We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in the northern hemisphere”
Review of Hotel General

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel General
Ranked #21 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Traveling all over the northern hemisphere (Europe & North America), we have never found a better hotel than the Hotel General. From check-in to check-out, we were totally pampered beyond our wildest expectations. After checking in, Vicky sat down with us and went over the map of Prague with us, showing us all attractions and where they were relative to the Hotel General - excellent restaurants off the beaten track, tourist attractions, tram and bus system use, etc. The Double Deluxe room with the king bed was an excellent room with all we would ever need. The breakfast, which came with the room rate, was a white-glove affair - we could go thru an excellent buffet or order from their kitchen. Best breakfast ever. A very nice, intimate bar and lounge. They have an airport pick up and take back service, which was a great way to get to and from the airport. Dave and his Audi did a great job transporting us as well as being our tour director. We highly recommend the Hotel General without any hesitancy whatsoever. Vicky, Dasha, and the Hotel General Team did an incredible job. Actually, this review is for our stay in May, 2012 - sorry for the tardiness. We truly hope the flooding Vltava River did not get up to them this past spring. Here in Prague, we also learned about SANDEMANs Tours, which we also recommend without hesitation - both the free and the pay-for tours; we also used them in Scotland. A wonderful small and intimate hotel with impeccable service for the customers.

Room Tip: With only twenty incredible rooms, you cannot go wrong in choosing a room to meet your exact requir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orangegator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear Orangegator,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your experience with the other travelers.
It gives us a great joy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you have felt pampered through your whole stay with us and after such time has passed you still remember us and your stay in Prague.
We thank you for your kind words and hope to welcome you back at the General on you next trip to Prague.

With warm regards from Prague and hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

649 - 655 of 1,436 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013

Have just returned from a three night stay in The General Hotel. I would highly recommend this accommodation. The staff are very friendly and helpful and as previously reviewed, the rooms may be on the small side, however they are more than adequate. How much room does one need to sleep ? A bonus is the peace and quiet - traffic is but a distant hum. The rooms and hotel itself are exceptionally clean, bathroom is excellent.
Breakfast is eaten in a lovely, finely decorated room with waiting staff providing an efficient service.
As for the location - yes the hotel is situated away from the main tourist area, there was no evidence to show that this is a rough area. The walk towards Charles Bridge is around 20 - 30 minutes, however there is a superbly efficient tram system,costing only a few pounds for a 24 hour period. It is easy to use and navigate journeys around Prague. we were able to visit every major place of interest over our 3 day stay. There are some lovely eateries a short walk from the Hotel and frequented by locals - always a bonus .
Should we visit Prague again we would choose to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Room on the third floor facing the main street was very quiet .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iknowicantsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear iknowicantsing,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your prolonged 3-nights stay in Prague and for posting your review on TripAdvisor.
It gives us a great joy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back at the General on your next trip to Prague.

With warm regards from Prague.
Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This is the best Hotel stay I have ever had..hands down !!
I was prebooked on this hotel and was taking a train from Vienna to Prague. The train was delayed due to some accidents on the way... The cab driver that was arranged by the Hotel was there at the station even after hours of delay. The check in was awesome, the service was amazing. We used their Sauna facilities and it was amazing. I would strongly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Prague !!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nixforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear nixforfun,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your impressions with the other travelers.
We thank you for your kind words and hope to welcome you back at the General on your next trip to Prague.

With warm regards from hotel team,
Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Located within a quiet sector of Prague the hotel ticks all the right boxes; exceptional staff, excellent comfort, and close to Prague's wonderful public transport. We were upgraded to a General Suite with a large bedroom, study and two bathrooms; wonderfully comfortable bed and excellent breakfasts.
A fantastic choice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lyn-tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear Lyntony,

On the behalf of the hotel team I would like to thank you for choosing hotel General and for sharing your experience with the other travelers.

With best regards from Prague and the General team
Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Upon our arrival we were greeted by Vicky at the front desk where she most graciously welcomed us then sat down with us and, over a drink of our choice, outlined the features of the hotel, how best to get around Prague - beware of taxi's - described the public transport system and made us feel comfortable and at home. Thanks you again Vicky
The room we had booked was a junior suite, well presented, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, a varied selection at the buffet and also a choice of a cooked breakfast. The evening meal at the restaurant was also very nice. The restaurant staff were very courteous, helpful and at all times attentive and thank's to Mustafa and crew for that. We elected to have the Hotels car service to take us to the rail station for convenience and price, less expensive than the local taxi service and no bargaining! A really perfect 3 night stay, thanks.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MikeyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear MikeyPerth,

On the behalf of the hotel General I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Prague and for posting this review on TripAdvisor.
It gives us a great pleasure to know that we were able to meet your expectations towards the quality of hotel services and you have truly enjoyed your stay with us.
We thank you for your kind words and hope to welcome you back at the General in the future.

With warm regards from hotel staff - Vicky, Mustafa and others.
Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We have just spent 4 nights at the Hotel General and wanted to share our experience with others who may be thinking of staying here. You will not be disappointed...... with only 20 rooms it is a small hotel which is big on service and attention to detail. We opted to pay for the car pick up service from the airport and it was well worth it to be met at arrivals and driven to the hotel by Miro (? not sure of exact spelling!) who provided us with a lot of background information on the history of Prague during our journey. From the moment you walk into the hotel the staff are at your service making sure that you have all the information you need about the hotel and Prague itself. The young ladies at reception, Dasha and Vicky, speak excellent English and will tell you how to get around by tram / metro and where to find everything on the map of Prague that they provide. All the staff at the hotel are very polite, friendly and committed to making your stay at their hotel enjoyable. Our room was upgraded to a General suite with two bathrooms, a lounge, hallway, dressing area and large bedroom - which was an added bonus and a lovely surprise! The restaurant staff are very attentive and friendly, nothing is to much trouble and the buffet breakfast actually provides a mix of self-service and waiter service with a very good selection of hot and cold food to cater for all tastes. We did not actually have time to try the restaurant in the evening but the menu looked very good - maybe next time.
The river, the trams, the metro and a good selection of bars and restaurants are close to the hotel which is in a quiet area of Prague away from the busier main tourist area across the river in the Old Town. We did not try the metro but can highly recommend the trams which are very reasonable and make the city easy to navigate.
Prague is a great place to visit with something for everyone and if you enjoy beer then you must visit the Sv. Norbert Monastery brewery and try their beers (in 4 days we actually went back twice!). We also visited the Staropranem brewery which is only a short distance from the hotel - the brewery tour is not what we expected as you see nothing of the actual working brewery, which was disappointing. It is more of an unguided brewery museum tour and in our opinion not actually worth the 199 czk entrance fee. However, this does include a small glass of beer at the end of the tour and the beer itself is excellent - better to just go into the brewery bar and have a glass or two of beer at 39 czk each!
Overall an excellent city break and well worth staying at the Hotel General.

Room Tip: Our room at the rear of the hotel was very quiet and comfortable. The rooms on the other side of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pippa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Pippa T,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay and for posting such detailed and informative review.
It gives us a great joy to know that we were able to meet your expectations towards the hotel and its level of services and you ad a pleasant stay with us.
We thank you for sharing your kind words with the others and hope to welcome you back at the hotel General in the nearest future.

With warm regards from Prague and the General team
Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Perfect stay in every way from the car pick up service (costs only a few $ more than a grotty taxi) to the very welcome drink and city orienteering meeting.
The hotel is situated in the Smichov district of Prague. This district with its vibrant contemporary art scene and unpretentious bars and restaurants offers an authentic taste of Czech life. We found it to be a very safe area.
The hotel is near the Andel tram station which, once we got the hang of the tram map, we found it to be a great way to explore this vibrant and very historic city.
If you are thinking of visiting Prague I would thoroughly recommend the hotel General for your stay, especially if you want to escape the downtown tourist traps.
All the hotel staff are fantastic and they will all go the extra mile to ensure you have a very enjoyable stay and get the best out of your trip.
We will definitely be booking again for our next visit.
A very worthy Trip Advisor winner.

Room Tip: Not so much to get a good room , use Trivargo to get a great deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank malbeck3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear malbeck3030,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for staying with us and for posting this review on TripAdvisor.
It gives a great pleasure to know that we were able to meet your expectations and we have become your pleasant escape from the city bustle.
We thank you for your kind words towards our hotel and personnel and hope to welcome you back at the General any time soon.

With warm regards from hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#22 of 647 in Prague
711 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#12 of 647 in Prague
1,053 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#24 of 647 in Prague
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Hotel 16
Hotel 16
#7 of 647 in Prague
777 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 647 in Prague
2,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel General? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel General

Address: Svornosti 1143/10 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#10 Family Hotel in Prague
#19 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#45 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £72 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel General 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive and officially certified 5* hotel General is located in central location between Vltava river and Andel business area. This perfect location allows the guests reach all main tourist attractions within a short walk or by using city transport. Personal attention to guests, peaceful and unique atmosphere of the hotel, comfort and exceptional services were already highly acknowledged by hotels guests and by today Hotel General has become one of the top recommended hotels in Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel General reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing