We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service, great breakfast, knowledgeable staff.”
Review of Hotel General

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel General
Ranked #23 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This is one of the best hotels that we have been to. The staff could not be more helpful, everywhere is decorated to the highest of standards and we were made to feel special. The location is just out from the center but access to the Metro & trams is a 7 minute walk.Breakfast was excellent and rooms spotlessly clean & comfortable. We would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Prague.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the street, and make sure they room has A/C in the warmer months of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Bruce B,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay and for taking your time to post a review on TripAdvisor.
It gives us a great joy to see that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a memorable stay in Prague.
We thank you for your kind words and hope to welcome you back at the General whenever your travels will bring you to the lovely city of Prague.

With warm regards from Prague and the General
Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

490 - 496 of 1,466 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

To offset its location away from the main tourist area, the Hotel General offers nicely appointed facilities, zealously attentive service and a rate that may compare favorably with like hotels closer to the historic center . Thanks to Prague's excellent public transport, getting around from the hotel is no problem. Trams from the Andel station, just 2 streets away, arrive every few minutes for a short ride to the Charles Bridge and other places . Alternatively, a short walk across a bridge takes one to the Dancing House; from there it is 2 tram stops or a 10-15 minute walk along the scenic river front to Old Town. In fact, during 4 perfect early spring days,we welcomed a glimpse of the quiet everyday Prague from the tram, to balance the almost fairy tale splendor and mobs of people of the historic area. Of course, we might have felt differently if the weather had been scorchingly hot or stingingly cold, or if we enjoyed late nights on the town. As it was, returning to the hotel about 9 pm was no problem. Breakfast was unremarkable but totally adequate. As the name suggests, the hotel's theme is the great generals of history,with each room commemorating a famous military figure . We were bivouacked very comfortably in the Charles de Gaulle room, where a large portrait of the general calls us to attention each time we enter! In sum, the Hotel General is a well -run boutique hotel which generally deserves its high Tripadvisor rating.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Marie C,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your experience with the other travelers.

With warm regards from Prague and the General team
Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

From our warm welcome at check in with a complementary drink at the bar and a informative overview of the city to the attentive and friendly breakfast service this small but personal hotel lives up to the reviews other travellers have written. Just outside the main tourist area (20min scenic walk along the river or 5min tram or taxi ride) this little gem has just the just the right mix of old world charm and modern amenities. But what sets this hotel apart is their staff, always friendly(no fake corporate smile here) and efficient with a human touch i.e football scores from the brilliant waiter/barman at breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Ian H,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and posting your review on TripAdvisor.
It gives us a great pleasure to see that we were able to meet your expectations and you have truly enjoyed your stay with us.
We thank you for your kind words and hope for your next visit.

With warm regards from all the team
Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We chose this hotel through reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed at all. We were met at the door by a member of the staff and having checked in we were given a welcome drink. While having this drink the staff explained about Prague and where everything was situated including recommendations for restaurants. Our room was a deluxe double and it couldn't have been more comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and again the service was first class. All in all we couldn't fault anything about the hotel. If we visit Prague again then we will definately stay at the General again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Andrew W,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your impressions with the other travelers.
It gives us a great pleasure to see that we were able to meet your expectations and you have truly enjoyed your stay with us.
We thank you for your kind words and hope to welcome you back at the General on your next trip to Prague.

With warm regards from the hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Having chosen to visit Prague for my wife's birthday, the Hotel General was chosen from the Trip Advisor site. I suspected things might be a little different here when the hotel, in their acknowledgement of my booking, offered to collect us by car from the airport on the evening of our arrival. That's the first time anly hotel has done that and, given that we were arriving in the dark, we chose to accept their offer. Coming into the 'Arrivals' area, there was our smarltly dressed chauffeur to meet and greet us. Within 30 minutes we were checking in to the hotel, avoiding all the usual hassle associated with getting to a hotel on the first night of a trip. Worth the nominal charge just for that and to feel a little bit special!

Great first impressions and these were confirmed at the hotel. Welcomed by Martin and taken to our room. We were given the Wellington room, all the rooms being named after famous generals from the p[ast. Was this just a coincidence or a thoughtful move on the hotel's part? If their attiention to detail over the next four days was anytthing to go by, I don't think it was a coincidence! A beautiful room at the front of the hotl on the third floor. Quiet, comfortable, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean, thank you Olga. It's the little things that we noticed, like the porcelain tea service, the bottled water replaced every day and the regular coathangers that simply hang over a rail. The minibar,and the dressing gowns and slippers were added touches.

After being directed to a nearby restaurant for our evening meal our first night's sleep was reallly welcome. Breakfast was taken in the hotel's ornate dining room, beautifully served and individually cooked. It could have been delived to the room at no extra charge but, with such service and in such surroundings, why would you?

Before we set out on our first day in Prague, we were sat down with a Daschial and given a personal welcome pack with all the maps and guidance needed. This is not the usual tour guide presentation but an individual Q & A session from someone who lives there, keen to promote their own city. A great idea. Trams within five minutes, the Metro within ten and just a street away across the river from the old town and access to all the sights to be seen.

The hotel's location was just right for us, away from the noise and bustle elsewhere but close to public transport every few minutes and in all directions. Its size, just 20 rooms, helped it deliver the personal touches that made it so special. We were looking for something special for this birthday trip and we found it. In fact it was very special. We found a beautiful little oasis where we were treated like guests. This is not a modern, chrome and stereotypical, 'all the same' hotel that can be found in every city of the world. Of course it has free wifi and all the facilities that we've come to expect, but it has something else which can be difficult to find. It has character. This is a true gem. A boutique hotel with history, a great team of people under Pavel and, as has been said, attention to detail. They really know how to treat their guests and deserve to be the success that they clearly are.

Would I recommend this hotel. Without reservation. Pavel, don't change a thing. We hope to be back.

Room Tip: If disabled, check for access. Rooms are non-smokking. We had the Wellingon Room (304) at the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wilf R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Wilf R,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for such special occasion and for not hesitating to share your experience with the others.
Your review and comments are very important to us as they not only serve as a source of the possible improvement but they also show that our team is going into the right direction towards better customer satisfaction.
It gives us also a great joy that we were able to make your special birthday stay in Prague more memorable and that you have truly enjoyed your stay with us.
We thank you for your kind words and hope that you would choose to visit us again during the next trip to Prague.

With warm regards from the General team (incl. Pavel, Martin, Dasha, Olga and all unmentioned)

Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is one of the best hotels that we have been to. The staff could not be more helpful, everywhere is decorated to the highest of standards and we were made to feel special. The location is just out from the centre but access to the Metro & trams is very near. Breakfast was excellent and rooms spotlessly clean & comfortable. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear David W,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your experience with the other travelers.
It gives us a great joy to see that we were able to meet your expectations and you have enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest.

With warm regards from the General team
Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We booked this hotel via Expedia, looking only for a reasonable base to explore Prague during a three days city break. Although the hotel is based in the business sector it is very local and convenient to all the sites and attractions without the usual negatives attributed to this. Hotel is beautiful, in an upmarket chic way.
The reception small but welcoming with a reception desk which doubles as a mini coral reef complete with tropical fish , which is really relaxing. The porter/ doorman, Marian, was polite, efficient with a huge smile and genial nature. When we arrived the receptionist could not have been more helpful, she had us registered within a few minutes, she offered us refreshments, then sat down with us and explained all that we needed to know for an enjoyable, problem free visit, tram and metro information, which numbers were needed for what destinations, where to catch them, where to get off, some excellent places to eat, best places to visit, where and where not to exchange money etc. nothing was too much trouble.( Hotel exchange rates seemed to be amongst the best, as banks have hidden fees which are not shown when advertised and smaller exchange bureau's have to be haggled with to obtain reasonable rates but ask first what's on offer, don't assume you will receive what is shown) Nothing was too much trouble. All the staff from the porter, waiters, maids and reception staff very extremely professional and efficient whilst still being extremely friendly and courteous. We found the hotel to be excellent value for money, with five star plus services and amenities. would definitely stay again and recommend to others but not too strongly as there may not be vacancies if it becomes too popular, also popularity can cause standards to slip and prices to rise but at the moment this was an excellent experience.
Breakfast was served in a small but very intimate dining room and was of the buffet style but with the option of a full cooked breakfast menu. Buffet consisted of a very well stocked table of cereals, cooked meats & cheese, boiled eggs, yoghurts, several different breads, cakes and Danish pastries, drinks ice water, juices, champagne and oysters, egg, bacon and sausage whilst menu items consisted off scrambled eggs on toast with smoked salmon etc. All served with a smile and the professionalism which you grow to expect from this establishment. Plates are clear as soon as they are empty, cups are filled as soon as empty, all with an air of service from a bygone era.
Many point out the down side of location but I found the diverse nature of different areas enjoyable.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Wellington suite ( all rooms have names of famous historical individuals) which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris8368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear chris8368,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for posting such detailed and informative review on our hotel.
Your review is very important to us as a guidance to the further possible improvement therefore we appreciate all the points that you have mentioned.
It also gives us a great pleasure to see that in your case we were able not only to meet but even exceed your expectations and you have truly enjoyed your stay with us.
We thank you for your kind words towards our personnel and hotel itself and hope that you will choose to visit us again if your travels will bring you back to the lovely city of Prague.

With warm regards from Prague and the General team
Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradčany & Letná
Questenberk
Questenberk
#11 of 646 in Prague
1,097 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#26 of 646 in Prague
1,734 reviews
Nové Město (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#22 of 646 in Prague
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malá Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 646 in Prague
3,008 reviews
Hradčany & Letná
Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel
Malá Strana (Little Quarter)
Appia Hotel Residences Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel General? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel General

Address: Svornosti 1143/10 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#7 Family Hotel in Prague
#21 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#45 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £59 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel General 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive and officially certified 5* hotel General is located in central location between Vltava river and Andel business area. This perfect location allows the guests reach all main tourist attractions within a short walk or by using city transport. Personal attention to guests, peaceful and unique atmosphere of the hotel, comfort and exceptional services were already highly acknowledged by hotels guests and by today Hotel General has become one of the top recommended hotels in Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Easy Market Spa, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel General reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing