We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four Days in Prague”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel General

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel General
Ranked #22 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Four Days in Prague”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Never been to Prague and would definitely go again. I picked the Hotel on trip advisors ratings and was not disappointed . We were meet at the airport and whisked to the hotel in a swish Audi and an impeccable chauffeur . The doorman took our bags and delivered them to our room whilst we were given drinks. We were sat down and the receptionist pointed put all the relevant places to visit and how to use the Metro and Trams . The suite was superb and everything was new and nothing was out of place. Breakfast is served in a stylish room with blue glass chandeliers , the waiters are liveried and wear white gloves and quickly learn your favourite times to eat and drink . This is a gem of a hotel and is one of those rare places I would revisit in a heartbeat .
I can't thank all the staff enough for making our stay a memorable one .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CockneyRebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear CockneyRebel,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your 4 days stay in Prague.
It gives us a great pleasure to see that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a memorable stay with us.
We thank you for your kind words and review and hope to welcome you back at the General.

Sincerely,
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,220
    140
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
174
866
53
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We had a lovely stay. The staff could not have been more helpful.
We were upgraded to the Napoleon Suite as the Hotel was quiet, a nice touch and much appreciated.
We found the Hotel a safe and easy 15-20 minute walk from the old town, an ideal distance to walk off the Dumplings. Easy to use Public Transport nearby if you don't fancy the walk.
Nice and quiet at this time of year, but cold. Wrap up and use appropriate foot ware in case of ice on the cobbled pavements and streets. Be warned that not all Museums are open on Mondays.
EXCELLENT !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DryFlyTam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear DryFlyTam,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your experience with other travelers on TripAdvisor.
It gives us a great joy to see that we were able to meet and even exceed your expectations and you had a wonderful stay with us.
We thank you for your kind words and hope to welcome you back at the General on your next trip to Prague.

With warm regards from the hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

This is a great hotel. Very well appointed and brilliant staff. Its about afifteen to twenty minute walk to the main square but avery easy walk and the tram or metro system is excellent and very easy to use.
Its comfortable well appointed and great value. loved it

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevandgaynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear kevandgaynor,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your experience with the other travelers.

With warm regards,
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We wondered what to expect when walking down the street in the dark, but as soon as we stepped through the door the welcome was amazing. Vicky, on reception, gave us as much help as we wanted on things to see and where to go, as well as a drink while we talked. The room was very cleverly decorated to follow the theme of a general, as are all the rooms - very original and very well done.
The staff could not have been more helpful and cheerful. From the doormen to Ibrahim and Rami, who were on breakfast during our stay, all were the model of professionalism with a smile. The breakfast was everything we needed and more - all excellent.
The location was great - we walked nearly everywhere, up to the castle,, into the old town and, on Vicky's recommendation, to the art museum to see Mucha's Slav Epic - amazing!
We left the Hotel General with the feeling that we had just stayed at a superb hotel that was out of the ordinary and will be well worth another visit.

Room Tip: Our room looked into the courtyard behind the hotel and was very quiet. The rooms on the road side m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear J F,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for posting such warm and kind review on our services.
It gives us a great joy to see that we were able to meet your expectations and you have enjoyed your stay in Prague to the fullest.

With warm regards from Prague and the General team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

I booked a stay in Prague to celebrate my wife's 70th. birthday over the New Year.
The hotel is well appointed and is decorated in a baroque style. The welcome and introduction was superb, and overall the staff were very attentive and helpful.
We had a junior suite which had plenty of room and all the expected additions.
Breakfast was more than adequate and again the staff were excellent. We did not take any other meals here.
The hotel is set in what is described as the 'business' district, slightly away from the toruist area. Some of the surrounding area is a bit grey, but the district is obviously on the way up.
The excellent trams and metro station are a 10 minute walk away. My wife has some difficulty walking and so we were reliant on transport.
On New Year's Eve we decided to use the hotel recommended car service to and from our venue for the night, as we felt this would be a more reliable option than taxis.
We were let down by the driver who was meant to pick us up after midnight and were left stranded, searching for a taxi in the early hours, eventually managing to find one at some cost.
The hotel were mortified by our experience. Though recommended by them, the car service is an independant company. We used the car on several other occasions to and fron the station with no problem at all.
After this experince, the hotel were most helpful and generous, and nothing was too much trouble for them. We returned for 1 night on our way back and were upgraded to a larger suite.
So, overall, the hotel was very good, and the staff in particular deserve praise.They responded well to a difficult situation.
I would probably choose a hotel nearer the centre in the future if you have any mobility problem.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Robin H,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for such special occasion as your wife's 70th birthday anniversary.
It gives us a great joy to see that despise the inconvenience with the transportation company you had enjoyed your stay with us and did not hesitated to share your impressions with the other travelers.
We thank you for your review and hope to welcome you back at the General on your next trip to Prague.

Sincerely,
Ringaile Radojevic - DOS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Hotel General is super. Close to attractions...we walked everywhere. The staff at the hotel is the best we have every encountered. Great bar and restaurant. We really enjoyed the "cellar bar". Super breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrbrooks77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear jrbrooks77,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

Sincerely,
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aegina, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed there from 31/12/2013 to 2/1/2014.

The room was better than in the photos. I was very satisfied with it.

All the people working there where very helpful, polite and professional.

Everything was very clean. And mean clean.

We later returned to this hotel, at a different room for another 2 days. Again, we where 100% percent satisfied.

The location was fine for me. Not in the historic centre where there are always lots of people but only 20 minutes walking time from it.

I will visit this hotel again if I ever go back to Prague.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ant A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Ant A,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to take the opportunity and thank you not only for choosing our hotel for your New Years stay, but also for your review and warm letter that we have received recently.
It gives us a great joy to see that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay with us and do not hesitate to share your experience with the others.
We thank you for your kind words and do hope that you will visit us again on your net trip to Prague.

With warm regards from all hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#12 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#25 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#27 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Hotel 16
Hotel 16
#6 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#10 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel General? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel General

Property: Hotel General
Address: Svornosti 1143/10 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#10 Family Hotel in Prague
#19 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#45 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel General 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive and officially certified 5* hotel General is located in central location between Vltava river and Andel business area. This perfect location allows the guests reach all main tourist attractions within a short walk or by using city transport. Personal attention to guests, peaceful and unique atmosphere of the hotel, comfort and exceptional services were already highly acknowledged by hotels guests and by today Hotel General has become one of the top recommended hotels in Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel General reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing