkets nearby, the best resturants, and the best money exchange place (eXchange is the name of the place. corner of radnice and platnerska. good rates and no commission. get there early in the day. otherwise, there might be a long line. hours: 9 am to 20 (8 pm)). the laundry is free. there is one desktop computer for everyone to use and that has free internet. free instant coffee and tea in the rooms. free towels and linens. rack to hang and dry clothes. free shampoo in the bathroom. free detergent next to the free washing machine. free snacks in the common area. can use the communal fridge. no microwave. no free breakfast. no wifi in the rooms. small tv and dvd player in the common area. the other people staying at the hostel were respectful, quiet, and clean. very unlike the "stereotypical" hostel guests.

i would definitely stay here again. i would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank climber22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2010

First off I didnt really enjoy my time in Prague, it was miserable weather and constantly raining so that may reflect badly on this accommodation.

We struggled to find this hostel as there were no signs or the like, it was basically a big door that was locked. But eventually we were greeted by the host. He took us up some steps through a back door, over a small bridge inbetween buildings and finally into the apartment. Being wet and tired this was a little annoying with our bags but we made it. And I guess it makes it a bit more memorable.

The room was roomy and good enough, it wasnt flash but what do we expect for a hostel in Prague? To be honest it was nicer than expected and the host was very gracious. He gave us a map and directions to all the must see places.

From my recolection the bathroom was shared which we are not fans of but we booked it what that known so we cant complain.

The entire apartment was a little bit dark but that may have been due to the fact it was dark and miserable outside.

Overall I probably would stay here again if I wanted something cheap and clean, plus it was in a really central location just steps away from Charles Bridge.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2009

This hostel is located in the center of all the tourist areas in Prague. We loved being in walking distance to everything and being able to stop back to the hostel during the day. We could look out our window and see Charles Bridge. It was about 5 blocks from Old Town Square.

We stayed in a one bedroom private room. Since it is a hostel, we shared a full bathroom with another 2 rooms (about 5 other people). There, however, was an additional bathroom without a shower on the same floor that we were one.

There is nothing fancy about this hostel, but it was clean and had everything we needed. They have free coffee, a kitchen, and free internet. Additionally, it was reasonably priced for the location.

One caution: This hostel is hard to find. It is on the top of a restaurant. You will probably need to ask the restaurant waiters and they will buzz the hostel employee to come down and bring you up when you first arrive

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rae_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2009

We took the advantage of some cheap flight deals and visited Prague for a few days in early June. Travel from the airport was fairly straightforward and it did not take us long to find the accommodation.

It was not obvious from the street where exactly the hostel was but we followed the instructions given and were met by very friendly staff. The location is excellent, very central and literally steps away from Karluv Most. We were staying on the top floor which meant a lot of steps, but also a nice view of the nearby rooftops and the bridge itself (if you leant out the window a little). Despite the location above a busy street we didn't notice too much noise.

The room was big and clean. The bed was fairly basic - two singles pushed together, however it was perfectly adequate. The bathroom facilities were shared but lockable, and kept nice and clean. The shower was good.

There was a communal fridge and free internet access which came in handy. The code was provided for the mini-safe without additional charge and overall the staff were very helpful, even pointing out places we could go to eat.

The accommodation mainly served as a base for us to explore the city for a few days. It seems ideally suited for small groups of people who want a nice clean and comfortable place stop for a few nights at a reasonable price.

Overall very impressed.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Daniel_Siddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2008

The hostel is a bit hidden as there is no indication and it does not have any reception but when you are in you will see that is a pretty clean place to stay in the centre of the city!! The staff is lovely, really really helpful. You have a complete kitchen (fridge, plates, cooker, kettle, glasses...) to use whenever you need. The heater works perfectly so it's quite warm all day long.
It is a kind of apartment more than a hostel but with sharing bathroom.
I did enjoy to be there.
I hope this review help you!

Stayed: March 2008
Thank Vanessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2007

I booked myself into Hostel Bridge 2, which is about 3 mins walk away from Charles Bridge. Location is simply unbeatable - it takes about a 5 mins walk from the Staromestro Metro Station to reach the hostel, a couple of mins will lead you to Old Town and its right in the middle of the tourist/souvenir shops etc.

There is no prominent sign which leads you to the hostel and you will easily miss it if you do not notice it. Look out for No. 10 on the door and that is it! if you see "No. 10" and "Shopping Centre" on the outside of the door, you are at the right place. Please make sure you call the hostel in advance if you are arriving late as there will be no reception to help you check in if you are late.

You need to climb up a flight of stairs to reach the hostel rooms. The stairway is dark which can be quite scary for single female travellers. Lights to level 1 seems to be operated by sensor, i.e. it will be on automatically when it senses movement but not level 2 which my room was located. I was back at about 9:30pm one night and the stairway was so dark that I could not even see my keyhole and I do not even know where the light switches are located. Was a bit panickly but thankfully someone was already in the hostel and they came out to open the door for me.

Now on the rooms - I booked a double (two single beds) room but was given a four single beds room. Room is extremely basic with dim lighting, basic shared bathroom (which I thought smell a little) and also they have a kitchen area where you can make your drinks and have a seat there. Don't expect to have a peaceful sleep though cos people will be partying all night outside and the noise can go on till about 3-4am.

The reception staff who helped me with the check in was extremely helpful though and he will help with whatever queries you have.

On the whole, I would say this is a place for party goers who just want to have a place to sleep or for group of friends who are on a budget. Personally, I would prefer not to recommend it to females travelling on their own.

1  Thank ExJas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carolina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Czech Inn
Czech Inn
#11 of 691 in Prague
793 reviews
Praha 7
PLUS Prague
PLUS Prague
#21 of 691 in Prague
905 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
#523 of 646 in Prague
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hilton Prague Old Town
Hilton Prague Old Town
#89 of 646 in Prague
3,309 reviews
Praha 1
Hilton Prague
Hilton Prague
#141 of 646 in Prague
5,090 reviews
Praha 4
Occidental Praha
Occidental Praha
#184 of 646 in Prague
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Bridge 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Bridge 2

Address: Karlova 10, Prague, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #510 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Number of rooms: 281
Also Known As:
Hostel Bridge 2 Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing