We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel General

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel General
Ranked #23 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Kent UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Spent 3 nights at this hotel, and loved every minute. Attention to customer needs, second to none. We were picked up at the airport by the hotel limo service and upon arrival, greeted with champagne and an extensive talk on all the best sights to see and various travel options. The room was beautiful, with towel art on the bed, and wine left for us. It was on the second floor and at the front. No traffic noise at all. Breakfast was plentiful, with fresh fruit, cereals and hot cooked options. I particularly wanted to visit the Hemmingway Cocktail bar, and they happily made a reservation for us. If you like unusual cocktails, then a visit is a must, fantastic bar. This was our first visit to Prague and would we would definitely stay here again. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so pleasurable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolDowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear CarolDowney,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Prague and for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor.
It gives us a great joy to see that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a lovely and enjoyable stay with us.
We thank you for your kind words and will be glad to welcome you back at the general whenever your travels will bring you to the lovely city of Prague.

With warm regards from Prague and hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,207
    139
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
174
856
53
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Visited last year just to see this beautiful city.

Firstly they offer an airport pickup (smallish charge), which went well, always a good start!

The hotel staff were very helpful upon arrival, friendly, and were always attentive to our needs throughout our stay, maps, directions, travel advice etc.

The rooms were fab, clean and very period, with pictures of (one assumes!) General's littering the walls, which added to the feel and atmosphere. WiFi is free which was nice.

There is a bar which can be found in the lower ground floor. This was a great little bolt hole if you just needed a drink, or as we did (often), park ourselves after a long day site seeing for a few relaxing drinks. Prices for drinks were fine, and the staff were talkative, but not intrusive, perfect balance.

We only ate breakfast in the hotel, which was lovely. Their omelettes and boiled/poached eggs were a perfect alternative to the standard yogurts, croissants etc. Again the staff were always attentive and a delight.

We found the location perfect, close enough to get to the Old Town, Municipal House (you should do a classical concert, it was amazing), and Prague Castle. We originally used the Trams, but started using the Metro, which we found much quicker and easier to get around. Both are about 5-8 minutes walking distance which was great as after a long romantic walk back from the Old Town in the evening, you could just jump on a tram if you felt weary.

Overall 5/5, great staff, food, accommodation and location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harlin67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Harlin67,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking time to write such detailed review on our hotel and its services.
We are glad to see that you found all our services from the beginning to the end have met your expectations - smooth transfer, quiet location, rooms, bar and restaurant well appointed to your needs and staff ready to all your requests.
We thank you for your kind words and hope that you had a lovely and memorable stay with us.

With warm regards from the General team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Hotel General is located a very short distance from the local tram stops, buses, metro and of course the very reasonable priced taxi’s. It is a five minute walk to the beautiful banks of the river Vltava and its eighteen bridges including the most famous Charles Bridge.

The very first thing that strikes you about this Hotel is the grandeur of the Baroque interior and design, secondly the staff are some of the most polite and helpful I have met during my numerous travels throughout the world, I could not fault any of them.
I had a single room which was clean, tidy and decorated perfectly, it had a fantastic en suite bathroom and shower.The choice of breakfast is out of this world which is served in one of the best ornate restaurants I have seen.

The Hotel is slightly detached from the hustle and bustle of the main squares of the city but the very reasonable transport service allows you to be in the heart of it very quickly.

This is a fantastic Hotel and location with excellent staff, I would not hesitate to return here.

Many thanks to all the staff who looked after me during my stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidjt2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Davidjt2014,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking some time to post your review on TripAdvisor.
It gives us a great pleasure to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest and brought back some beautiful memories from Prague.
We thank you for your kind words and hope that you will choose to visit us again.

With warm regards from Prague and hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

The Hotel General was a delightful experience in every way! My husband and I were most impressed with the staff. They were helpful and accommodating and made us feel most welcome. The lady at the front desk on the day of our arrival (May 15, 2014) first brought us a glass of champagne, then spent at least 30 minutes with us after checking in, advising on sightseeing, public transportation, tourist tips, etc. The doorman that day was also very kind.

Breakfast was included (the french toast is delicious) and the gentlemen who served us in the dining room couldn't do enough for you! Kudos to Ibrahim, Rami and Moustafa. What a pleasure to be greeted by them every morning!

We had a wonderful stay and would certainly recommend the Hotel General to anyone visiting Prague!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhiladelphiaKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear PhiladelphiaKaren,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your experience with the other travelers.
We are glad to see that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a lovely and enjoyable stay with us.
We thank you for your kind words and send our best regards from all the General team.

Sincerely,
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

The Hotel General provided first class service at every turn. Every single person we encountered was helpful, polite, and remembered our preferences. Every day at breakfast, our servers remembered who had coffee or tea, whether we wanted champagne or not. The front desk staff (doubling as a concierge) were outstanding. They were charming, helpful, and spent as much time as we needed.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel and stay here again. THANK YOU!

Room Tip: Room #401 had an excellent shower and more space than other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katstracks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Katstracks,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and taking time to post your review on TripAdvisor.
It gives us a great joy to see that we were able to meet your expectations and you not only have enjoyed your stay with us but also would not doubt to recommend us to the others.
We thank you for your kind and warm words and hope to welcome you back at the General.

With warm regards from Prague
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

I was a bit apprehensive staying a little further away from the other hotels, but it is actually a plus, as you feel just far enough say not to be swallowed by the mob of tourists. It is a unique hotel in that every room takes on the personae of a general. The breakfast room is quite delightful, and the assortment of fruit and vegetable, and anything else you might order was second to none. They even had maple syrup for the pancakes. We actually booked at a very low rate for this room, and so it was quite normal that we got a room that had a window that open to something less than a view, but when we asked if they can move us, they upgraded us to a Junior Suite with a balcony at no extra cost. The staff was very nice and attentive. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OSAFDIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear OSAFDIE,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your impressions with the other travelers.
It gives us a great joy that you were not disappointed with your choice of the hotel and its location and had a lovely and memorable stay with us.
We thank you for your kind words and hope to welcome you back at the General any time soon.

With warm regards from Prague and hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We were welcomed with a cool glass of beer and wine when we arrived for our three day stay and while we sat and relaxed we were also given extremely useful information with regard to the places to see, transport and helpful do's and don't's. We were up graded to a better room - I guess as they had one available and it was beautifully clean, spacious and had everything we needed including complimentary bottled water and tea and coffee making facilities. Also, excellent Wifi. The hotel is within five minutes walk of a number of trams which will take you all over the city. We found that we could easily walk to Petrin Hill and other areas and took the tram back at the end of the day. We loved that the hotel is away from the tourist areas and we liked that we were in a part of the town where the locals travelled to and from work or went shopping. Breakfast is all you could ever want including a complimentary glass of sparkling wine to start the day if you dare! All the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and we could not have been better looked after. The hotel and the staff exceeded expectations. Many thanks to all at Hotel General!

Room Tip: We had a bay fronted room that over looked the road. It was perfectly quiet day and night. We also h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear SaTurner2014,

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking time to share your experience with the other travelers.
It gives us a great joy to see that we were able to meet your expectations and you had an enjoyable stay with us.
We thank you for your kind words and photos and hope to see you again at the General.

With warm regards from hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#11 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#26 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#30 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,383 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel General? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel General

Property: Hotel General
Address: Svornosti 1143/10 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#10 Family Hotel in Prague
#19 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#45 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel General 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive and officially certified 5* hotel General is located in central location between Vltava river and Andel business area. This perfect location allows the guests reach all main tourist attractions within a short walk or by using city transport. Personal attention to guests, peaceful and unique atmosphere of the hotel, comfort and exceptional services were already highly acknowledged by hotels guests and by today Hotel General has become one of the top recommended hotels in Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel General reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing