We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel General
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Anette(Prague)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Angelis(Prague)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,474)
Filter reviews
1,474 results
Traveller rating
1,289
152
23
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,289
152
23
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswelcome drinkold townwonderful hotelsmall hotelthe hotel staffminute walkpublic transporttram and metrotwo blocksthe entire stafffive star hotelcity centrethe main touristcharles bridgebreakfast was excellenthighly recommend this hotelquiet area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
692 - 697 of 1,474 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at The General Hotel in April and had a wonderful time. Having travelled alot due to being a travel agent in the UK I can honestly say I could not fault this Hotel, it is a perfect city break . It is small but amazingly friendly and helpful and although situated not right in the centre we didn't find this a problem atall. It may be worth thinking through your plans each day though as we found the walk into town pleasant , then after walking round all day and then walking back to the hotel , we did not feel like walking back into town , therefore we chose to eat in the restaurants close to the Hotel. The only downside to this was there is not nearly as much choice , so if you want to take full advantage of the choice of restaurants town , it may be worth using public transport or cabs for some journeys ! Loved the breakfast room at the hotel and pancakes were yum ! The small bar downstairs very cosy and service so attentive. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone !!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jojosay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear jojosay,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your impressions with other travelers.
It gives us a great pleasure to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you have truly enjoyed your stay with us.
We thank you for your kind words and review and hope to welcome you back any time soon.

With warm regards from hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

From the minute we arrived we were blown away by the hotel and staff. Our bags were carried in by the door man then we had our welcome meeting. The receptionist presented us with information on the city and gave advice and information on public transport, restaurants and places of interest. shown up to our room, which was well equipped and extremely clean, tea and coffee facilities, mini bar, everything was just perfect. A fantastic hotel away from the hustle and bustle but fantastically located for public transport, and large shopping centre, and if like us you like to walk, it's only a short walk to the heart of the city. The breakfast caters for all tastes, and again the waiters were attentive, friendly and welcoming. All in all a fantastic hotel that we would thoroughly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Dianne D,

On the behalf of the hotel team I would like to thank you for choosing hotel General and for posting such warm review on TripAdvisor.
It gives us a great joy to know that we were able to meet all your expectations and you have truly enjoyed your stay with us.
We thank you for your kind words and hope to welcome you back at hotel General whenever your travels will bring you to the lovely city of Prague.

With warm regards from hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We visit in prague in 8-12/6 and we were very satisfied from the hotel. Absolutely fantastic! The room was super clean and the Vicky the receptionist was so nice! She explained us about the city and the main sites we should visit, about the metro, tram and bus. It was a great vacation and i recommend for this hotel! The location was not that close to the old city but there is a tram station which very close and it's about 10 minutes driving from there.

Thank you very much!
Tomer Ben David

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbd127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Tomer Ben David,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for staying with us and for sharing your impressions about our hotel.
It gives us a great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for that.

Wit arm regards from Prague and the General team
Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Hotel General was fairly easy to find. The welcome was lovely! with a refreshing beverage upon arrival. The hotel and rooms are beautiful , clean and very comfortable. The bed is soft and the rooms quiet. We ate at the restaurant the first night and were looked after by Mustafa. Excellent food and service. Just a short walk from the hotel is the river and ample public transport to take you anywhere in Prague. The staff are helpful and friendly. I thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The second floor has been great.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Casduff,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for posting your review on TripAdvisor.
It gives us a great pleasure to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We thank you for your kind words and hope to welcome you back at the hotel General.

With warm regards from hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This is a modest hotel with very friendly staff. Our room was clean, but outdated. The AC unit wasn't working well and you cannot open the windows due to the traffic noise outside - so the room was a little stifling. I also found the hotel fairly isolated. We walked back to the hotel one night and vowed not to do it again - just did not feel safe. The breakfast was ok - coffee was terrible! (This is in comparison to Budapest and Vienna) I would look for something more central next time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryHogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear MaryHogan,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your impressions with the other travelers.
You opinion is very important to us as a source of possible further improvement therefore we thank you for all you comments and suggestions.

Answering to your comments I would like to mention that out hotels location and its vicinity are clearly indicated at our hotels website and in all available channels.
Concerning the AC I have personally informed the person in charge but it is still a great pity that you haven't mentioned this issue during your stay as I am sure we could have fix it or find another suitable solution for you.

I feel sorry to hear that despise all our efforts we were not able to meet all your expectations towards our hotel and you have felt confused with the reviews that you have read before the arrival.

Sincerely,

Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews