We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Winter break in Prague”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel General

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel General
Ranked #22 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Winter break in Prague”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

My wife and I had three wonderful nights at this little hotel last month and were mightily impressed. The staff could never do enough for you and the decor was lovely, with the 'General' themed rooms quite original (and a little amusing at times).

We also had the best meal of our visit in the hotel restaurant! True it isn't right in the middle of the tourist hot spots and the streets surrounding aren't the prettiest, but if we ever go back we will stay there again as everything else was perfect.

Special thanks to Dasha on reception, Mostafa in the restaurant, and Ibrahim in the kitchen.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Colin728,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you and your wife for choosing our hotel and for sharing your impressions on TripAdvisor.
It gives us a great joy to see that we were able to meet and maybe exceed your expectations and that your stay has become a truly wonderful experience.
We thank you for your kind words and hope to welcome you back at the General on your next visit to Prague.

With best regards from hotel team (incl. Dasha, Mustafa and Ibrahim)
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,220
    139
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
174
865
53
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

A wonderful small hotel with beautiful rooms and lovely tasting food. What makes this hotel so amazing is it's staff. All of the staff are very friendly, courteous and helpful. Ibrahim particularly, who serves in the restaurant and the wine bar was extremely friendly. Prague is a beautiful city and we are delighted to have come and when we return again, we will definitely be returning to the Hotel General.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear David O,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your experience with the others.
Your kind words towards our hotel staff are the best reward for their hard every day word and we thank you for them.

With best regards for the New Year
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleroi, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

A wonderful hotel with a great character.
From the arrival we were advised and very nicely received with a glass of champaign. With many thanks to Vicky (who speaks perfectly English) and the team who is very attentious (opening doors, carrying luggage,...).
The service in the breakfast/restaurant room was excellent and we would like to thank especially Ibrahim and his team for the 'VIP' treatment :)
The rooms are very spatious and accommodated with luxury equipment (digital tv, beautiful bathroom,...)
Also the cleaning team payed special attention to details (nicely folded towels, a present and a bottle of wine at the last day of our stay)

We really recommend this hotel to all the people who want to spend a great time in Prague.

We had the best vacation ever!

Patrick and Natacha from Belgium.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickNatacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear PatrickNatacha,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your experience with the other travelers.
It gives us a great pleasure to see that we were able to meet your expectations and you have enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest.

With best wishes for the upcoming New Year
Ringaile Radojevic and hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

My wife and I knew that it was special the time we walked out of our shuttle bus at the front door of Hotel General. The bellhop walked straight to our shuttle bus to help us to carry the luggage. This was certainly expected for a 5-star hotel. What's special was that he looked into the inner of our shuttle bus to make sure we did not leave our cell phones/wallets/other items (we were the last passengers on the shuttle bus and we were the only ones getting off at Hotel General). This shows attention to details and we really appreciated it.

The next - receptionist. The receptionist, who was a lady namely Vicky, was very nice. She always talked with a beautiful smile. Apart from being nice and did the ordinary check-in routine, she asked if it was the first time we came to Prague. We said yes. She then led us to sit down at a table, pulled out a city map, and introduced the city to us. She informed us about the tram numbers which ran between the Hotel and major sightseeing spots. This was enormously useful indeed because although I have found the info about metro on the Internet, info about trams (which was the preferred choice), on the other hand, is not readily available.

The breakfast which was included in the room price, was exceptional. Not only there was a self-served buffet (ordinary stuff) but we could order additional hot dishes from a menu which was indeed delicious. The ham and cheese omelet was the best omelet my wife and I have ever tasted. There was no exaggeration. You should try it. The 2 restaurant crews were very polite and willing to serve.

Truly excellent experience. Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hung L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Hung L,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for posting such warm and beautiful review.
Your opinion and comments are very important to us as a guidance for our possible further improvement therefore we are very grateful for all the points that you have mentioned and glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest.
We thank you for your kind words and wish all the best for the upcoming New Year.

On the behalf of the hotel General team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We spent 3 nights at General (on Christmas). It was a perfect choice for us. Lovely room, very professional stuff, paying attention to details from the very first minute of our arrrival throughtout the time spent at General. Excellent courtesy of staff at reception, restaurant. All show care.
The hotel is well located, you'll need up to 20 min. of walk time to get to Karlov bridge, very convenient.
I'll recommend General to my friends planning to visit Prague.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Igor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Igor F,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for posting your review on TripAdvisor.
It gives us a great joy to see that we were able to meet your expectations and you and your family have enjoyed your Christmas stay to the fullest.

With best wishes for the upcoming New Year
Hotel General team and Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Anselmo, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We did a great deal of research before deciding to stay at the Hotel General. We knew very few people who had been to Prague so we relied on the Trip Advisor community for the most part.

This hotel turned out to be an excellent choice and after walking around and seeing other hotels in the city we were glad we stayed here.

Prague is on the cusp of becoming (just) another European city and could lose some of its old world charm in the process. My husband and I hope that hotels like this one can keep the culture and the traditions alive and thriving.

1. Very large, quiet and well appointed rooms
2. Exceptional service - the front desk, the dining room, the cleaning staff. A+ every one of them.
3. Atmosphere- yes we were paying tourists but it was really nice to be treated more like guests in a very grand and luxurious establishment. The staff at the Hotel General did an amazing job of making us feel like we were welcome but they did not fawn all over us or make us feel uncomfortable. The hotel staff gave us our space, yet somehow always knew when we needed something.
4. The hotel carries on the traditions of the Czech Republic but we did not feel like it was a show just for us. The ambience felt genuine.
5.Modern conveniences - yes they have strong wifi, lots of plugs, well appointed bathrooms with great water pressure, comfortable beds, and so on. For all my talk of old world charm - when traveling if I can't get things done and/or feel like I am 'doing without' just to fit in- then I am really not that interested.

The location of the hotel is the only potential downside, which some visitors may see as an upside. It is relatively far from the tourist area and although an easy enough/pleasant walk and close to transportation - it may be a consideration for some.

Also the neighborhood ambience is just ok. Hard to describe; but to us it seemed like it is in the middle of trying to figure out what it is. Part local shops (not the quaint kinds more like mini markets aka what we call 7-11 types in the U.S.) and part residential with industrial type apartments. But all we had to was walk a few blocks to the river and the myraid of bridges.

As seasoned travelers we highly recommend the Hotel General!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristinehanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear kristinehanna,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for posting such detailed and warm review on our hotel and its services.
It gives us a great pleasure to know that after such long consideration on hotel choice in Prague, you have chosen our hotel and we have proved to meet your expectations and you have enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest.
We thank you for your kind words towards our personnel and detailed description of hotel amenities and hope to welcome you back at the General on your next visit to Prague.

With best wishes for the upcoming New Year
Hotel General team and Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

This Hotel is very well kept. The breakfast was very nice and filling with lots of options. The building is older and the rooms are small but that was expected. For My business trip the hotel was only a 5 min walk from my office and about 20 min to the City Center. For a vacation trip i would have wanted to be on the east side of the river but for my business this place was perfect. Bigger rooms and you get a 5 of 5.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Nick B,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for posting your review on TripAdvisor.
You review is very important to us and we thank you for the all the points you have mentioned and opinion that you have expressed.

Sincerely,
Ringaile Radojevic
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#12 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#25 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#26 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Hotel 16
Hotel 16
#6 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,621 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel General? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel General

Property: Hotel General
Address: Svornosti 1143/10 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#10 Family Hotel in Prague
#19 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#45 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel General 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive and officially certified 5* hotel General is located in central location between Vltava river and Andel business area. This perfect location allows the guests reach all main tourist attractions within a short walk or by using city transport. Personal attention to guests, peaceful and unique atmosphere of the hotel, comfort and exceptional services were already highly acknowledged by hotels guests and by today Hotel General has become one of the top recommended hotels in Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel General reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing