We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel General

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel General
Ranked #24 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

Enjoyed this hotel and recommend as a place to stay. Very good breakfast every day with hot dishes prepared to request as well as cereals, fruits and various breads and rolls. Numerous reasonable restaurants nearby on the main street about 2 blocks away as well as a large mall with a British chain supermarket so you can buy pretty much anything you want.
Walking in Prague is very tiring due to the uneven streets - all cobblestones. The hotel is a reasonably long walk from the main historic square and the castle so wear shoes with firm rubber soles rather than soft ones.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bomani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,204
    139
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
174
854
53
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lesignano de' Bagni, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

little hotel with only 20 rooms, suites and apartments, perfect for a pleasant tour of Prague. Quite near historical centre of the city. Perfect staff and confortable rooms. Cleanliness everywhere. Small high-level restaurant. Internal Garage. Wi-fi free connections in room.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nik1972_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

having once worked at one of the world's landmark hotels, it is difficult to travel without always taking measure of location, service and accomodation, and that said, I cannot say enough about this wonderful hotel, since it surpassed expectations on every level. the staff was so attentive, we felt like the only guests. from the start when our train from Budapest delayed our arrival by hours and left us at a different train station, the hotel secured a cheerful driver who found our train a was waiting for us on the platform, and also gave us a mini tour of his city on the way to the hotel. the hotel accomodations and breakfast were exceptional. we were even given a laptop to use during our stay. the location proved to be perfect since we were able to leave the crowds and noise of the city center behind with a 5 min tram ride. Prague was the highlight of our 5 city trip in no small part to the wonderful hospitality of this hotel. I can also highly recommend our tour guide, Dana Chaloupka who wonderfully managed our small group (20, 51 and 82 yrs) over two days to make sure we saw the sights, learned about her city, took a break for sunday mass and ate very well. having decided to add a visit to this city on a whim, we all agreed it was the best part of our amazing european tour.

Room Tip: nice quiet area, view irrelevant
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geeLongIsland_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

I stayed two nights in this very nice and quite hotel and I enjoyed it very much: excellent services, excellent breakfast.
For sure I will be back when I will be again in Prague.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mattiacrespi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville Centre, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

The Hotel General was a real find. What's not to like about a hotel that welcomes you with a drink and a personal welcome/orientation to Prague from the fabulous front desk staff! The service was impeccable - everyone was so polite, so friendly, so helpful - just so wonderful. Everyone from the wait staff, the front desk staff, the bellman/doorman housekeeping and management wants you to love your stay and it shows! It is spotless. The breakfast was delicious every day.

The location may seem slightly off the beaten path at first glance, but everything in Prague is accessible from the Metro/Tram or Bus stop a short walk from the hotel.

We would not consider staying anyplace else if we get back to Prague!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kellythurston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

Needed a break where it was quiet and comfortable, been to Prague before so this was a most relaxing few days , the staff were lovely and we wouldn't hesitate to go back there. Very well recommended but a little too far out of city if you dont know how the transport system works,

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goerdiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2011

Very good hotel, in a quiet part of Prague with tramway connection to the Old City around the corner.
Very good multilingual staff.
Good size, nicely period furnished rooms. Very clean and quiet.
Breakfast international business standard, good choice of meat, cheeses, fruits, cereals...

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KotR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileM, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 17 May 2011
Dear KotR,

It was a great pleasure to receive such warm review.
We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at Hotel General and hope to see you back on your next stay in Prague.

With warm regards on the behalf of Hotel General team,

Mrs. Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#11 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#26 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#31 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel General? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel General

Property: Hotel General
Address: Svornosti 1143/10 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#10 Family Hotel in Prague
#20 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#45 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel General 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive and officially certified 5* hotel General is located in central location between Vltava river and Andel business area. This perfect location allows the guests reach all main tourist attractions within a short walk or by using city transport. Personal attention to guests, peaceful and unique atmosphere of the hotel, comfort and exceptional services were already highly acknowledged by hotels guests and by today Hotel General has become one of the top recommended hotels in Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel General reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing