We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel General
Nearby Hotels
US$319
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$304
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$370
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Golden Star(Prague)
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mosaic House(Prague)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Liberty(Prague)
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$273
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,478)
Filter reviews
1,478 results
Traveller rating
1,292
153
23
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,292
153
23
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswelcome drinkold townwonderful hotelsmall hotelthe hotel staffminute walkpublic transporttram and metrotwo blocksthe entire stafffive star hotelcity centrethe main touristcharles bridgebreakfast was excellenthighly recommend this hotelquiet area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
445 - 450 of 1,478 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Our family had the pleasure of staying at this excellent hotel recently. The staff made the trip an absolute delight. Reception, restaurant and cleaning staff exceeded our expectations and clearly took pride in making us welcome, comfortable and entertained. Located near the river and close to shops but outside the hustle and bustle of over populated tourist areas. Stay here for an excellent holiday in Prague.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Lottie187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Lottie187,

On the behalf of the hotel team I would like to thank you and your family for choosing our hotel for your stay in Prague and for taking some time to share your impressions.
It gives us joy to see that we were able to meet your expectations and you and your family had a truly memorable stay.
We thank you for your kind words and hope to welcome you back at the General in the future.

With warm regards from Prague
Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Small hotel compared to some of the big named hotels in the city, but the service was second to none, genuinely excellent and you could easily see they took pride in their service. The staff were very friendly, always there if we needed help. Room was tidy and very comfortable. This hotel just seamed an oasis of calm within 15 non-rushed minutes walking to the city center. Highly recommend to anyone visiting Prague who want to be near not yet right in the noisy city center.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Peter R,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your impressions with the other travelers on TripAdvisor.

With warm regards from Prague and the General team
Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We arrived in Prague from London and were welcomed with cold drinks by Dasha at the Hotel General. Dasha provided us with all the information we needed as an introduction to Prague - map, public transport information and restaurant recommendations. We stayed in the General Marshall Suite which was spacious, clean and well appointed. Breakfast was good. Hotel is conveniently located within 15 - 20 walking distance or short tram ride of all the major sites including Old and New towns, Charles Bridge, Prague Castle, Mala Strana. All the staff were very polite and helpful. We also particularly enjoyed the food in Prague including 2 restaurants, U Kroka and Mistral Cafe.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Peter K,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and taking some time to share your impressions about the stay.
We are glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and brought some truly wonderful memories from Prague.

We thank you for your kind words and send you our best wishes from the General
Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Our stay at The General was the highlight of our 4 city tour that took us to Gent, Vienna, Prague and Berlin. We were delighted with the reception on arrival, our accommodation was most comfortable and quiet. The staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable, The hotel is within easy reach of public transport and wew would recommend visitors to take a walking tour of the city. This was arranged by the receptionist and proved well worthwhile as we saw much morre of this delightful city that would otherwise have been the case.

Our thanks to everyone at The General we hope to return one day as there is still so much to see in your lovely city.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bonaparte - very comfortable and roomy. We were not looking for anything special with regard to the location but had been told that the hotel was of a high quality and this we found to be true.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear tim c,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for posting your review on TripAdvisor.
Your review is very important to us as a guidance for the further possible improvements therefore we are grateful for every point that you could mention.
As your positive review mentions good points concerning our hotel but the overall rating is lower I would be grateful if you could contact me by hotel e-mail and give some additional information about the points that could have been left unmentioned and need our attention.
Once more I thank you for sharing your impressions and hope to welcome you back at the hotel General in the near future.

With warm regards from the hotel team
Ringaile Radojevic
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Decided on a 2 day stay in Prague before a big conference in Berlin. We caught the train from Berlin to Prague (which was fairly expensive considering the carriage and time it takes to get there (~ Au$500).
Was definately worth it and the Hotel General was the best place to stay.
Dasha, and all the hotel staff were extremely helpful and attentive to our needs and questions.
Counldn't have asked for better service and a wonderful hotel to stay at.
I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone who wants a romantic boutique hotel stay in Prague, with close walking to the city and the river.

Room Tip: All rooms are named after famous historical Generals - they are all similar and very nice - beds are comfortable too!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RingaileR, Director of Sales at Hotel General, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Tim S,

On the behalf of the hotel General team I would like to thank you for your stay and review on our hotels services.
It gives us joy to see that we were able to meet your expectations and that you have truly enjoyed your stay in Prague to the fullest.

With best wishes from the General team
Ringaile Radojevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews